We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cheap, Cheerful and Great Value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ibis Styles London Excel
Ranked #562 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Altadena, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Cheap, Cheerful and Great Value”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

I stayed here in July 2013 whilst on an overnight stay in London. I didn't want to pay the ridiculous premium for a central London location, and considering I was using a Travelcard anyway during the day, the location of this hotel directly outside Custom House DLR station, it really was extremely convenient for Central London, at a fraction of the price. Internally, the hotel was very well appointed. Ibis 'Styles' are a slightly more 'hip' version of a standard Ibis hotel, they have bright coloured walls instead of the rather conservative palette of standard Ibis'. Other than that, there really isn't much to separate the two, and as I expect from a quality, but budget hotel chain, our room was very comfortable, and functional. Nothing special, but again, well worth the £69 paid for what is a popular time of year for people visiting the capital. Another welcomed bonus of the Ibis Style range is the buffet breakfast included in the room rate. Again, the quality and variety aren't Earth shattering, but still a very welcome touch.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank palmz87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean O, Manager at Ibis Styles London Excel, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear Sir / Madam

Thank you for the review of your stay here at our hotel and we're so pleased you appreciated our great location and hotel.

We're proud of our 3 star status, we're quite colourful and the rooms have all been freshened and refurbished, now with free Wi-Fi and a great breakfast included.

Do let us know about stopping again, there are always offers up on our website, so just check us out and hope to see you soon

Regards

Ibis Styles London ExCel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,414 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    246
    564
    373
    141
    90
See reviews for
196
451
97
388
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Namur, Belgium
Level Contributor
75 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

We've passed only one night in this hotel but it was very well. When we arrived, after some problems on the road, we'ra tired and the first picture is a big large smile...yeahh. After the check in go to the room, a good attention on the table.. A bottle of water. The room is clean, the bathroom is little but clean and a shower with warm water. The bed is confortable and the tv had a lot of chains. The breakfast is exeptionnel for this hotel, english and continental, coffee and the without problem. We'll be back ...it's true

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Yvandesfrites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean O, Manager at Ibis Styles London Excel, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear Sir / Madam

Thank you for the review of your stay and we're glad our warm welcome and big smile put you at ease upon arrival.

We offer a great inclusive breakfast for all guests as well as now giving FREE Wi-Fi as well.

Just check out our website re deals etc and we hope to see you again

Regards

Ibis Styles London ExCel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Level Contributor
315 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

We stayed 2 nights here on an advance booking deal and were very pleased with our choice. The location is directly opposite the Custom House DLR so access to anywhere in London is easy. The hotel offers a good standard of accommodation for the chain - the rooms were large compared to typical Ibis rooms and to those found in many London hotels with a well fitted (although small) bathroom, complimentary water, hair dryer, free wi-fi (that worked) and a very substantial (included in the price) breakfast with full English and continental options. We had a room on the third floor overlooking the large enclosed car park (very unusual for London) and couldn't here any external noise at all - very, very quiet.The staff on reception and at breakfast were extremely friendly and helpful and hot/cold drinks and free newspapers are available in the lounge area. The hotel also has a free ATM in the lobby so getting cash is easier than standing outside in the rain at a bank.

Only a couple of minor gripes - there is a step up to the bathroom which may catch you unaware in the middle of the night and the tv is practically unwatchable in bed due to poor viewing angle.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the rear car park will be quieter than those facing the DLR.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean O, Manager at Ibis Styles London Excel, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear John

Thank you for taking the time to post a review and we're pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.

We're proud of our hotel, we've got a great location and have worked hard to give our guests a good stay at a great price.

We're listening to the feedback re the TV location, as you can imagine, this isn't as easy as it appears and we're looking into some options.

Hope to see you again, just check out our rates for some deals and we're only 10-15 mins from the O2.

Regards

Ibis Styles London ExCel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

From the moment we walked in we were greeted with a smile & made to feel welcome. For what your paying it was brillant. The room was a very good size , bathroom was brillant & clean too. Breakfast was a good selection of food. The whole hotel has a little different then it would be. Around the lifts it got lovely pictures of London around.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChefLCR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean O, Manager at Ibis Styles London Excel, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Dear Sir / Madam

Thank you for the review of your recent stay and the lovely compliments you've made about our staff. We've passed this on to them and appreciate the feedback.

We're working hard to give a great stay and part of this is the staff as well as the decor and friendliness we've created.

Let us know about staying again, we're great for visits into London via the DLR & Tube, the O2 is only 10-15 mins away.

Regards

Ibis Styles London ExCel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is placed very well for the Excel centre and directly adjacent to Custom House DLR. the rooms are very basic but adequate. The shower room is particularly small, using it can be quite a claustrophobic experience. Expensive for the standard of hotel, I expect they exploit their location. Two main gripes; firstly the flat screen TV is set on a very high shelf, because the TV's are quite cheap you can only see a clear picture when viewing it straight on at eye level, whilst laying down the picture becomes almost unwatchable, secondly, a free wifi code is given to you on arrival, however, I was unable to connect on either of the devices I had with me...very annoying as you expect this service for a business trip and it influences your choice of booking. Value for money? No, but ideally located if you need to be close to Excel. I certainly would not like to stay here for more than one night only.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean O, Manager at Ibis Styles London Excel, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Dear Michael

Thank you for the review of your recent stay and for the feedback. We do have a great location next to the DLR and ExCel and off the flight path.

The rooms are newly refurbished with new flat screen TV's, most rooms now have new 'Sweet Beds' and are well liked.

We do hope to see you again. Our rates do fluctuate according to demand but always provide great value with FREE Wi-Fi and our buffet breakfast.

Regards

Ibis Styles London ExCel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013

By most hotel standards, there are almost no frills. Rooms are small (and vary by placement), but mine was quiet and efficient (faced parking area, not the street). DLR trains are within 150 feet and go everywhere. Breakfast spread was huge and adequate to stave off hunger for half the day easily. At the time I was there (mid August) many foreign travelers were part of the mix, but I also many who were clearly UK based families with children (stoking up on baked beans). Rooms were cleaned well and left very nice. A minor concern might be that this east end of London is an hour and a half (roughly) from Heathrow via the public trains, needing two changes of line. this could be tiring/confusing for those who do not know the London Transit system.

Room Tip: Some rooms are very, very small (can't walk around the bed); suggest asking to be moved if you g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Business_Traveler020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean O, Manager at Ibis Styles London Excel, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Sir / Madam

Thank you for the review of your stay here at our hotel, we are indeed a premium economy hotel and are completely refurbished.

We are well located opposite the Docklands Light Railway and athough Heathrow is the other side of town, we are just 10 minutes from London City Airport, with its easy connections to Europe and the States.

All rooms are finished with a work area and FREE Wi-Fi, with new beds fitted to 3/4 of the rooms.

Let us know about another stay and thanks again for the feedback

Regards

Ibis Styles London ExCel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, England
Level Contributor
40 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

We stayed at the Ibis Styles Hotel in August 2013 which was part of a packaged deal for a theatre break.

The hotel is opposite the DLR station Custom House for ExCel, so no walking for public transport. The DLR station is good location for O2 dome and Greenwich however it is a trek for the city.
The hotel is right on the flight path for London City Airport so expect some noise.

The room was a little small however it was clean and had tea and coffee facilities, plus bottle water which is a nice touch.
The bath room was a pod type / wet room feel about it. The shower had a power jet and warmed up very quickly.
The only thing I would mention as a down side was when we stayed it was a hot August weekend and there window opening is small and opens inward. This means no funnelling of any breeze in to the room from out side. As the room does not have any Air Con hence the window option !

breakfast service had plenty of choice and unlimited amounts for those with healthy appetite.
The dinning area has a funky 6th form college appeal and again was well serviced and clean.
The hotel staff were friendly and helpful through out our stay.

Room Tip: Good location for O2 or Greenwich
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tysonator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean O, Manager at Ibis Styles London Excel, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Sir / Madam

Thank you for the review of the hotel and we're pleased you enjoyed your stay and appreciated our hotel.

We do have a great location and we are easy to get to, use the Jubilee Line and the West End is quite easy, I hurtle in every day in rush hour!

We do have some air-conditoned rooms but fans are available for non air-con rooms, the windows by law aren't allowed to open any further. Sorry.

Meantime though with some great shows at the O2 and Christmas shopping at Westfield Stratford, just bear us in mind for a future stay and we'd love to see you again

Regards

Ibis Styles London ExCel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Ibis London Excel Docklands
Ibis London Excel Docklands
#466 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,962 reviews
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Novotel London ExCeL
Novotel London ExCeL
#299 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,181 reviews
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Holiday Inn Express London - ExCeL
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Premier Inn London Docklands (Excel) Hotel
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Aloft London Excel
Aloft London Excel
#260 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,781 reviews
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Prince Regent Hotel Excel London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Styles London Excel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Styles London Excel

Property: Ibis Styles London Excel
Address: 272 Victoria Dock Road, London E16 3BY, England (Formerly Custom House Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs , East End / East London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #562 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Styles London Excel 3*
Number of rooms: 305
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located opposite the ExCel Convention Centre, 10 minutes from the O2 and the QEII Park (Olympic Park), the Ibis Styles London ExCel is ideally located for both business and pleasure. Adjacent to the Custom House Stop on the Docklands Light Railway, London's attractions are only a short distance away. With a choice of 305 newly refurbished bedrooms with twin, double and inter-connecting family rooms as well as a choice of apartments; ideal for longer stays. We boast 4 eating options from the newly refurbished breakfast room, to our new coffee shop as well as our traditional 'Pub' rather than a hotel bar. Our new A La Carte Restaurant is open daily from 6pm. The hotel has its own on-site car park (charges apply) as well as a 4 meeting room conference centre, with private dining options available. The hotel is modern, fresh and rates include breakfast and unlimited free Wi-Fi throughout. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Ibis Styles London Excel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Custom Hotel London
Custom House Hotel London
Ibis Styles London Excel England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing