We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Real Thing!”
Review of Ruby Cafe - CLOSED

Ruby Cafe
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Neighborhood: Shoreditch
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The Real Thing!”
Reviewed December 30, 2013

Authentic Italian cuisine with a relaxed atmosphere. I recommend the Risotto and any pasta. The chef/owner takes his stuff very seriously!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Omar H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    9
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Fantastic food at a fantastic price”
Reviewed October 4, 2013

We were looking for somewhere to eat around Hoxon and stumbled across this place. It's good simple food but done really well. Best steak I've had in ages. Loads of charm and character and great service.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mattydp76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
420 reviews
229 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
“impressive”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

ok the food is not spectacular (and doesn't pretend to be) - but nothing to complain about either. The service (family run I think) is superb, and the prices for the area border on ridiculously cheap. Stumbled across this place and would be very happy to go again and again. Despite being in Hoxton Square, it feels like a welcoming local restaurant/bar. If you're in the area, it's worth a look.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TWP64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicestershire
Level Contributor
203 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Best ever risotto”
Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

Ruby's has a real buzz but with a very relaxed atmosphere. Service impeccable and staff friendly and welcoming. I had the mushroom and leek risotto. Seriously guys that was the best Ive ever tasted. Excellent value too

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mealpup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“I like this place allot!!”
Reviewed May 24, 2013

My very pregnant friend and I met up in east London earlier this week, we wanted to have a girlie catch up, eat a nice meal and not spend too much money. We stumbled across the Ruby Cafe in Hoxton Square where we indulged in a beautiful meal and great conversation (baby stuff!)..... Even though I had planned on having alight dinner I couldn't resist the pork chops with mashed potatoes and red onion which everyone seemed to be ordering. Some other dishes that everyone seemed to be ordering were the calamari salad, seafood risotto and scrumptious looking hummus covered in green olives and surrounded by toasted french stick bread. Last but not least the service is some of the best I have ever had in London... I am already planing my next visit back...

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cher37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ruby Cafe also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing