We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Atmosphere and quality”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection
Ranked #76 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 13, 2013

Stay here sometimes for work and really like it. It has well equipped rooms, good food and nice decor, but the thing that sets it apart is that it has lots of atmosphere and personality. There is a bell in the lobby that was used to call people back into parliamentary sessions. The staff are really helpful and all the rooms I've had have been good and reasonably big. There doesn't seem to be a great deal of difference between a standard double and an executive room (the latter had a sofa, but wasn't much bigger). nice breakfast, including freshly prepared hot stuff. Good room service. Would definitely recommend this hotel.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
Thank Brewnbrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,730)
There are newer reviews for St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,947 - 3,953 of 5,732 reviews

Reviewed February 12, 2013

We stayed at this hotel just for one night with another couple. The hotel is in a good position depending on what you want to see in London. Good for Houses of Parliament, Buckingham Palace, St James Park etc but not so good for Covent Garden, West End. We had a bit of a problem checking in as our friends had arrived earlier and the girl on reception couldn't seem to grasp that we were the second couple on the booking and she gave us the same room as our friends. Anyway not a big problem. The room was very compact but also very nicely furnished with tea/coffee making facilities, minibar. Nice toiletries by The White Co in the compact bathroom and the bed was very comfortable. Unfortunately for us there was a child in the next room which screamed during the night and then again started up at about 5am screaming continually until another guest went and bashed on the door and had a few very loud words. When we mentioned this upon check out they very kindly knocked our bar bill off of the bill. In fairness to the hotel we should have rung down and complained to the front desk who could have sorted the situation out by strangling the little brat. The hotel has been refurbished to a high standard is is very pretty with a lovely entrance. The cream tea was very nice and the continental breakfast whilst fairly limited was adequate. I would definitely stay again if I wanted an hotel in that specific area.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeansandco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

I stayed here with my girlfriend from thursday to sunday and just about everything was great.
After booking direct with the hotel we had some e mail correspond with the hotell and we got a lot more info of restaurang tips, how to reach the hotel etc. very quick.
Staff are very helpful.
Rooms are not large but not small, very clean and pure 4 star quality right through.
Breakfast ok but no vegetable unless you ask.
Could have been some paté to have on the bread but cheese and other meat was nice.
Subway 3-5 min walk away, very quiet area and 5 - 8 min walk to Big Ben, Queens residence.

We would defentlt stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dunken63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Fantastic hotel and very friendly staff! Everything was very nice and this is the most beautiful hotel that we have ever stayed at. Location is amazing. Overall fantastic experience! Would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Klaser123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

we went to a reception here, and thought it a good venue for a wedding.
The entrance is quite enchanting and very atmospheric. Rooms are large and tastefully decorated. The food we had was delicious. The waiters were charming and very professional. We didn't take up the offer of a room for £170, but I am sure it would be nice to stay there, just a bit out of our budget for one night!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shoedocmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2013

This was our 2nd visit and there will be a 3rd! The staff are so well trained, friendly and polite. A pleasure to see. Nothing is too much trouble for them. Our room only had a shower but no bathtub and so we changed rooms next day to one with a bathtub with no bother at all. Rooms are modern and stylish with White Company toiletries. We opted for the continental breakfast which was adequate but a shame that you are charged for the hot version. Be that as it may, the St Ermin's is top class, location and all!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mandy043
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StErmins, General Manager at St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2013

Dear Madam,

We really appreciate your review and it is always good to hear from returning guests; I can see that you are a prolific traveller so we very much value you recommending us to others. We have many different room types with various bathroom layouts and I am pleased to read that we were able to assist promptly with your personal requirements.
We shall look forward to your third visit and please don’t hesitate to request a bath for your next booking so that we can have the perfect room ready for your stay.

Kind regards
Douglas McHugh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2013

This is a lovely hotel-very central just round the corner from St James' Park.The staff were all very friendly and helpful from the people on reception to the lady cleaning the stairs.The bed was very comfortable with beautiful linen and the bathroom filled with White Company toiletries..
Only grumble was that breakfast was expensive

Room Tip: The rooms are compact so don't expect anything too large
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heather S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Westminster
Conrad London St. James
Conrad London St. James
#53 of 1,072 in London
3,147 reviews
Westminster
Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences
Westminster
St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westminster
The Nadler Victoria
The Nadler Victoria
#31 of 1,072 in London
928 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#21 of 1,072 in London
3,863 reviews
Westminster
The Rubens at the Palace
The Rubens at the Palace
#72 of 1,072 in London
4,214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection

Address: 2 Caxton Street | Westminster, London SW1H 0QW, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Westminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Family Hotel in London
#52 Romantic Hotel in London
#56 Business Hotel in London
#73 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: $236 - $627 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
St. Ermin's Hotel re-opened its doors in April 2011, following a dramatic £30 million refurbishment. Nestled in the heart of London, this four star deluxe hotel is at the center of the city's vibrant business, leisure and government landmarks. St James’s Park, Parliament Square, the London Eye, Westminster Abbey, Houses of Parliament, and Queen Elizabeth II Conference Centre are all just minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Marriott, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jolly St Ermins Hotel
Jolly St Ermins London
St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing