We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It has to be Lobster”

Burger & Lobster - Mayfair
Ranked #256 of 22,375 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $51
Cuisines: American, Seafood, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Special occasions, Kids, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Mayfair
Luton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“It has to be Lobster”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2014

Looking for a lunch place in Mayfair on the 'net the night before, I found the Burger and Lobster in Clarges St. Intrigued, I thought I'd give it a go. At 13:30 it was busy but found a seat at the bar. The menu is . . . burger or lobster, so it had to be lobster. Service was quick, the lobster with fries and salad was very good. Not sure I would want to pay £20 for a burger but it did look good. A not particularly large glass of Sauvignon Blanc was an eye watering £8! Sparkling water was free. Pleasant, chatty staff. A £5 service charge for sitting at the bar?? Really? I meekly paid and left. I will go back but wouldn't order any wine.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank vintageATCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,567 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    807
    542
    137
    34
    47
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cumbria
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great Experience and Great Night”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2014

Had a night out with friends a few days ago and would thoroughly recommend it. Burger or Lobster is the menu and my wife and I went half and half lobster cooked to perfection and a fantastic burger. You cannot book and we were told we would have to wait an hour and a half but they took our mobile number, we went around the corner for a drink and they called us within the hour to say our table was ready. Service was excellent, Atmosphere buzzing and great food.
I'll be back>>

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank holidaytomCumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Go Lobster”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

I had the burger which admittedly was great but not markedly more so than you'll find elsewhere in London... for less... so go lobster, which was delicious.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Ed M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk
Level Contributor
145 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“We were really pleased to stumble upon it...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2014

We were staying in Mayfair and had it in mind to find lunch. Thank goodness we walked past the faceless chain and stumbled up on long queue at five to midday. Burger and Lobster.

Seemed popular and we did read about it a few months ago, so we joined the wait. It wasn't long

12.00 - doors open
12.03 - seated and welcomed, menu
12.06 - ALL tables full and a small queue inside (empty to buzzing in 6 mins!)
12.10 - our meal arrives
12.40 - paid bill and left

Now I hate being rushed but it was plenty. We have a super tasty meal, super efficient staff (off course, time is money) and we were quite happy.

I had the burger (an excellent juicy, tasty, high quality burger) and my wife had the lobster roll. There are only three choices, it works. If you don't like burgers or lobster find somewhere else. Of course the lobster is the best value but wow, fabulous burger.

Good drinks choice, funky beers, soft drinks and wine. What is there not to like. We were really pleased to stumble upon it...

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Chissywizzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
challenger08
Level Contributor
192 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“What it says on the tin”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2014

Thoroughly enjoyed this experience. A busy Saturday and took a chance to see if we could get a table - told by the receptionist a table for 2 would be about a 1 hour wait (you can't book a table here). She helpfully suggested either a walk in nearby Green Park, or a drink in one of the pubs/bars in Shepherds Market - a 2 minute walk around the corner. hey took my mobile number and said they would phone in about an hour - they did.

Burger and Lobster does exactly what it says on the tin - a menu of three things: burger, lobster roll, or lobster. Good quality and interesting cocktails. Service is fast, efficient, friendly. Prices really good. Quality of the food was excellent - between the two of us we had a burger, a lobster roll and a small lobster. All served with delicious fries and salad. The lobster I was served (10 oz) was amongst the most enjoyable burgers I can recall - succulent, tasty, large. Enjoyed every bite. Equally the lobster roll - served on a lightly toasted brioche - was rated dry highly by my wife. We both enjoy the lobster which was served with a delicious garlic butter sauce.

We really like the overall vibe here - it was a busy, bustling Saturday but this just added to a pleasant buzzing atmosphere. Great place with great staff and great food.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank challenger08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Burger & Lobster - Mayfair also viewed

 

Been to Burger & Lobster - Mayfair? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing