We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant hotel at a great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection
Ranked #77 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Elegant hotel at a great location”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We stayed here during the post-Olympic week for 3 nights and wish our stay had been longer! The hotel is elegant without being fussy or ostentatious, and the staff members were both attentive and friendly. The family room (looks like it was converted from two adjacent small double rooms) was spacious with two double bed, one daybed, and could comfortable sleep 2 adults plus 3 children. It also has two bathrooms which is really convenient for a family! The room is very comfortable and felt like a perfect oasis to recharge yourself. The hotel is minutes away from Westminster Abbey/Parliament/Big Ben, and the St James subway station is literally just behind the hotel. There are also some delis/cafes in the neighborhood for a quick snack in the morning. It is set back from the street in a courtyard so it is absolutely quiet. Although there is no in-room free internet service (my only complaint), you can quickly check your email etc in the lobby using their free Wi-Fi there or on the desktops. They do provide you with some vouchers for limited time on the internet. Anyway, if I were in London again, definitely would stay here again as long as I can get a reasonable rate.

Room Tip: Family room great for two adults and two kids (or 3 small kids.)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank twodiamondmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,677 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,905
    1,385
    264
    85
    38
See reviews for
1,747
2,189
186
744
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,089)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
united states
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Completely renovated hotel. Rooms were comfortable. Bathrooms were large and clean. Nice restaurant and bar area. Second floor lobby was a nice spot to relax. Staff was wonderful. No spa was a little bit of a drawback.

Room Tip: We were in a suite located on the third floor overlooking the courtyard entrance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wiliamtherabbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Mass
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Just returned from a week in the UK and four nights in London at St Ermins. The location is great - close to everything but very quiet. The staff was fantastic - very helpful and kind. But the inside doesn't quite live up to the very impressive lobby. The rooms are small, the air conditioning was erratic, the shower lacked pressure and the elevator closest to the lobby didn't work. Nothing terrible but for more than $500 a night (Olympic inflated rate) expected something more. Next trip to London will try somewhere else.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sleepswell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StErmins, General Manager at St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Dear Sir,
I am very pleased to read that you were impressed with my team and that the location was perfect for your vacation. It saddens me to know that you felt your room was not large enough, we do have a number of different room types which we would be happy to show you if you were to come back and visit us. If there is ever an issue with our guests’ rooms we always try to solve them immediately, our duty manager would have been able to assist you with the air-conditioning unit and shower pressure, I apologise if the systems did not meet your expectations.
Thank you for your review and I sincerely hope that you will consider returning to St.Ermin’s in the future,
Kind regards,
Douglas McHugh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2012

A friend and I just completed a one week stay at the St. Ermin's in August for the Olympics. I'd stayed at the hotel about 10 years ago or so, and boy what a difference a decade makes.

The hotel has been completely refurbished. We had a Deluxe Double Double room, which was plenty big for the two of us, plus our suitcases and all of our expanding purchases over the week. (We each did a fair bit of shopping in London.) Beds were very comfortable and the bathroom was enormous by London standards -- complete with full sized bottles of shampoo, conditioner and bath gel by the White Company. A hair dryer, bathrobe, slippers and iron were also all included in the room. The decor was modern and fairly minimalist -- but incredibly tasteful and the room always felt very very clean.

The lobby is as beautiful in person as it is in the photos. You feel like you are surrounded by opulence the moment you walk into the hotel.

A special note is the Caxton Bar -- where we spent many evenings -- from watching the Closing Ceremony to just winding down our day and having a few laughs about our day. The bartenders were terrific and knew my drink order the moment they saw me (Pimms!) -- probably not the best sign, but the service was impeccable.

The concierge was also very helpful -- arranging transport back to Heathrow for us, along with a suggestion for a very good seafood restaurant off of Regent Street in Piccadilly.

As others have said, the location is terrific -- about halfway between Buckingham Palace and Westminster Abbey/Parliament, on a quiet side street. There are a few coffee shops (Starbucks, Pret and the like) around the corner, and a few pubs as well (though who needed them when the hotel bar was so terrific?).

Couldn't recommend the hotel more highly, and it may very well have emerged as my favorite in London.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank socon1217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StErmins, General Manager at St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Dear Sir/ Madam,
Thank you for a truly fantastic post. It is so good to read such an in depth review and I am very happy to see that St.Ermin’s has become your favourite London hotel to stay in! The hotel has gone through a huge transformation and we are fortunate that many of our guests return to us to see what £30 million spent on a property can do!
It sounds as though you and your friend had a great time watching the Olympics and also making use of the Caxton Bar and I shall pass on your positive comments to my team.
We genuinely hope that you will return to us again one day soon and we shall get the Pimm’s ready for your visit!
Warm regards,
Douglas McHugh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2012

We brought our 2 children for a trip to London this August and had planned to just stay in a travel lodge but my husband god a good rate at St Ermines so thought we would treat ourselves and we were so glad we did.

From the minute you enter the hotel the opulence is apparant, beautiful building, inside and out and the staff are so helpful and friendly.

We had a family room, 2 king size beds, a day bed, 2 bathrooms and copious amounts of tea, real coffee as well as a mini bar. The rooms and hotel are decorated to a high standard and you know you're in a posh hotel when there are robes and slippers provided, even the toilettries were high quality from the White Company.

We had the continental breakfast which was one of the most high quality i have had and even had a honeycomb to scrape your own honey which is produced from the Hotels own bee's!!

Yes its not the cheapest hotel but the luxury and service and location make is so worth it and we felt really spoiled and indulged, couldn't fault it at all.

I would like to go back just with hubby one time to maybe try out the restaurant fully and just enjoy relaxing in the hotel as 2 young children don't make for the most romantic break!

Would thoroughly recommend and can't wait to go back

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spinksfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StErmins, General Manager at St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Dear Madam,
I am so glad that you chose to stay with us and that you had such a pleasant time here with your family. We are indeed very fortunate to have such a beautiful building and many of our guests are bowled-over by our grand entrance, which was created by the famous British theatre designer, J.P.Briggs circa 1900.
I am very proud to read that you felt that my team were both friendly and professional in their job and that you enjoyed the amenities in your room. The fresh honey has been a huge hit with our guests, and many people are intrigued by watching our bees at the viewing gallery on the second floor.
We hope that you will return very soon, maybe after the school holidays?!
Warmest regards
Douglas McHugh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ktm44
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2012

My husband and I, along with our two boys, ages 20 and 17, stayed at St. Ermins for 3 nights in June. The location of the hotel was excellent, as stated by other reviewers. Quiet, safe location, within walking distance to Buckingham Palace, Westminster Abbey, Parliament, London Eye, tube. We stayed in a family room with 2 double beds and a good-sized bathroom. The room was exceptionally clean and very up to date. We appreciated the US-style electric outlets. Even with 2 big teenage boys, it was spacious enough for 3 nights, given the limited amount of time spent at the hotel.

Our only slight disappointment was that we felt the staff, with exception of the super friendly doorman, were somewhat cold. On each of our 3 nights, we asked the concierge for dining recommendations, and found the recommendations were given unenthusiastically, without any sort of personal "passion," as is often the custom with concierges. Certainly not that big of a deal for us.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ktm44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2012

As a family we stayed here for one night so that we could go to the theatre. We are a family of four staying in one room and we got a good offer on last minute. It was fab very clean and tidy plenty of tea and coffee in room all the frills like shampoo robes and slippers.

Room Tip: We had a delux room to sleep four so had two double beds for family it was perfect. The kids even l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RTJT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Westminster
Conrad London St. James
Conrad London St. James
#51 of 1,069 in London
3,085 reviews
Westminster
The Nadler Victoria
The Nadler Victoria
#31 of 1,069 in London
888 reviews
Westminster
Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#19 of 1,069 in London
3,797 reviews
Westminster
St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#13 of 1,069 in London
3,217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection

Property: St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection
Address: 2 Caxton Street | Westminster, London SW1H 0QW, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Westminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Family Hotel in London
#52 Romantic Hotel in London
#56 Business Hotel in London
#73 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
St. Ermin's Hotel re-opened its doors in April 2011, following a dramatic £30 million refurbishment. Nestled in the heart of London, this four star deluxe hotel is at the center of the city's vibrant business, leisure and government landmarks. St James’s Park, Parliament Square, the London Eye, Westminster Abbey, Houses of Parliament, and Queen Elizabeth II Conference Centre are all just minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jolly St Ermins Hotel
Jolly St Ermins London
St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing