We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Handy for the O2”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Ibis Styles London Excel
Ranked #568 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Reviewed July 21, 2014

Basic budget hotel, near the O2. You get what you pay for. Room was nice and clean as was the en suite shower and WC. Breakfast included. Pub closed a little early even for residents. Staff were helpful when called upon.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 142Sandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisStylesLonExCel, Manager at Ibis Styles London Excel, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2014

Dear Madam

Thanks for the review of the hotel and your recent stay with us, we're pleased you liked us.

The O2 is just 10-15 minutes from the hotel and with easy access via the Tube or Cable Car, we're a great option for concerts etc.

Keep your eyes peeled for some offers at our hotel or just call.

Regards

Ibis Styles London ExCel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,497)
There are newer reviews for Ibis Styles London Excel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

813 - 819 of 1,498 reviews

Reviewed July 20, 2014

Went to see Robbie Williams at 02. Good location only few tube stops away.
The staff Were really friendly and we got free parking which was an extra bonus!
However the rooms are very basic and the showeroom reminded me of being on a ferry and not a very pleasant odour. Didn't complain as we only paid £100 which I thought was cheap for London.
Decided to eat in the restaurant and the food was really good at £17 for a rib-eye.
The breakfast was busy and no fried eggs when we went in but probably bad timing.
All in all okay but not memorable!!

Room Tip: If you want a bath ask for one as ours only had a shower. Ask for a parking pass you may be lucky...
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank russthefurniture
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisStylesLonExCel, Manager at Ibis Styles London Excel, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2014

Dear Sir / Madam

Thanks for the review of your stay and glad you liked our great location. The O2 is just 10-15 minutes from the hotel and on a nice day, grab the Cable Car and head over, its lovely.

We did have some feedback and a problem with some rooms and the odour but has now been dealt with and appreciate teh heads up.

Do let us know about a future stay and thanks again

Ibis Styles London ExCel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2014

I booked this hotel as part of a last-minute secret hotel offer. They advertised this hotel as being quite luxurious, but it was very basic. I have now figured out the reason last-minute hides the hotel details is so you can't look up reviews of it before booking! The room was very basic and small. The bed was hard with a very worn out memory foam topper. The bathroom was the smallest I've ever been in. There was barely enough room to turn around in it and the shower mat wouldn't even fit outside of the shower. When we arrived we were told that air conditioning hadn't been put in double rooms yet and so they offered my husband and I a twin room. As this was a special weekend away we decided to stick with the double, which was a huge mistake. We had to leave the window open constantly which wasn't great as there was quite a lot of noise outside. Breakfast was below average. The eggs were very watery and the hash-browns were tasteless, under cooked and hard.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ilovethebeatles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisStylesLonExCel, Manager at Ibis Styles London Excel, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2014

Dear Sir / Madam

Thank you for the review of your stay and we're sorry that we failed to meet your expectations on this occasion.

Our hotel is a 3 star hotel and we are not permitted to advertise ourselves as luxurious, so we apologise if theres any confusion on the standard of our hotel.

The rooms are all newly refurbished including new ibis Sweet Beds which are all less than 6 months old and we're sorry if wasn't to your liking. Our bathrooms are all approved by Ibis and regularly checked to ensure compliance.

Thank you again for the feedback

Ibis Styles London ExCel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2014

Our visit started on Sunday afternoon and I had 4 visits to reception each time to report electricity issues where the circuit kept trip. On my first report i was asked if I plugged a phone charger and it was my fault. I felt it should have taken 4 visit for same problem to be moved rooms.

We moved rooms to a front room - slightly larger room - this time with electric. :) good news.
The room was little more noise during the day because of building site for the new Crossrail line for London.

A couple of review have mentioned a weird smell in there bathroom, I didnt think about it whilst there but my partner has said she noticed it.

Biggest problem was the access from the DLR station to hotel. Currently the road is closed between the two for the site entrance. This now leads to people having to use a path that 'Crossrail' have provided a suitable through an old disused area of Newham. We didnt find it safe at night when travelling back from the city.

As both of us only drink de-caf coffee we wrote a little note for the room maid when she came to clean up if she was able to only provide decaf for us. We were actually left nothing instead even no replacement milk as well. Needless to say - another to the reception to moan.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Thank macC9446TR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisStylesLonExCel, Manager at Ibis Styles London Excel, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2014

Dear Sir

Thank you for the feedback on your stay and we're sorry we failed to meet your expectations on this occasion.

We always appreciate guest comments and glad we were able to assist with an alternative room and assist you during your stay.

The Crossrail project is only operational daytimes but our hotel is well located next to the station, with lifts and easy access from the station.

We do hope to see you again

Regards

Ibis Styles London ExCel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2014

Our criteria was good quality,sensibly priced hotel with an on site car park close to road links into London and public transport around London. Ticked all the boxes with extras I.e. The pub next door.

Room Tip: Bathrooms are capsule like and you have to adapt shower routine to take in small size, e.g. Wet, ope...
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ibis Hotels
Thank Pam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisStylesLonExCel, Manager at Ibis Styles London Excel, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2014

Dear Pam

Thank you for the review of your stay and we're pleased you liked the hotel and our great location.

The pub is always a good option for the end of day and we do hope to welcome you back soon.

BTW, we can always assist with an alternative room as we do have various bathroom options available.

Thanks again

Ibis Styles London ExCel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2014

I had Room 404. There was a revolting stench in the bathroom. There is a drain set into the bathroom floor that I suspect was the culprit. Musty smell was noticeable, but I assumed temporary, when I first checked in, but by morning it was disgusting.. Shan't be booking this place again. Very very disappointed.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ibis Hotels
Thank RusticHedgeRow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisStylesLonExCel, Manager at Ibis Styles London Excel, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2014

Dear Sir / Madam

Thank you for the review of your stay and I'm sorry that we failed to meet your expextations on this occasion.

There was an issue in the bathroom that has now been corrected and appreciate you advising us of this. As you mentioned, this developed over your stay and wasn't present when the room was cleaned.

We do apologise for this problem and assure you this is not the usual level of service that we operate and have taken immediate action to rectify this.

Thank you again and we do look to being of service to you again

Regards

Ibis Styles London ExCel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for one night, for the price we paid (£65) it was fine. The room was clean, quite small and the shower room was very cramped, but again clean which was the main thing for us.

The breakfast, included in our price, was ok. It was a buffet style of both hot and cold options.

We travelled to the hotel by DLR which was easy and only 5 mins walk. In the morning we decided to walk a little bit further and took the Emirates cable car across the Thames to the O2 arena which was good fun.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ashulton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisStylesLonExCel, Manager at Ibis Styles London Excel, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2014

Dear Sir / Madam

Thank you for the review of your stay and we're pleased you liked the hotel and what we have to offer.

We're proud of our location as well as the refurbishment that now allows us to offer some comfy beds, free Wi-Fi as well as a great breakfast all included.

Do let us know about a future stay and thanks again

Kind regards

Ibis Styles London ExCel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Ibis London Excel Docklands
Ibis London Excel Docklands
#479 of 1,072 in London
2,051 reviews
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Prince Regent Hotel Excel London
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Novotel London ExCeL
Novotel London ExCeL
#280 of 1,072 in London
2,288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Aloft London Excel
Aloft London Excel
#268 of 1,072 in London
1,865 reviews
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Hampton by Hilton London Docklands
East End / East London
Good Hotel London
Good Hotel London
#375 of 1,072 in London
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Styles London Excel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Styles London Excel

Address: 272 Victoria Dock Road, London E16 3BY, England (Formerly Custom House Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs , East End / East London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #568 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Price Range: $70 - $270 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Styles London Excel 3*
Number of rooms: 305
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located opposite the ExCel Convention Centre, 10 minutes from the O2 and the QEII Park (Olympic Park), the Ibis Styles London ExCel is ideally located for both business and pleasure. Adjacent to the Custom House Stop on the Docklands Light Railway, London's attractions are only a short distance away. With a choice of 305 newly refurbished bedrooms with twin, double and inter-connecting family rooms as well as a choice of apartments; ideal for longer stays. We boast 4 eating options from the newly refurbished breakfast room, to our new coffee shop as well as our traditional 'Pub' rather than a hotel bar. Our new A La Carte Restaurant is open daily from 6pm. The hotel has its own on-site car park (charges apply) as well as a 4 meeting room conference centre, with private dining options available. The hotel is modern, fresh and rates include breakfast and unlimited free Wi-Fi throughout. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, ACCOR, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibis Styles London Excel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Custom Hotel London
Custom House Hotel London
Ibis Styles London Excel England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing