We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value, clean and good location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Point A Hotel, London Liverpool Street
Ranked #381 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Good Value, clean and good location”
Reviewed July 8, 2012

After searching for affordable stay in London (mostly b&b & budget hotel), we decided to stay at Tune Hotel Liverpool as they provide good rate and good reviews in TA.
We booked a double room w/out window for a week with average rate of GBP51 per night, which I thought really good deal. We arrived via tube and walked to the hotel (folgate street), which took us less than 10minutes walk. The check-in was easy and fast. The room here are slightly bigger then the one in Westminster which was a relief for us, as we will be spending one week here. The room & the bathroom were very clean and smelled fresh. We had a bedside table/ few power points / air cond / sufficient space to place our luggage bags and room was well ventilated. The bathroom was clean and just the right size as I am about 6ft tall. You can also get wifi / tv / hairdryer / safe with additional charge.
The hotel is located in between business area. Finding food was quite easy as were few cafes and restaurants nearby especially in Spitalfields. There is a Tesco located near to the hotel so getting your basic supply is easy. The surrounding area does feel safe, especially if you coming back late to the hotel. The Liverpool tube station is quite convenient as you can practically go any part of London from here (switching tube to different line is very easy). There is a pub right next to the hotel, called The Water Poet. We were there during the Euro2012 and this place is packed. Didn’t really have the chance to try it out.
Overall, we were happy and satisfied with our stay. It was a good value, clean accommodation and safe.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cammal K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Point A Hotel, London Liverpool Street, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you very much for your feedback.
I am pleased to read that our location was convenient for your visit to London, and it is encouraging to hear such great feedback regarding the cleanliness of our rooms which we will endeavour to maintain at these high standards.
We look forward to welcoming you back.
Kind regards,
Richard Clarke – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,554 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    974
    1,087
    302
    96
    95
See reviews for
217
1,021
166
538
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (403)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bolton, Lancashire
Level 6 Contributor
83 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2012

This was my first stay at Tune and I'm sure it won't be my last. Let's get the only little bug-bear out of the way first. Whist it is not actually on 'Liverpool Street' it is only 5 minutes walk away, and the title does the give traveller a clear indication as to which part of London the hotel is situated in. I was staying on business and the hotel is ideally situated for all locations around Liverpool Street, Bishopsgate, Shoreditch and Commercial Road. The reception is clean, open and inviting, and quick and efficient too. It was also cool and air conditioned and so after travelling for 3 hours and just got off the tube it was a pleasant experience. So, how did I find the hotel 'menu' of stay options? Surprisingly, once you get your head around the mix and match options then it is easy to sort out. I stayed in a room with a window, TV, safe, double bed and I elected for the bathroom towels etc. I even took the wifi option which was great for the apps on the iphone. Even though I took all of the add-ons, the final price was still 20% cheaper than the usual room only price that I normally pay at some of the the other 'budget' hotels in the area. However, even though the Tune Hotel is in the budget price range, it is hard to say that the stay experience is budget. Okay, so the room is small (you can just about walk around the double bed), but it is exceptionally clean, the sheets are crisp and the bed very comfy. The shower area is spotless and the actual shower is powerful and refreshing, with very good pressure/ heat control so you can actually use the temperature control (I have stayed in many places where the water pressure and temperature do not change no matter what you do with the controls). There are no coffee making facilities in the room but there is a coffee concession in the reception area and, if the weather was nice, and outside area to sit and plan the day). There are no bar facilities but you do have several bars within a few minutes walk, even one just across the street. Local shops are available for breakfast and you could easily get pastries and the like or even a cooked breakfast from various outlets within a few minutes walk. Having used local hotels for over 6 years and a regular basis I have to say that Tune Hotels have found a niche and I have found a new favourite. I'll be back.

Room Tip: The concept of choosing a room with our without a window was something I've never seen before bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Patch66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Point A Hotel, London Liverpool Street, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for posting a complimentary review of our hotel.
First of all I am very pleased that you enjoyed our superb location, our 5-star beds and pleasant customer service. Our rooms are compact and this allows us to keep costs to a minimum so that everybody can enjoy our low rates, and our add-on system gives the guests a choice to design their stay for a nominal fee. As you mentioned we have a coffee station in the lobby offering a selection of hot drinks, soft drinks and snacks and also our garden is open for the guests to relax and enjoy some sun.
We look forward to your next visit.
Kind regards,
Richard Clarke – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2012 via mobile

A very good value hotel! Good for a one night stay. The room was pretty small but clean. I recommend it! Especially if you are on a tight budget.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Céline A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Point A Hotel, London Liverpool Street, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for your feedback on our hotel.
We offer very competitive room rates with an add-on system that allows guests to design their own stay, aimed at savvy travellers. I am pleased that we met your requirements for your stay in London and we appreciate your recommendation.
We hope to welcome you back again.
Kind regards,
Richard Clarke – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
246 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2012

Yes, this hotel is very basic and they make you pay for towels, etc, BUT it is really cheap for London and is in an excellent location. Liverpool St station (which is on several tube lines) is a 5 min walk away and the really cool Shoreditch/Hoxton area is on its doorstep with loads of bars, clubs and restaurants within easy walking distance. The rooms are comfortable and perfect for anyone looking for an affordable but modern hotel to use as a base for exploring London. I've already booked my second stay.

Room Tip: I'd recommend opting for the basic pack for £7 extra when booking - to get you a towel, tv and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank declanjhayes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Point A Hotel, London Liverpool Street, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for writing a review. I am pleased that you had a great stay and were able to take advantage of our great rates and unbeatable value, even after including the add-ons.
Our concept is based on the premise that people do not spend much time in their hotel rooms whilst staying in London, so we focus on providing comfortable beds in great locations.
We look forward to welcoming you back for your next stay.
Kind regards,
Richard Clarke – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2012

Was a little bit worried given the incredible price (and given that this was our first stop on a long European holiday), but was more than pleased with the hotel. Great location (once you've found it for the first time... Folgate Street is a little difficult to locate for London newbies), but an easy 5-10 minute walk from Liverpool Street Station. We were lucky enough to have a room with a window but, as other reviewers have noted, the rooms are tiny so I can imagine that a room without a window would certainly make one feel quite claustrophobic! The room was clean, well-renovated... no real complaints here at all! Would recommend, but not for any longer than 4-5 nights... the space issues might present themselves as an issue beyond that.

Room Tip: Make sure to request a room with a window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sonzilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Point A Hotel, London Liverpool Street, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for posting a review.
It is great to read that you found us to be good value for money as part of your European experience. When booking the hotel, guests can opt to book a room with or without windows as we realise that the rooms without windows do not suit everybody, and although our rooms are quite compact, they are cleverly designed to include the necessities. I am pleased that we maintained our high standards on cleanliness and that you found our central location to be convenient.
We hope to see you again sometime.
Kind regards,
Richard Clarke – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2012

I'm a great fan of Tunes Hotel and so far I like this one the best!

With all same features of any other Tunes' hotel around the world but this hotel has an extraordinary cleanness and very good quality of all the furnitures and all items that are used in their rooms. Buying the additional package to have the towel, TV, 24h Internet, etc. came really handy. The bed is really comfie too, enjoyed watching the eurocup football matches while laying on the bed! The staff is really helpful with some good directions too. It's located just beside the bar and some good restaurants around are within walking distance. It's about 15 mins walk to the Liverpool main station too!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RuthSusilo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Point A Hotel, London Liverpool Street, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for your complimentary review.
It is very rewarding to hear feedback from a regular guest of Tune Hotels, and we are delighted to read that we maintained high standards and excelled in the key focus areas across the Tune brand, namely comfort and cleanliness.
Our staff aim to provide the best service for our guests and I am very pleased that we exceeded your expectations.
Thank you for recommending us, and I hope you will come and have another enjoyable stay with us in the near future.
Kind regards,
Richard Clarke – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012

Lovely clean modern room.Few minutes walk from Liverpool st station when leaving station turn left, walk toward to the glass building on your right side after 2 or 3 blocks turn right Tune Hotel is next to the pub on the left. So close to shops markets bars & restaurant. Will return again!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank 777sms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Point A Hotel, London Liverpool Street, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you very much for your feedback.
I am pleased to read that you found our central location so convenient for your visit to London, and that you enjoyed our clean and comfy rooms.
We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future.
Kind regards,
Richard Clarke – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Point A Hotel, London Kings Cross St Pancras
Shoreditch
Point A Hotel London Shoreditch
Paddington / Maida Vale
Point A Hotel, London Paddington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Whitechapel
Hotel ibis budget London Whitechapel - Brick Lane
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Point A Hotel, London Canary Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Point A Hotel, London Liverpool Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Point A Hotel, London Liverpool Street

Property: Point A Hotel, London Liverpool Street
Address: 13 - 15 Folgate Street, London E1 6BX, England (Formerly Tune Hotel - London, Liverpool Street)
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Spitalfields , East End / East London
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#94 Best Value Hotel in London
#207 Business Hotel in London
#237 Romantic Hotel in London
#311 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Point A Hotel, London Liverpool Street 2.5*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Point A Hotel London Liverpool Street ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, getaroom.com, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Point A Hotel, London Liverpool Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Point A Hotel, London Liverpool Street England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing