We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it...”

Champagne+Fromage - Covent Garden
Ranked #762 of 22,516 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $26
Cuisines: French, European, Wine Bar, Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: Covent Garden
Description: Shop & Bistro. Discover a delicious piece of France through our large drink & food menu including cheese board, charcuterie boards, tartines, baked Camemberts, baked Mont d'Or and many others! 35 award-winning champagnes from small producers, over 30 sensational soft and hard French cheeses, a range of charcuterie and all manner of delicious terrines, confits, soups, jams and condiments. What's not to love?
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Loved it...”
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Not my usual 'after football' type of place on Saturday but as we were in London, it was something different.

Wife and her sister were at a show, I went to the football, we met in there afters. By the time I got there starving there was a glass of cold champagne and a sharing platter of meat and bread awaiting me which were both well received and tasted excellent. The atmosphere was very relaxed and the fact that we ended up sharing a table with a couple who came in was great as it added to the atmosphere and the sociable side of going out.

It's not the cheapest of places, but you get what you pay for, and in this place it's quality.

Beware though, with the fact that you can buy takeaway preserves, meat, bread, cheese and fizz your credit card can become red hot!!!!!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BarryH0pez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

473 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    278
    141
    25
    12
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“just what we needed!”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Excellent idea....bubbles & cheese! The food was excellent and the champagne too...it was wonderful to taste champagne from small houses....and not the usual champagne that you see in most bars/restaurants. Food portions could be a bit bigger...but that aside - an excellent afternoon with friends.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank angela m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
County Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
174 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
“Our Parisien Hidden Oasis”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

This was our 3rd visit to this small, intimate french restaurant which serves mostly tartines - meat and fine french cheese platters and the most wonderful chocolate fondant with blue cheese filling.

Service has always been efficient and friendly. Serves exquisite champagne and soft drinks only.

Clearly very good quality produce is used and served in a rustic style on wooden boards, with prices that are extremely reasonable in covent garden.

We look forward to our 4th visit

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank skater-babe12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
49 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great shop/bistro combination, yummy food and gorgeous champagne!”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We loved the combination of shop and bistro, the laid back almost continental atmosphere and the very friendly service. We had a reservation for a Sunday lunch and were a bit worried that it might be too quiet on a Sunday in the city (we arrived from Temple tube station). But we found quite a few tables reserved and also a regular stream of people walking in and grabbing a bite to eat (so would recommend making a reservation if you can). The lunch was really good value for money. We had the Aveyronaise Tartine (great combination of Roquefort cheese and marinated prunes served with walnuts) and the Corsican Cured Meat Selection (bread, gherkins and three varieties of cured meat, beautifully sliced and presented; also quite a significant portion, more than enough for lunch). For desert: Strawberry Gazpacho (perfect for someone who wants something sweet but not heavy) and the Lemon Polenta Tart (delicious). We had two glasses of champagne each (you can order by the glass and enjoy different ones) and enjoyed the one (Pertois-Moriset Brut Millesime 2005) so much we bought a bottle from the shop to take home. Will definitely be back & will also recommend the bistro and shop to friends. Would simply love to attend one of the champagne tasting evenings ...

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Prius_Peregrine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great”
Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

Be been here for dinner and the cheese and champagne tasting and both were great and really excellent value. The lady who ran the tasting was so knowledgable and friendly. Great place

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Elovett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Champagne+Fromage - Covent Garden also viewed

 

Been to Champagne+Fromage - Covent Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing