We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Really Nice Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection
Ranked #75 of 1,078 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Welland, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Really Nice Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

My husband and I were here in May, 2012. We were very impressed when we arrived, it is a beautiful hotel. The rooms were modern and very, very clean. The room even came equiped with a power outlet converter.The staff were friendly and the concierge was more than happy to share some interesting history about the hotel. You couldn't ask for a better location so close to Big Ben, the Palace and Westminster Abby and of course St. James Park. Which was very lovely.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paula M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,538
    1,281
    238
    75
    34
See reviews for
1,561
1,992
166
680
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,006)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

We had originally booked a room last weekend but due to the snow asked if the booking could be moved and the reservation team kindly moved it to the next weekend. When we finally made the journey to london we were given an upgrade as we were celebrating a birthday, were aloud to check in early and returned to our room later on to find a slice of birthday cake and a card.

The lobby was beautiful and every single member of staff was very helpful from reception to housekeeping. The rooms were very clean and tidy although not as grand as you might think from the lobby but the bed was sooo comfy. The only things id mention if being picky were that power leads for the tv and lamps ets were hanging on display and the bathroom was pretty compact.

We enjoyed a fab breakfast which was included in the price and for a small surcharge we were able to 'upgrade' to a cooked breakfast. An afternoon tea was also included in the price.

The only things id say on the down side apart from the above was the fact that the cleaner continued to hoover the bar area whilst we were trying to have a quiet drink and that during our afternoon tea two of the staff actually appeared to be having an arguement in full view of us.

Overall i think the service and friendliness of staff was excellent and although not cheap i felt the price was right for the location, standard and inclusions ie breakfast and afternoon tea. Id highly recommend the hotel to friends.

Room Tip: Ask for a court yard view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kelly t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beckenham kent
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

We stayed here sadly only 1 night for my daughters birthday, they upgraded my daughters to a deluxe superior and provided a birthday card and as my daughter told me a "wonderful" chocolate cake(she was not willing to share!.) Just around the corner from St James park so travelling around London no problem, rooms comfortable and clean. I could not praise the staff enough always pleasant and helpful. Breakfast buffet really good value for money. Would diffently stay here again. Only problem we had was finding our room it is a bit of a maze but worth the hunt.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank diysos63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

My wife and I stayed at St Ermin's recently for her 30th birthday. On arrival we were upgraded to a larger room as it was a special occasion. The room itself was spacious, modern, had a great bathroom, huge comfy bed and the all important black out blinds that we like.

We had room service breakfast on our first morning which was a bit pricey but nice for a treat. The rest of our time in London we grabbed something for breakfast at the local Pret and Starbucks.

The location is brilliant. Victoria (for Wicked), Covent Garden, Buckingham Palace and Oxford Street were all walkable. The St James tube stop is also two mins from the hotel which is on the circle and district line.

The one thing that really stood out about the hotel was the friendliness of all the staff who were willing to go the extra mile.

As mentioned by others there was an electrical fault meaning that hot water wasn't available for a morning. A freezing shower wasn't ideal but two letters were posted through our door explaining the situation and our £60 room service bill was waived on departure as an apology.

Definitely the best London hotel I've stayed in.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LastWrong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paignton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

a family weekend celebration was fantastic the location rooms and service were excellent our visit to London for the family celebration was made perfect with our stay at St. ermins cannot wait to visit you again

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I spent a night here and found this hotel to be lovely and the staff without fail to be charming and helpful. The room was a fairly decent size for London and the bed was big and comfy. The room had everything you would need including tea and coffee, mini bar and lovely toiletries from the White Company. We had breakfast served in our room and it was delicious, the car was looked after by the Concierge and all in all it was a great find. We would absolutely recommend this hotel and would stay here again.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank stephief
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guernsey, Channel Islands
Level Contributor
107 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

I have just returned from a two night stay on business. The hotel seeks to present itself as a high-end 4 star and in terms of the friendliness and staff courtesy it is in 5 star territory. However, what really let the hotel down was that the room I was allocated had no natural light. I did not immediately notice when I arrived because it was dark and I had to work and by the time I did realise it was quite late in the evening. In the morning, however, it became clear that because the windows looked directly into another bit of the building they had been painted over. This may not make too much of a difference in January but in July it would have totally unacceptable, especially if working in the room. Had I been paying privately I would certainly have demanded a change. Another problem was that for a significant part of the second day there was no hot water in the hotel from early morning until late afternoon. The hotel was apologetic and I received a free breakfast upgrade to compensate so I don't hold it against them but what might otherwise have been a possible 5 star review cannot exceed 3 stars simply because of the painted windows. I would rather have look into an ugly brick wall than to have the lights on.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a room that has natural light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BigMac58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Westminster
Conrad London St. James
Conrad London St. James
#42 of 1,078 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,501 reviews
Westminster
St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel
Westminster
Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westminster
The Nadler Victoria
The Nadler Victoria
#26 of 1,078 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 486 reviews
Westminster
The Rubens at the Palace
The Rubens at the Palace
#90 of 1,078 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,837 reviews
Westminster
The Royal Horseguards
The Royal Horseguards
#92 of 1,078 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection

Property: St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection
Address: 2 Caxton Street | Westminster, London SW1H 0QW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Westminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Family Hotel in London
#52 Romantic Hotel in London
#56 Business Hotel in London
#68 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
St. Ermin's Hotel re-opened its doors in April 2011, following a dramatic £30 million refurbishment. Nestled in the heart of London, this four star deluxe hotel is at the center of the city's vibrant business, leisure and government landmarks. St James’s Park, Parliament Square, the London Eye, Westminster Abbey, Houses of Parliament, and Queen Elizabeth II Conference Centre are all just minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Marriott, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jolly St Ermins Hotel
Jolly St Ermins London
St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing