We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection
Ranked #77 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Palm Coast, Florida
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

We spent several nights in St.Ermin's and found it to be very well located for sightseeing. The hotel is lovely and we were very pleased with our stay here. Our room was well appointed. The staff were extremely helpful - even found us a last minute dinner reservation in a lovely restaurant in Chelsea on a Saturday night. It took many phone calls but they succeeded in the end! Cabs pull right into a private "drive" in front of the hotel and the doorman was always ready to hold a door and carry a bag. It was a pleasant way to return to our hotel at the end of a busy day in London. This was our first visit to London and we were very unsure of the best location to select a hotel. This one was perfect. We prefer smaller boutique hotels and this was also a concern. However, St. Ermin's was perfect and we would return for our next visit to London. We also took advantage of an excellent price by booking on-line when the hotel was offering a special rate.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RaeNewJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,424 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,719
    1,338
    250
    82
    35
See reviews for
1,642
2,102
174
714
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,043)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wales
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

St Ermin's was our base for a four night break in London.This was our first time at this particular hotel. It is very conveniently situated for the tube and within easy walking distance of Westminster, St James' park and The Mall. The staff, at reception and in the dining areas, are very courteous and extremely helpful. The king size bed in our room was very comfortable, and the room was serviced to a high standard each day.
The first two mornings of our stay we were taken to the main dining area, which, although very busy, was efficiently organised and had a lively, warm atmosphere.There was the usual choice of fresh fruit and yogurts, as well as cold meats and cheese, a selection of croissants and danish pastries and bread to make toast along with a selection of preserves. However, the following two mornings we were taken to a large, windowless function room which was draughty, soul-less and very quiet. The central table had the continental breakfast selection but we were disappointed that there was not such a wide variety of fruit, no fruit yogurt, only natural, and no bread to make toast.
We had afternoon tea in the library one afternoon and were more than happy with the selection on offer. The service, again, was excellent.
I would recommend this hotel for a mini break; it is relaxing and friendly in a central location.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WelshWalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

From check in to check out (five nights) we could not find fault with this hotel. For me that's a first! I commend the hotel manger as this hotel is welcoming, comfortable, clean and attentive. The staff are exceptional! We made the mistake of having our first meal in their in-house restaurant The Caxton Grill. It was so good that we didn't make the effort to dine anywhere else. Would we stay at St Ermin's again - YES!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweden
Level Contributor
77 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

Very nice entrance to the hotel premises. Beautiful lobby giving a warm welcome. Easy to access hotel coming in with the underground from Heathrow. The station St James's Park is just around the corner. We were dissapointed when we came to our room. We had booked a deluxe double double room but were given a deluxe king room with a sofa bed. That room was smaller than the room we had paid for. When complaining at the reception they immediatley assigned us the room we had booked. But no explanation why they acted this way. We stayed for 6 nights and the cleaning was excellent the whole stay. Bathrobes and slippers made it extra cosy. The continental breakfast was good but not worth the 19 BP we paid for it. Try to be seated in the restaurant which is nicer than sittning in the ballroom without windows. All in all, a good hotel experience, but the room misstake, often being seated in the ballroom breakfast room and charging 3,5 BP for 5 minutes internet in the lobby made me score 4 instead of 5.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ylvse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire
Level Contributor
55 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

Stayed two nights in early November. The hotel is extremely attractive both inside and out and is well located. We had booked a superior queen room which was nicely decorated if a little on the small side but that is to be expected in London. Our room was at the back of the hotel and we looked forward to a good nights sleep. Not to be! We were woken repeatedly by the sound of glass being thrown into a skip. We had requested an alarm call and a newspaper for the following morning, neither of which materialised. We complained of course and were moved to a larger room at the front of the hotel which was lovely. We were also presented with a bottle of wine and chocolates by way of apology. The following morning we not only got our alarm call and newspaper but a member of staff also knocked on our door to make sure we were awake. So, not a good beginning but they certainly went out of their way to put things right.
We did not eat in the hotel but did visit the bar which is very nice. All the staff were efficient and pleasant.
We would return but would specify a quiet room.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suzanneBowdon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Level Contributor
544 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 410 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

We were blown away by the sheer beauty of the St. Ermin's the moment we entered its driveway. The lobby has a grand chandelier over a Victorian-style lobby. Everything was white and clean. It felt like we were going back in time to a period of utter elegance and majesty. with so much history behind it, why would you want to stay in a London hotel that is a carbon copy of a similar one i another city?

Check-in was prompt. In fact, the service overall here was of a very high standard. The staff was helpful, knowledgeable and always warm and pleasant. I feel this is important for a hotel with a distinctive character such as the St. Ermin's that may feel a bit haughty for many guests. At no time did we feel out of place here.

The rooms were small, but I kind of expected that from a downtown European hotel. They were most comfortable, though, with the highlight being the plush bed and pillows taking up most of the room. It had a nice LCD TV with 20+ channels, plenty of sockets, a coffee/tea area, and a functional bathroom with rainwater shower. The view was nothing to write home about, but at least you knew when St. James's Park tube station was open.

The location is just extraordinary. It is right next to St. James's Park tube station from where you can take the District and Circle lines to many parts of the city. It has a number of fast food joints, classic British pubs, cafes, and convenience stores in the area. It is within walking distance to the main tourist sites like Westminster Abbey, Houses of Parliament, Buckingham Palace, Churchill War Rooms, and the lovely St. James's Park. Staying here saved us a huge amount of time in getting around London.

I have found my favorite London hotel and will definitely return for future stays.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chattan_k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holmes Chapel, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012 via mobile

Staying in the hotel for 3 nights while in town for work and I'm so glad I chose this place. Service is amazing, rooms are beautiful, beds are super comfy, foyer is gorgeous. Looking at the floor plan on the back of the door I might have the smallest room they have, and while it is petite, it's definitely large enough to relax in for one or two. Have stayed in much smaller rooms for sure. No bath in this room but to be honest I never use baths in hotels anyway.
Location is spot on, close to everything but still very peaceful. Got a great night's sleep.
Definitely my new favourite place to stay in London.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sydney_chick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Westminster
Conrad London St. James
Conrad London St. James
#46 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,792 reviews
Westminster
Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences
Westminster
The Nadler Victoria
The Nadler Victoria
#31 of 1,089 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westminster
St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel
Westminster
The Rubens at the Palace
The Rubens at the Palace
#83 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,022 reviews
Westminster
The Royal Horseguards
The Royal Horseguards
#99 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection

Property: St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection
Address: 2 Caxton Street | Westminster, London SW1H 0QW, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Westminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Family Hotel in London
#52 Romantic Hotel in London
#56 Business Hotel in London
#72 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
St. Ermin's Hotel re-opened its doors in April 2011, following a dramatic £30 million refurbishment. Nestled in the heart of London, this four star deluxe hotel is at the center of the city's vibrant business, leisure and government landmarks. St James’s Park, Parliament Square, the London Eye, Westminster Abbey, Houses of Parliament, and Queen Elizabeth II Conference Centre are all just minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Marriott, Priceline, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jolly St Ermins Hotel
Jolly St Ermins London
St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing