We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An ideal place to rest your head....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Makedonia Ltd
Ranked #901 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Reviewed May 30, 2013

We travelled to London to see Muse at the Emirates and wanted somewhere close to stadium. Very close to the tube station and a 15 minute walk to Emirates. Very nice welcome on arrival, and although the corridor and carpet was worn, this did not reflect the high standard of the family room we were allocated. It was unusually large and very clean and nicely presented. I agree with a previous review about the noise levels with the road so close by, but it is London after all and after attending a concert you're ready for sleep anyway. Breakfast was included and this too was very nice. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Izzadora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (205)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Makedonia Ltd
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

107 - 113 of 205 reviews

Reviewed May 15, 2013

Our room was on the top floor of the hotel, and there is NO elevator! Possibly fine if you're young and fit, but when middle-age is upon you it's a problem, especially when already exhausted from a long day of sightseeing. The guy on reception offered to carry our suitcases up the many flights of stairs, thankfully! Nowhere in its description (or other reviews) does it mention its proximity to Pentonville Prison - directly across the road! We could see inside from our window. Others here have talked about the noise - yes, there is quite a bit of city noise and lots of sirens, but that's to be expected from an inner-city location. The location is good for St Pancras Eurostar, which is why we chose it. Our room was quite basic, average size, but clean.

Room Tip: Request a room on a lower floor. Take ear plugs.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lindel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Stayed this week for a sightseeing trip. Great location 2 mins from tube. Bit noisy at night but it is a busy road, and expected. Room was bright and clean and well looked after. Breakfast perfect and staff lovely. Would definately stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dweebie81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

I stayed here with 2 of my friends for a birthday trip to London. Asked them if they could do anything special for our arrival for the birthday girl and they provided champagne and choclates, free of charge and replied promptly to my emails ! A nice gentleman insisted on taking our cases to the room and wished my friend happy birthday and informed us or all wifi details etc. Room was really big and we all had a single bed each with extra pillows in the wardrobe, the bathroom was nice and clean with toiletries. Beds were really comfy and a hair drier was provided. Our room was at the front of the hotel and we got to sleep easily so not sure what the noise issues on other reviews are. The tube station is a 5 min walk down the road and you are only 1 stop away from kings cross so really easy to get there from train you can also go direct to camden and Leicster square among other places on the Picadilly line. Food was lovely, fresh bread, cheese, meats, olives, muffins, juice, tea, coffee etc even though we set the fire alarm off with the toaster ! Room was cleaned (and tidied, with 3 messy girls in the room) and fresh fluffy towels provided. A special thank you to Theo who helped us in our time of need (we were hungry after a night out and no where was open) and came to our rescue. It only cost us £80 each for 2 nights which was really good value for somewhere so close and convenient to the sights of London. Would not hesitate to stay here again on our next trip to London.

Room Tip: Our triple room on the first floor was lovely
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lauren M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

My husband and I enjoyed the stay at this hotel. the food was lovely and the room nice, a bit warm but we turned the radiator off and all was well. There was a bit of noise outside the hotel at night but you're in London it's to be expected. Our room was serviced every day and had fresh towels too. The bed was low and hubby suffered from that (suffers with back problems) but was comfortable.
The underground was close by so it was eaiser to travel around to see the sights of London. I would stay here again. Our Wedding anniversary is in the summer so may come back again.

Room Tip: Try to book a room no higher than the second floor as there is no lift.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maria H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Stayed for a night booked a twin room but got a triple. Wooden floor lots of space. Bathroom clean but dated beds new and fruit bowl a nice touch. Lack of lift mean a hike to the 4th floor though.

Breakfast continental but included so cannot fault at the price. Have stayed in many London hotels for more and got less Anthena is good value and you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Medicineman77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

This Hotel had favourable reviews and this is why I booked it. One or two had mentioned the noise at night but many had not so I took a chance.
The room itself was not bad. Low bed but clean and adequate for a three night stay. My husband found it very hot with no heat control and the window did not make any difference. Good hospitality tray and breakfast - and the reception staff and breakfast staff very friendly.
I have to agree with those who say the corridors are a bit of a maze and very narrow.
We left after the fitst night!! The noise - even with the window closed - was horrendous. Our room faced onto the side road / junction with Caledonian Road, opposite the BTP police station. I may have managed 3 hours cap napping. We would have been depressed staying for any longer knowing how tired we were going to be from lack of sleep. The receptionist did offer to buy us ear plugs when we were booking out but past experience in New York told me they did not really work.
Managed to get a 5* deal on lastminute.com that morning and it was a no brainer for the price offered. We may have lost £140 on the Makadonia but it was worth it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the rear of the hotel which MAY have less noise.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LesleyYOrk2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Corner House Hotel
#746 of 1,072 in London
420 reviews
Queens Hotel
#662 of 1,072 in London
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Crestfield Hotel
Crestfield Hotel
#556 of 1,072 in London
924 reviews
The Castle Bar
#172 of 563 in London
140 reviews
New Market House
#336 of 563 in London
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Makedonia Ltd? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Makedonia Ltd

Address: 427 Caledonian Road | Islington, London N7 9BG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #901 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Price Range: $117 - $161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Makedonia Ltd 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Makedonia Ltd reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Makedonia Ltd London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing