We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and nice rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection
Ranked #79 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great location and nice rooms”
Reviewed February 14, 2013

Stayed here for one night in February for a Birthday shopping trip for my wife and I.

The location is great, just a minute from the tube and 5 minutes from Buckingham Palace. The rooms too were lovely, a tad on the small size but I would say no different than any other central London hotel in the same price range. The room had all we could ask for and was decorated in a very tasteful way.

We spent all day sightseeing and shopping so didn’t really get to take all of the hotel in, but the main entrance and walk ways were really clean modern and classy.

The staff too were efficient and friendly, especially the people outside on the doors, they couldn’t do enough.

The bad thing for us was the hotel restaurant. We were quite tired so didn’t want to go too far. I’d heard good things about it. We had drinks (G&T’s) first and they were really well priced for such a nice hotel.
The starter was excellent, We’ve been to some of London’s best restaurants and The Caxton Grilles starters beat them. When the main came £30 for s steak seemed ok especially for London, you did have to pay extra for your sides though. But for that kind of money I would have expected something a lot better. The steak was cooked perfectly, but that’s it. The quality was poor and there was no taste to it. The salad was covered in olives and tasted strange, The best bit were the Garlic Fries, I would have preferred to have had a bigger portion of them and no steak.

We were so tired that we just ate some of it and left the rest and went to bed early.

I am a strong believer in the fact that if a meal is cooked well and the service is good then I will be extremely generous with a tip, paying much more than the standard 10% us Brits seem to give. At Caxtons there was a 12.5% tip already on the bill which I think is never a good thing for any place to do, mainly because most people will either not notice it or they will be too embarrassed to ask for it to be removed should there be bad food/service. A tip should be worked for, it shouldn’t be like the US where it’s a given regardless of the food/service, but that’s just my beliefs, maybe living on a small island where food quality and service is 99% of the time ‘excellent’ I get used to it.

Even though the main course wasn’t too great, the service at this point was quite good so I decided to pay the 12.5% (mainly as I was at this point very sleepy) tip rounding it up to the nearest whole pound. I didn’t have much change on me, and not wanting to break another £20 note I gave them a few 10p’s & 20p’s. When I gave this to the waiter who had served us all night, he called me back and insisted I wait until he had counted all of my coins twice in front of a half full restaurant. Forgetting the fact that there was already £140 in there which included a 12.5% tip, very embarrassing.

One tip for breakfast, its £24 a person in the hotel, but next door you have a prêt, or even better we thought was that about 2 minutes walk away is a House of Frasier that has a café which serves a great breakfast for £5.75 

Anyway enough of my ranting. I wouldn’t want the above situation to effect anyone coming to this hotel. It really is a stunning hotel, has great rooms and a perfect London location. I would personally never return but that’s only because of the restaurant incident.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Craig W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,468 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,751
    1,347
    253
    82
    35
See reviews for
1,654
2,121
175
724
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,048)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2013 via mobile

Stay here sometimes for work and really like it. It has well equipped rooms, good food and nice decor, but the thing that sets it apart is that it has lots of atmosphere and personality. There is a bell in the lobby that was used to call people back into parliamentary sessions. The staff are really helpful and all the rooms I've had have been good and reasonably big. There doesn't seem to be a great deal of difference between a standard double and an executive room (the latter had a sofa, but wasn't much bigger). nice breakfast, including freshly prepared hot stuff. Good room service. Would definitely recommend this hotel.

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Brewnbrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, UK
Level Contributor
185 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2013

We stayed at this hotel just for one night with another couple. The hotel is in a good position depending on what you want to see in London. Good for Houses of Parliament, Buckingham Palace, St James Park etc but not so good for Covent Garden, West End. We had a bit of a problem checking in as our friends had arrived earlier and the girl on reception couldn't seem to grasp that we were the second couple on the booking and she gave us the same room as our friends. Anyway not a big problem. The room was very compact but also very nicely furnished with tea/coffee making facilities, minibar. Nice toiletries by The White Co in the compact bathroom and the bed was very comfortable. Unfortunately for us there was a child in the next room which screamed during the night and then again started up at about 5am screaming continually until another guest went and bashed on the door and had a few very loud words. When we mentioned this upon check out they very kindly knocked our bar bill off of the bill. In fairness to the hotel we should have rung down and complained to the front desk who could have sorted the situation out by strangling the little brat. The hotel has been refurbished to a high standard is is very pretty with a lovely entrance. The cream tea was very nice and the continental breakfast whilst fairly limited was adequate. I would definitely stay again if I wanted an hotel in that specific area.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeansandco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kungalv, Sweden
Level Contributor
86 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

I stayed here with my girlfriend from thursday to sunday and just about everything was great.
After booking direct with the hotel we had some e mail correspond with the hotell and we got a lot more info of restaurang tips, how to reach the hotel etc. very quick.
Staff are very helpful.
Rooms are not large but not small, very clean and pure 4 star quality right through.
Breakfast ok but no vegetable unless you ask.
Could have been some paté to have on the bread but cheese and other meat was nice.
Subway 3-5 min walk away, very quiet area and 5 - 8 min walk to Big Ben, Queens residence.

We would defentlt stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dunken63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Fantastic hotel and very friendly staff! Everything was very nice and this is the most beautiful hotel that we have ever stayed at. Location is amazing. Overall fantastic experience! Would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Klaser123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
283 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

we went to a reception here, and thought it a good venue for a wedding.
The entrance is quite enchanting and very atmospheric. Rooms are large and tastefully decorated. The food we had was delicious. The waiters were charming and very professional. We didn't take up the offer of a room for £170, but I am sure it would be nice to stay there, just a bit out of our budget for one night!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shoedocmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
altrincham
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2013

This was our 2nd visit and there will be a 3rd! The staff are so well trained, friendly and polite. A pleasure to see. Nothing is too much trouble for them. Our room only had a shower but no bathtub and so we changed rooms next day to one with a bathtub with no bother at all. Rooms are modern and stylish with White Company toiletries. We opted for the continental breakfast which was adequate but a shame that you are charged for the hot version. Be that as it may, the St Ermin's is top class, location and all!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mandy043
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StErmins, General Manager at St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear Madam,

We really appreciate your review and it is always good to hear from returning guests; I can see that you are a prolific traveller so we very much value you recommending us to others. We have many different room types with various bathroom layouts and I am pleased to read that we were able to assist promptly with your personal requirements.
We shall look forward to your third visit and please don’t hesitate to request a bath for your next booking so that we can have the perfect room ready for your stay.

Kind regards
Douglas McHugh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Westminster
Conrad London St. James
Conrad London St. James
#49 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,857 reviews
Westminster
Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences
Westminster
The Nadler Victoria
The Nadler Victoria
#30 of 1,063 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westminster
St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel
Westminster
The Rubens at the Palace
The Rubens at the Palace
#80 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,057 reviews
Westminster
The Royal Horseguards
The Royal Horseguards
#99 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection

Property: St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection
Address: 2 Caxton Street | Westminster, London SW1H 0QW, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Westminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Family Hotel in London
#52 Romantic Hotel in London
#56 Business Hotel in London
#73 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
St. Ermin's Hotel re-opened its doors in April 2011, following a dramatic £30 million refurbishment. Nestled in the heart of London, this four star deluxe hotel is at the center of the city's vibrant business, leisure and government landmarks. St James’s Park, Parliament Square, the London Eye, Westminster Abbey, Houses of Parliament, and Queen Elizabeth II Conference Centre are all just minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jolly St Ermins Hotel
Jolly St Ermins London
St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing