We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smelly”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ibis Styles London Excel
Ranked #578 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Gloucestershire
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Smelly”
Reviewed July 15, 2014

I had Room 404. There was a revolting stench in the bathroom. There is a drain set into the bathroom floor that I suspect was the culprit. Musty smell was noticeable, but I assumed temporary, when I first checked in, but by morning it was disgusting.. Shan't be booking this place again. Very very disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ibis Hotels

Helpful?
Thank RusticHedgeRow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisStylesLonExCel, Manager at Ibis Styles London Excel, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear Sir / Madam

Thank you for the review of your stay and I'm sorry that we failed to meet your expextations on this occasion.

There was an issue in the bathroom that has now been corrected and appreciate you advising us of this. As you mentioned, this developed over your stay and wasn't present when the room was cleaned.

We do apologise for this problem and assure you this is not the usual level of service that we operate and have taken immediate action to rectify this.

Thank you again and we do look to being of service to you again

Regards

Ibis Styles London ExCel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,433 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    249
    567
    382
    144
    91
See reviews for
200
455
97
395
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for one night, for the price we paid (£65) it was fine. The room was clean, quite small and the shower room was very cramped, but again clean which was the main thing for us.

The breakfast, included in our price, was ok. It was a buffet style of both hot and cold options.

We travelled to the hotel by DLR which was easy and only 5 mins walk. In the morning we decided to walk a little bit further and took the Emirates cable car across the Thames to the O2 arena which was good fun.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ashulton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisStylesLonExCel, Manager at Ibis Styles London Excel, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear Sir / Madam

Thank you for the review of your stay and we're pleased you liked the hotel and what we have to offer.

We're proud of our location as well as the refurbishment that now allows us to offer some comfy beds, free Wi-Fi as well as a great breakfast all included.

Do let us know about a future stay and thanks again

Kind regards

Ibis Styles London ExCel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spalding, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2014

This hotel has a good location and is close to transport. The shower in the room is cry small. Free wifi is a bonus. Breakfast is like canteen food - but reasonable. Service at reception was good. Parking overnight was cheap - only £10! A good budget hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CharlieFang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisStylesLonExCel, Manager at Ibis Styles London Excel, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear Sir / Madam

Thanks for the review of your stay and we're glad you liked the hotel and what we have to offer.

We've got a great location and the hotel is newly refurbished, including the funky and colourful breakfast room!

Keep your eyes peeled on our website for some deals and being only a shorty distance from the O2, then do think about us if you're heading down to see a show.

Many thanks

Ibis Styles London ExCel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucestershire, UK
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2014

We stayed here mid week to see a concert at the O2. The hotel is 2 minutes walk along a well lit street from the DLR with one stop on the DLR and one stop on the tube to the O2.
The hotel was clean and the front desk staff helpful.
Breakfast was basic but plenty of it.
Great value and would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank raserfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisStylesLonExCel, Manager at Ibis Styles London Excel, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear Sir / Madam

Thank you for the feedback and review of the hotel and your recent stay.

We're glad you liked what we have to offer and do hope we can welcome you back again.

Many thanks

Ibis Styles London ExCel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed July 12, 2014

I stayed at this hotel for 4 nights, and it was an overall good experience.
The staff was very helpful, especially Ashwin at the breakfast room who remembered our names and helped my mother who was ill.
The room was clean, and overall it was what you could expect from an Ibis hotel.
Access to the centre of London is easy through the DLR.
I would recommend this hotel for a short stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StefAbdelnour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisStylesLonExCel, Manager at Ibis Styles London Excel, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear Madam

Thank you for the review of your stay and the great feedback.

I've let the team know about the compliments as well as Ashwin's Manager so that he can let him know, its always nice to get a thanks and its very much appreciated.

We do hope to see you again, keep your eyes peeled on our website for some deals and we do hope to see you again soon.

Regards

Ibis Styles London ExCel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southampton
Level Contributor
43 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2014

stayed here for three days as we were at the O2 on the Tuesday, swift check in with lovely friendly staff, room was clean and fresh looking, more pillows in wardrobe if wanted, hotel is near shops,excel centre,takeaways and is really nice to walk around the area.
We slept really well beds were really comfy, the brekkie in the morning was really nice, help yourself to hot or cold food, fruit, yoghurts, ceral really nice clean and could not fault it, we had a drink in the bar which again has a pool table, music lovely comfy sofas and plenty of room, drinks were nicely priced as well.
The hotel is just by the tube so you can travel anywhere in london.
All hotel staff were really lovely and polite.
The only thing to grumble about was the shower, the pod was way too small for hubby but we just left door open on the pod, all in all we will certainly be returning here, had such a lovely stay here.

Room Tip: we were on fourth floor was lovely and peacefull
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skinny57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisStylesLonExCel, Manager at Ibis Styles London Excel, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear Sir / Madam

Thanks for the great review of the hotel and you're recent stay with us.

We've spent a lot of time and money on the refurbishment and staff training and glad to see its paying off.

Keep your eyes peeled on our website for some cracking deals, we're idealy suited for a show at the O2 or just some West End shopping.

Many thanks and see you soon

Ibis Styles London ExCel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2014

Far from the London city centre, and with the tube not running very late, if you want to experience London at night this is not the hotel to stay at to do so. It was clean, and the breakfast was great. Staff were very helpful. We really enjoyed it, but we wished we could stay out past midnight without having to pay for a heavy cab fare home.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisStylesLonExCel, Manager at Ibis Styles London Excel, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear Sir / Madam

Thank you for the review of your stay and we're pleased you liked the hotel.

Our location is ideal for seeing the sites using the DLR and although this does stop about midnight (ish) we do have a great pub which is open until late so perhaps party with us next time!

We hope to see you again next time you're over, meantime, thanks for the review

Ibis Styles London ExCel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Ibis London Excel Docklands
Ibis London Excel Docklands
#468 of 1,067 in London
1,989 reviews
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Novotel London ExCeL
Novotel London ExCeL
#297 of 1,067 in London
2,200 reviews
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Holiday Inn Express London - ExCeL
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East End / East London
Good Hotel London
Good Hotel London
#552 of 1,067 in London
184 reviews
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Aloft London Excel
Aloft London Excel
#263 of 1,067 in London
1,803 reviews
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Prince Regent Hotel Excel London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Styles London Excel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Styles London Excel

Property: Ibis Styles London Excel
Address: 272 Victoria Dock Road, London E16 3BY, England (Formerly Custom House Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs , East End / East London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #578 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Styles London Excel 3*
Number of rooms: 305
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located opposite the ExCel Convention Centre, 10 minutes from the O2 and the QEII Park (Olympic Park), the Ibis Styles London ExCel is ideally located for both business and pleasure. Adjacent to the Custom House Stop on the Docklands Light Railway, London's attractions are only a short distance away. With a choice of 305 newly refurbished bedrooms with twin, double and inter-connecting family rooms as well as a choice of apartments; ideal for longer stays. We boast 4 eating options from the newly refurbished breakfast room, to our new coffee shop as well as our traditional 'Pub' rather than a hotel bar. Our new A La Carte Restaurant is open daily from 6pm. The hotel has its own on-site car park (charges apply) as well as a 4 meeting room conference centre, with private dining options available. The hotel is modern, fresh and rates include breakfast and unlimited free Wi-Fi throughout. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotel.de, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibis Styles London Excel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Custom Hotel London
Custom House Hotel London
Ibis Styles London Excel England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing