We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good for the price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Point A Hotel, London Liverpool Street
Ranked #357 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Reviewed February 16, 2013

We were seeing a show one evening and had a business function to attend the next day. Having decided it would be better to stay the night rather catch the train home get back late and have an early start the next day to get back to the City we were looking to pay a sensible price. Even the budget chain hotels were over £100. With some trepidation we booked the Tune Hotel. On arrival we were pleasantly greeted and were surprised at the amount of open space in the reception area. OK so the room was small; but we only wanted somewhere to lay our heads for the night. The room was clean, the shower was effective and we paid for the 'extras' we wanted and still paid a reasonable price. Yes there was some noise from outside and some rumbling from tube trains but you can find this in many establishments in London. If we wanted a good value option in London again and unlikely to require full facilities I would book again. The only snag we had was trying to turn the heating unit down. It didn't seem to want to go below 25C so we turned it off!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bouff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TuneLivSt, General Manager at Point A Hotel, London Liverpool Street, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2013

Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review, and I am pleased to read that our hotel has maintained our usual high standards on cleanliness and that our central location proved to be of great convenience for your stay. All of our rooms have air-conditioning units, which can be controlled both from the panel inside the room and from Reception. The Front Desk team can adjust the temperatures so please let us know of your preferences on your next stay.
It is good to know you would return for another stay and you will be welcomed back with great pleasure.
Kind regards,
Elly Page - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,814)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,571 - 1,577 of 2,815 reviews

Reviewed February 15, 2013

This hotel is in a great location right off Liverpool street. Its blocks away from the Metro, great pubs and cocktail lounges. Its also steps from a great street market. The only down part about this hotel is that the rooms are incredibly small, and you have to pay for everything. Towels, soap, TV etc.... Be prepared for these and you will have a great experience.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ILUVYERKIS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TuneLivSt, General Manager at Point A Hotel, London Liverpool Street, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2013

Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for posting a review and mentioning our convenient location. Our concept works on the premise that many visitors to London do not spend much time in their rooms and would rather save money than have unnecessary facilities and space which they do not use. The add-on system gives guests the option to include the extras if they require them or to bring their own and save money if this is preferable.
I hope you will come back and try us again sometime.
Kind regards,
Elly Page - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

The Tune hotel far exceeded our expectations. The quality of the room, including bedding and bathroom were great considering the price. This is a great place to stay if you just want a good nights sleep after a night out in the City. It is only a 5-10 min walk to Liverpool St station. Just make sure you order the extras either when booking or on arrival including a towel, hair dryer etc. if however you forget you can just go and ask at reception and the very friendly staff will sort this for you. A nice naturally lit cafe area with Internet and access to a courtyard/garden. The only downside is the sound of the tube depending on where you are located (we were in a basement room), although this was not that loud and no soap at all in the bathroom. All in all it was great value for money and we would definitely stay again :-)

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room as the tube is nearby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank S M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TuneLivSt, General Manager at Point A Hotel, London Liverpool Street, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2013

Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of Tune Liverpool Street and for letting other travellers know about our value for money concept, offering a good night's sleep in a great location. Our add-on system allows guests to design their stay and make further cost savings if desired.
We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Kind regards,
Elly Page - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 1 night on business. Rooms are very small but clean. Nothing is included apart from bedding. No towels, TV etc.

Bed comfy, but lots of noisy from outside. I think it's expensive. Personally think holiday inn/premier inn is better in same range. Ideal location for work though.

Would stay again but definitely take ear plugs.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank liamnuttall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TuneLivSt, General Manager at Point A Hotel, London Liverpool Street, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2013

Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for posting your feedback following your recent stay.
Our concept focuses on providing comfortable beds and clean accommodation in fantastic locations, and we operate a demand-based pricing strategy so if you book in advance you can secure very competitive rates.
I am sorry to hear that you found the road noisy - please let us know in advance of your next stay so that we can endeavour to allocate you a room on the garden side of the hotel.
Kind regards,
Elly Page - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

I do feel somewhat guilty giving this hotel 1 star because it is clean, functional and good value but...then I remember the attempt at a night's sleep I have just suffered. I can only comment on my experience and unfortunately my experience was a bad one. This is a 'sleep over' hotel. It does not really have any facilities but then you don't particularly need any on a London sleep over. Hence the reason I chose it. To sleep only. That single goal failed utterly.

The reason for this (admittedly harsh) rating was that I have just come away from possibly the worst night's sleep ever in a hotel. If you plan to stay here I implore you to avoid room 9 and I would imagine adjoining rooms too. Here's why. The corridor floor appeared to be hollow as it made an unusual booming sound when walked upon. Like the 'crump' of distant artillery fire. Even the smallest child can sound like a maddened Rhino bounding down the corridor. There must have been a service cupboard or something near my room because I was awoken every 10 or 15 mins (or so it seemed) by one or more staff members clumping down the corridor. Sometimes talking, sometimes not. Though you couldn't hear what they were saying as their deafening footsteps blocked out most other sound. Never again.

Room Tip: Avoif room 9 or any others remotely near it due to proximity to staff service area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wayne_bridgman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TuneLivSt, General Manager at Point A Hotel, London Liverpool Street, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2013

Dear Reviewer,
It is a shame that you have not spoken to a member of the team regarding this since you have stayed with us 10 times previously and presumably therefore know that this is not usual. There are only 2 members of staff on duty during the night and they never leave the desk at the same time, so I must point out that anybody talking down the corridor must have been other guests.
I am sorry that you have had a bad night's sleep and would have gladly discussed this with you directly in order to rectify and restore your faith in the hotel.
Kind regards,
Elly Page - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Booked this without knowing what or where it was! (Through a website called Hotwire). Did have a slight panic when i realised we might have no windows, but luckily there were two YAY! Spacious room, very clean, comfy bed, excellent shower, polite staff...
I would definately recommend if you dont mind something basic, especially for £50 a night, just round the corner from Liverpool St station!
A good stay.

Room Tip: Unless you are just planning on passing out as soon as you get in, its worth the little extra to get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daffodiljam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TuneLivSt, General Manager at Point A Hotel, London Liverpool Street, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2013

Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for posting a review. It is wonderful to read that you were pleasantly surprised by the hotel upon arrival, and that we lived up to our brand standards of comfortable beds, clean rooms, and fantastic customer service.
The rooms without window are only ever allocated to guests who select these rooms to make cost savings, and any rooms we sell on third party websites will have a window unless otherwise stated.
I hope you will choose Tune Liverpool Street again.
Kind regards,
Elly Page - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Rooms were very clean,allthough small.Location is nearly perfect,easy access to the airports by shuttle and to main attraction areas by tube.İ would recommend this to all of my friends because it is realy value for money.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank muratceylan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TuneLivSt, General Manager at Point A Hotel, London Liverpool Street, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2013

Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for taking the time to inform other travellers of your experience at our hotel.
It is great to see our high standards of cleanliness mentioned, as there is often a misconception that our low rates incur a compromise of standards.
We look forward to your next visit.
Kind regards,
Elly Page - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Shoreditch
Point A Hotel London Shoreditch
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Point A Hotel, London Kings Cross St Pancras
Paddington / Maida Vale
Point A Hotel, London Paddington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Whitechapel
Qbic Hotel London City
Qbic Hotel London City
#111 of 1,077 in London
3,324 reviews
Whitechapel
Ibis London City-Shoreditch
Ibis London City-Shoreditch
#323 of 1,077 in London
4,080 reviews
Shoreditch
Travelodge London Central City Road
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Point A Hotel, London Liverpool Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Point A Hotel, London Liverpool Street

Address: 13 - 15 Folgate Street, London E1 6BX, England (Formerly Tune Hotel - London, Liverpool Street)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Spitalfields , East End / East London
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#207 Business Hotel in London
#237 Romantic Hotel in London
#310 Family Hotel in London
Price Range: $71 - $234 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Point A Hotel, London Liverpool Street 2.5*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Point A Hotel London Liverpool Street ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Point A Hotel, London Liverpool Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Point A Hotel, London Liverpool Street England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing