We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location; elegant hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection
Ranked #80 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 4, 2012

This is a very good hotel which manages to be both modern due to its renovations and elegantly traditional due to the wonderfully architecture and atmosphere. Best of all (unlike some other hotels in London we've stayed at) you really feel like you are in LONDON rather than in just another international location. Recommended.

Location: Located across the street from New Scotland Yard and literally two or three minutes from St James tube station, this hotel could hardly be located in a better spot. It is extremely central yet it still manages to be a in fairly tranquil and calm spot. Westminster Abbey, Houses of Parliament, Trafalgar Square etc are all within about a 10 to 15 minute walk (or less) away.

Room: The room was recently redecorated very nicely and the beds were very comfortable. The rooms are air-conditioned so guests have good control over temperature. The room and bathroom were both a little smaller than those of a couple of other similarly priced London hotels we've stayed at (but still very workable and comfortable.) Despite being in an older building, the room was still relatively quiet, with the only disturbance happening when the room next door had a very noisy children's "bath night" and we could hear the shouts and bumps etc very clearly in our room. Aside from that, we experienced no other problems with noise.

Cleanliness: wonderfully clean with nothing at all to fault. The housekeeping staff one saw in the hallways were also very pleasant, greeting us warmly.

Breakfast: The breakfast rooms are in beautiful rooms with tables well spaced out, and the service was attentive and always smiling. The selection of cold foods was fine. We especially enjoyed the great breads and fruits. Having a few hot items would have been welcome though.

Service: We found the staff to be courteous and professional, regularly greeting us when we came in and out, and being very willing to give us any directions and suggestions.

Internet: There is a charge for the internet in one's room (wired or Wifi) so there is also the option of using the computers and internet in the business centre. This involves asking the front desk for a code which allows one to use the internet for 15 minutes and/or to do some printing. This worked pretty well for us, though this area would have been more comfortable if one were able to sit whilst using the computers and internet connection a little less sluggish.

Room Tip: Floors in this old building tend to be creaky. To avoid possibly having that over your head ask for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StErmins, General Manager at St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2012

Dear Sir,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive and constructive review. We are really happy that you were so impressed with the location, rooms, cleanliness and breakfast. I am over-the-moon with your great feedback regarding my team being courteous and professional and I shall pass on you kind words.

It is fantastic to read that you will be recommending us to others and we hope to welcome you back soon,

Best regards,

Douglas McHugh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,843)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,672 - 4,678 of 5,844 reviews

Reviewed May 4, 2012

One of the nicer hotels in this part of London. It is a bit pricey but my room was quiet and cozy with a large flat screen TV and nicely furnished. The staff were very helpful but did try to steer me to a more expensive car service. The breakfast was average. Overall, I would come back next time and look forward to it.

Room Tip: You need to have ice sent to the room as there at no machines. A Snack Shop is right around the cor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teleman123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2012

We stayed in the recently refurbished St Ermins, near Buckingham Palace and Westminster. The hotel is beautiful and very distinctive, located very close to the St James' Park tube station for easy access to the rest of London and the airport. The rooms are large and very well appointed. Breakfast and other meals are a little pricey but there are many restaurants relatively close to the hotel. Knightsbridge and Harrods, V&A museum, Natural History museum etc are a 15 minute walk away. The hotel was excellent value at STG132 for London. Wifi only free for 15 minutes.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the driveway for a beautiful view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BoffinChemist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2012

Outstanding staff, extraordinary and wonderful mix of classic decadence and great contemporary design. Beds to die for - best sleep in years. Location second to none, incredibly peaceful but within walking distance to the great palace, parks and sites of interest. Without question one to remember for a return visit.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luke1068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StErmins, General Manager at St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2012

Dear Sir,

Thank you, thank you, thank you! I am thrilled to read your fantastic review and to say that my team were outstanding has made my day.
We hope you will return for many more nights of pleasure!

Warmest regards
Douglas McHugh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2012

Just stayed for the weekend in St Ermins. The hotel decor is excellent with pieces of art and interesting bits and bobs decorating the tables and all the little nooks and cranneys. The room was excellently appointed with everything feeling very new and clean. Bathrobes and slippers were provided adding that extra little home comfort. The room was relatively small but that is to be expected with central london hotels. Breakfast was plentiful and served in without a doubt the grandest breakfast room i've ever had the pleasure of eating in. Will definately be recommending this hotel to any friends or family visiting. The staff were fantastic and really couldnt have been more helpful.

Room Tip: Shop around for room prices online as they seemed to vary greatly depending on the site
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tyronesimone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2012

This is my 2nd stay at St Ermins. I love this hotel the staff are attentive and courteous and from the moment you step of the road and walk up the tree lined courtyard it really is a stunning hotel which has received an impressive refurbishment. The bed was so comfy with crisp white bedding. The bathroom was squeaky clean with lots of fluffy towels, robe and slippers and complimentary White Company products. The turndown service was a nice touch especially with the bumble bee chocolate which promotes the bees that they keep on the roof. The bar area is a great place to meet before heading out and I would recommend a bowler hat cocktail. Gym/spa would be a great addition. This hotel is a Great location for walking to Westminster Abby, Buckingham Palace and short walk (2mins) to St James Park Underground.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KJL1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StErmins, General Manager at St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2012

Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for your very complimentary review, I am so happy that you had such a pleasant stay with us. We are very fortunate to be in such an elegant building and in such an easy location for strolling around the centre of London.
Your comments regarding my team is music to my ears and I shall pass your positive feedback on to them, thank you.
We have recently built a brand-new gym for our guests so please visit the new facilities on your return.

We look forward to welcoming you back with open arms!

Warmest regards

Douglas McHugh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2012

Location next to none,the refurbished guest rooms are spacious and well thought out but, Difficult to watch TV from your bed. As part of the MGallery collection I would have expected free wifi. Pleasant and helpuful breakfast staff. Would stay again

Stayed: April 2012
Thank tremonty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Westminster
Conrad London St. James
Conrad London St. James
#50 of 1,077 in London
3,258 reviews
Westminster
St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel
Westminster
The Rubens at the Palace
The Rubens at the Palace
#78 of 1,077 in London
4,298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westminster
Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#23 of 1,077 in London
4,003 reviews
South Kensington
The Kensington
The Kensington
#32 of 1,077 in London
3,000 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection

Address: 2 Caxton Street | Westminster, London SW1H 0QW, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Westminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Family Hotel in London
#52 Romantic Hotel in London
#56 Business Hotel in London
#76 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: $213 - $570 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
St. Ermin's Hotel re-opened its doors in April 2011, following a dramatic £30 million refurbishment. Nestled in the heart of London, this four star deluxe hotel is at the center of the city's vibrant business, leisure and government landmarks. St James’s Park, Parliament Square, the London Eye, Westminster Abbey, Houses of Parliament, and Queen Elizabeth II Conference Centre are all just minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jolly St Ermins Hotel
Jolly St Ermins London
St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing