We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay, Super Accomodation”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in London
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Marlyn Lodge - Serviced Apartments
Ranked #10 of 843 Specialty Lodging in London
Certificate of Excellence
Prato, Italy
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great Stay, Super Accomodation”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We are a family of 4 and decided to spend our spring vacation in London visiting our oldest son that now lives in London.
This Apartment answer the question "how to feel home far from home" and Christine is a great host, we had a couple of questions and a request to have additional blankets, and after few hours we have been satisfied.
About location...well is FANTASTIC...5 minutes walk from Tower of London and from Aldgate Metro Station, 15 minutes walk from Liverpool Station and Stop of Terravision and National Express from/to Stansted Airport.
We walked for miles and miles every day, coming back home every day we came home tired but with eyes full of the beauties of London.
What to expect more?

Room Tip: The top-floor apartment has skylights so if you need to sleep in complete darkness you should not se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Massimo F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

491 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    283
    177
    22
    5
    4
See reviews for
255
121
14
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Location, location, location! 80 pounds a night for a big, comfortable studio apartment in "The City" -- why would anyone stay in a hotel? Great restaurants, pubs and coffee shops nearby, and a Tesco around the corner with all the groceries you would want for a short stay, including wine and beer. The Tower Hill tube stop is a very short walk away. Fresh towels every weekday, and no extra fee at the end for cleaning. It's I'm so glad we picked Marlyn Lodge.

Room Tip: There are two elevators, so you don't have to lug suitcases up stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LearnSomethinEvryDay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

We stayed in one of the apartments for 9 nights and it was great! We were a 5 minute walk from Tower Hill underground station and felt safe walking in between.

The bonus was the Tesco supermarket, which was located below the apartments.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Jared-Daina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conwy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

We stayed in a one bed apartment for a week at the end of Jan beginning of Feb. Christine the manager could not have been more helpful and the entry arrangements were flawless and very easy. The flat itself is spotless and extremely well fitted out. The location is within spitting distance of Tower Bridge on the north bank of the river and we couldn't have been better placed for our holiday. We cooked about half of our meals which saved a lot of cash but there are loads of good restaurants around as well. Quite honestly we couldn't fault our stay in any respect at all. It was genuinely brilliant.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Captainkit1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2012

My wife and teenage son stayed for a week at the Marlyn Lodge. It is a great location near Tower Bridge and within an easy walk to a couple of Tube stops. There is a Tesco around the corner and was a short walk to numerous pubs. It is a cost effective alternative to a hotel. The kitchen was stocked with all the cups, glasses, plates we needed. The wifi worked well and the beds were comfortable. As for issues - the bathroom smelled, likely due to the constant dampness. There was a fan that didn't seem to do anything and the only way to ventilate was to prop open the door. They also missed supplying us new towels one of the weekdays (supposed to be daily fresh towels during weekdays). Having never stayed in a flat in London, I don't have anything to compare it to, but I imagine you could do much worse at that price point.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank stge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2012

A very clean, comfortable and secure apartment in a great location. I havent stayed in this area of London before but found it to be well serviced by public transport and other amenities, The apartment had eveything I needed for a great stay. Good wifi. Fast and efficient booking. Very little outside noise allowed for a comfortable sleep. Great pillows. I felt right at home.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Ozinkl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
City of London
Apex City of London Hotel
Apex City of London Hotel
#77 of 1,067 in London
3,702 reviews
City of London
citizenM Tower of London Hotel
City of London
Chamberlain Hotel
Chamberlain Hotel
#118 of 1,067 in London
1,304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City of London
Hotel Indigo London Tower Hill
Whitechapel
Grange Tower Bridge Hotel
Grange Tower Bridge Hotel
#219 of 1,067 in London
3,580 reviews
Whitechapel
Premier Inn London City (Aldgate) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marlyn Lodge - Serviced Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marlyn Lodge - Serviced Apartments

Property: Marlyn Lodge - Serviced Apartments
Address: Marlyn Lodge 2 Portsoken Street, London E1 8RB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Whitechapel , East End / East London
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 843 Specialty Lodging in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The apartments are designed to cater for the needs of people visiting London either on vacation, business or residential use. The accommodation includes spacious studio apartments and one bedroom suites. Facilities include WiFi broadband, direct dial telephone and room safe. The apartments offer a cost effective and pleasant alternative to hotels and give the visitor somewhere to live as opposed to simply staying in a hotel room. We also provide the accommodation to both large and small companies and because of the level of repeat business we receive we believe we fulfil the needs of the business visitor to London as well. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Marlyn Lodge - Serviced Apartments London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing