We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice place but disappointing food”

Muriel's Kitchen - South Kensington
Ranked #809 of 23,211 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $19
Cuisines: British, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Neighborhood: South Kensington
Description: The dishes at Muriel's are inspired by the hearty cooking of our mothers and grandmothers and have been developed by our clever chefs to create British classics with a modern twist. Our South Kensington Kitchen is crammed with character- seating is available on A-frame benches, along the window benches and at tables and chairs in the centre of the restaurant. We offer Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Dinner and everything in-between! Open 8am till Late everyday.
Reviewed June 26, 2014

We went here for dinner last week and the place looked really nice. Service was good too, very nice waitress. We ordered a fish pie and harissa chicken, both very disappointing. The fish pie was bland and the Chicken was dry and came with an ok yogurt sauce and a super salty cucumber salsa. Nothing special and a bit disappointing.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MimiGabino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muriel'sKitchen K, Guest Relations Manager at Muriel's Kitchen - South Kensington, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2014

Dear MimiGabino,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We are sorry to hear that you didn't experience the high standards of service we aim to achieve & would like to let you know that our management team are looking into the issues you have highlighted. We do hope you will come back to give us another try in the future.

Best regards,

MK

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,237)
There are newer reviews for Muriel's Kitchen - South Kensington
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

701 - 705 of 1,239 reviews

Reviewed June 26, 2014

This kitchen was right across from our hotel and was very convenient for us to catch a bite to start out our day. Very helpful staff and fast service, the food always arrived pipping hot and tasty. Try their yougart, granola, and jam parfait, as it is out of this world delicious and very filling. Their Eggs Benedict and Eggs Florentine was very good also!

Thank Nanci I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muriel'sKitchen K, Guest Relations Manager at Muriel's Kitchen - South Kensington, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2014

Dear Nanci I,

Many thanks for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your experience with us and we hope to see you back soon!

Best,

MK

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2014

This was an accidental discovery. Wandering the area and got hungry. Saw Muriel's and decided to give it a try. We were seated right away. Menu had lots of good selections and they were seasonal. Food was delicious, presented nicely and perfectly cooked. Table near us had 3 children under 12 and they all enjoyed their meals eating every bite. Recommend this restaurant and will definitely visit on my next trip to England.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank rhodabow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muriel'sKitchen K, Guest Relations Manager at Muriel's Kitchen - South Kensington, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2014

Dear rhodabow,

Many thanks for your feedback. We're glad you enjoyed our food and we hope to see you again soon!

MK

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2014

We both had an excellent meal at Muriels. We had fresh pear juice which was very good. We each had salmon and we shared a side of wedge potatoes and broccoli. All the food was excellent and it all blended perfectly. We were very impressed with the food, made with care. Service was friendly and efficient.

Desserts looked beautiful. A young lady across from us had a beautiful ooking chocolate cake that really ooked delicious.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muriel'sKitchen K, Guest Relations Manager at Muriel's Kitchen - South Kensington, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2014

Dear Steve B,

Many thanks for your review. It's very nice to hear we're doing a good job!
Hope to see you back very soon.

MK

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2014

Handy for the tube and really nice attentive staff. Prices pretty good and the coffee was excellent. I will be back and soon. Especially as it is very handy for l'institut français.

Thank PadiP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muriel'sKitchen K, Guest Relations Manager at Muriel's Kitchen - South Kensington, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2014

Dear PadiP,

Many thanks for your feedback. We hope to see you back soon!

Best regards,

MK

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Muriel's Kitchen - South Kensington also viewed

 

Been to Muriel's Kitchen - South Kensington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing