We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it”

Champagne+Fromage - Covent Garden
Ranked #815 of 23,211 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $14 - $27
Cuisines: Delicatessen, French, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: Covent Garden
Description: Shop & Bistro. Discover a delicious piece of France through our large drink & food menu including cheese board, charcuterie boards, tartines, baked Camemberts, baked Mont d'Or and many others! 35 award-winning champagnes from small producers, over 30 sensational soft and hard French cheeses, a range of charcuterie and all manner of delicious terrines, confits, soups, jams and condiments. What's not to love?
Reviewed April 3, 2014

Such a nice little restaurant. Home made food and great quality. The staff is also friendly. Maracons are just amazing!!! I would recommend this place for every one who love real French food for a reasonable price.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Andrew J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (494)
There are newer reviews for Champagne+Fromage - Covent Garden
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

262 - 266 of 494 reviews

Reviewed March 27, 2014

I was given an Amazon local gift voucher for this and really didn't know what to expect. When I arrived with my son we found the location disappointing and would have set foot inside if I didn't have a voucher to spend. The place is cramped with hardly enough room to swing a cat. The staff were apathetic and the champagne warm. If you wan't to waste your money on crap like this that's your choice but I suggest you avoid it like the plague

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Cliff J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sfrigerio70, Owner at Champagne+Fromage - Covent Garden, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2014

There is not so much to comment if a customer is so negative about our place but we do respect all opinions.

In order to avoid possible future disappointments I would like to clarify some points:
- We are an independent business and we are passionate about it.
- We are a shop and bistro with 30 covers only, so better if you book in advance
- We only sell Growers champagne, we don't sell any famous brand (its our informed choice)
- All our cheese is weekly imported from small artisan in France
- We will be happy to advise you on the "right for your taste" champagne and cheese pairing.

Let's bubble!
Stefano

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2014

There were 5 of us and we had booked. I don't think we would have found a table without having done so. Eventually we were served precisely the charcuterie and cheese we had asked for (a mixture not on the menu) It must have been prepared in France it took so long to arrive. The food was stunning, very simple yet delicious. The bread was utterly wonderful. This is a fabulous spot but (i) staff need to get their act together. The owner should not have sat sipping champagne but helping clients who were clearly becoming impatient. (ii) not all of the party were bubble drinkers but nothing else was available. Perfect spot for a first date!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank Kipper_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014

Staff try to give the impression that they have to channel the archetypical rude garçon otherwise we won't believe they are really French. Pointed out that the champagne was warm, no it's not sir our fridge is perfect. Apart from that good homely French cooking, an interesting cheese selection and a wide selection of the smaller chateaus not normally found on this side of the channel.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Drford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2014

Very nice and cosy bar with good champagne and cheese. Unfortunately they didn't serve anything except for champagne (I could have fancied a glass of champagne). But what's in a name, right?

Very nice place! (Prices range from 9£ for a glass of champagne)

2  Thank Judith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Champagne+Fromage - Covent Garden also viewed

 

Been to Champagne+Fromage - Covent Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing