We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good way to get around”

Docklands Light Railway
Ranked #14 of 237 Transportation in London
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Docklands Light Railway (DLR) offers high-frequency links between two of the world's most important financial districts - The City and Docklands - and regeneration areas in east and south east London.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A good way to get around”
Reviewed January 5, 2013

The dlr is a good way to get around this part of London and when you sit at the front you can pretend you are the driver since this is an automated train.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank HClon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    179
    102
    13
    6
    3
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
85 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Gets you easily from A-B with some great views of London”
Reviewed December 23, 2012

The DLR train system is an integrated part of London's transport network. Running 7 days a week the network connects Lewisham, Greenwich and Woolwich in the south east of the capital to the north side of the river crossing into the City and London's financial hub at Canary Wharf and on into Stratford for the Westfield Shopping centre, Olympic Park, London City Airport and the East London boroughs of Newham and Tower Hamlets - the majority of the network is north of the River Thames. As the trains run on elevated tracks passengers get to see some truly excellent views of the dockland area around Canary Wharf. Don't forget to use an Oyster Card to get the best value ticket prices. Great for tourists, business travellers and regular commuters.

Click the link for a Handy guide to using the DLR - http://www.dlrlondon.co.uk/dlr-travel-guide/

Oyster card link - http://visitorshop.tfl.gov.uk/oystercard/product/oyster-card.html

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonLad121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Travelling from Central London to the Excel centre”
Reviewed December 19, 2012

Getting the underground out as far as possible avoids the crushes at Bank or London Bridge.
Then it's a pleasure.
I recommend you have a chat with the driver !

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Clive J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
318 reviews
108 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“make sure you swipe in and out”
Reviewed December 9, 2012

The DLR system is fast, clean and efficient and can catch you out.
We got caught on our recent visit to the Naval Maritime Museum in Greenwich and thought nothing of hopping on the DLR, changing to the District, then to the Central Lines and only then realized that we had not swiped in at the beginning of our journey.
The Oyster card readers in the DLR stations are not as obvious or 'in your face' as on all the other lines and we simply forgot...until we had to swipe out at the end. Thankfully, the helpful young man heard our tale of woe and simply let us walk through - free ride across 4 zones - but I really wouldn't recommend doing that.
Just watch out carefully for the Oyster machines!!! and make sure you use them.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank canadiancraftsman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales - UK
Level 6 Contributor
191 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Torchwood Tower”
Reviewed November 18, 2012

You either watch Dr Who, and travel the train waiting the Dareks & Cybermen to appear, or you don't - we do !

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Rick_The_Builder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Docklands Light Railway also viewed

 

Been to Docklands Light Railway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing