We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Attractive location and spaceous rooms”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in London
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Marlyn Lodge - Serviced Apartments
Ranked #9 of 837 Specialty Lodging in London
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Attractive location and spaceous rooms”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2014

I have stayed at Marlyn Lodge last week for the first time. Its central location with walking distance to all of the main brokers and underwriters (incl. Lloyds) has been very convenient. I stayed in a one bedroom and it was very clean, extremely spacious (as there is a large extra living room attached) and fully equipped. The kitchen is spacious too. With the great location and the quality of rooms given this is arguably the best value-for-money that you can get in the City.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Multikind S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

473 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    269
    174
    21
    5
    4
See reviews for
245
115
14
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2014 via mobile

Awesome location - walk to tower Bridge; Borough Markets; Southbank; Brick Lane; Shoreditch; Spitalfields...... Good value for money.
Although clean the room is in need of a little TLC. If you don't want the Lino sticking up in the kitchen; if you don't want your bathroom to look dated then this is not for you, but if you will be spending your time out & about needing only somewhere to lay your head & grab a shower then this is a gem of a find. There is a M-F general tidy up & fresh towel service with a mid week sheet change included.
Would stay again.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thecheapsausage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
84manager, Manager at Marlyn Lodge - Serviced Apartments, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Thank you for your feedback, we completely agree that the location is excellent and we often take a walk around the local area ourselves as so much is happening.

We are sorry for your issues with the Lino, we have now included this in our checklists.

In regards to the bathrooms, we have completed renovation of 16 out of 18 bathrooms, unfortunately it seems you stayed in one which has yet to be updated. You can see the pictures on the new style we have introduced, we hope you like it.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Marlyn Lodge in the future.
Take care, happy travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2014

I have stay in the apartment over four weeks. I am enjoy the good location and a suitable price in London, particularly, the room is large, the bed is comfortable, the kitchen and bath are convenient. The service is very good.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hongyan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

We have stayed in a one bedroom apartment several times now when we visit London. The apartment is spacious and well maintained and it's proximity to the DLR and Tower Hill tube station makes it an ideal location. The owner, Christine, is very helpful. Would thoroughly recommend this apartment. Jennifer Main, Aberdeen

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2014

Stayed a month ago and was very happy with the apartment.
A great price for a self contained apartment in the city of London. Will definitely use again if I need somewhere to stay in town.
Would highly recommend to anyone staying in the city area!!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thedudeiscool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2014

As a city worker who's commute is longer than the average rail user, I often use Marlyn Lodge if I need to stay in town overnight. In those busy weeks when the sleep-versus-'time spent travelling' means it's better to stay up in London, rather than travel home to the coast, the hassle free check in process and comfortable clean environment mean I'm able to get the most out of my working week.
Can't recommend highly enough. Short term accomodation like this makes having a permanent base away from London much easier.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happycommuter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erlangen
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2014

As a family of four who from Germany who took a few days to visit London the Marlyn Lodge was the right choice. It is spacious, well equipped, well kept and located very conveniently. In particular coming from Stansted (Liverpool Street Stn.). We were comparing a lot while planning the trip and it is a good value for a city accommodation. Bus 15 or the tube take you to west end in no time and the east can be explored on foot.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ReisefanErlangen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
City of London
citizenM Tower of London Hotel
City of London
Chamberlain Hotel
Chamberlain Hotel
#121 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,217 reviews
City of London
Apex City of London Hotel
Apex City of London Hotel
#76 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Whitechapel
Premier Inn London City (Tower Hill) Hotel
City of London
Hotel Indigo London Tower Hill
Whitechapel
Premier Inn London City (Aldgate) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marlyn Lodge - Serviced Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marlyn Lodge - Serviced Apartments

Property: Marlyn Lodge - Serviced Apartments
Address: Marlyn Lodge 2 Portsoken Street, London E1 8RB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Whitechapel , East End / East London
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 837 Specialty Lodging in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The apartments are designed to cater for the needs of people visiting London either on vacation, business or residential use. The accommodation includes spacious studio apartments and one bedroom suites. Facilities include WiFi broadband, direct dial telephone and room safe. The apartments offer a cost effective and pleasant alternative to hotels and give the visitor somewhere to live as opposed to simply staying in a hotel room. We also provide the accommodation to both large and small companies and because of the level of repeat business we receive we believe we fulfil the needs of the business visitor to London as well. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Marlyn Lodge - Serviced Apartments London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing