We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tasty traditional Cantonese food, large portions, good value”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Reindeer Cafe

Reindeer Cafe
Ranked #9,077 of 22,375 Restaurants in London
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
London England
Level Contributor
290 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
“Tasty traditional Cantonese food, large portions, good value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

We tried four dishes this weekend - the Fried Noodles with Beef and black bean sauce, Mixed meat/seafood with ho fun rice noodles, Pe Pa Tofu, and Special Fried Rice.
All were very good, with generous amounts of meat / seafood; most of the noodles and rice dishes are around £6.50 each with the tofu dish at £9. Other main courses on the menu were £8 to £10 on average.
This small restaurant is generally very busy with mostly Chinese customers from the Wing Yip supermarket which is in the same building. The free car park is very convenient, and its just off the Staples Corner roundabout diagonally opposite Brent Cross on the north circular rd.
A very good value and recommended local Chinese with a great menu choice.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GaryWong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    29
    11
    4
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“More than just a cafe!!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

Came across this before and this place is always busy with people queuing outside, and even with different customers sharing the same table during very busy period!! I thought I must give this place a go and strategically came early for a Sunday lunch with the family. We arrived at 11.30am, the cafe is already half full mainly Chinese which is always a good sign. The cafe did get very busy around 12pm hence our decision to come early is good and would recommend.

The menu has a good selection with traditional noodle and rice dishes catering for all taste. Chinese cakes and buns were freshly made on the premises. Despite calling this a cafe, it really is more than a restaurant within the complex of Wing Yip (Staple Corner).

Five of us ordered Ho Fun (flat Chinese rice noodle) with beef in chili black bean sauce, roast duck and crispy pork belly with rice, fried crispy noodle with mixed meat and veg, and oven cooked pork fillet with egg fried rice - all served with chinese tea.

All the dishes were exceptionally good, the service is not rushed even during busy period. I also like the fact that no service charge is automatically added. Overall very good value (bill came to £31 all in).

Any negatives: Not really, but if you do need the toilet, I believe you have to use the adjoining restaurant which I think is part of the Wip Yip group. The car park is free but can get very busy as there is another restaurant and a supermarket on the site, So come early.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ChingC319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Authentic chinese food for good value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

We go here regularly for lunch, the food is tasty and good value for the price (dishes range from 6-8 pounds). I would recommend the duck or pork bbq meat (you can have upto 3 different meats) with rice and they also put a tiny amount of vegetables and plenty of rice. Drinks wise we usually try the Mango or Melon drinks with them black bean things. Their bakery in the front have a choice of really nice sweet stuff, including mango pudding and cheesecake

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Thusha4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee-on-the-Solent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“True authentic Chinese fast food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

This place is very authentic, from the food, to the service, right down to the fact that you can't book and you will have to share your table with strangers if they are that busy!
This is a real Chinese fast food cafe, so expect noodles, roast meats (hanging at the window) and rice. Fast service from over-worked staff, but reasonably efficient.
The roast meats are generally of a high standard, as the turn-over is so high that fresh meat is constantly coming out of the kitchen. The roast duck and char sui in particular are very good, although the roast pork was not very crispy on our last visit.
The wonton noodles are good, with a good quality soup and tasty wontons, and the singapore noodles were excellent. Also recommended is the congee.
Not the cheapest, but good quality food. Go for a quick lunch, don't go for an intimate dinner for two...!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wozzaaah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
189 reviews
170 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
“First clas Chinese Cafe / Canteen”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

Chinese food for Chinese folk in a Chinese supermarket is going to be authentic and this is. Reasonable prices but not cheap infact the restaurant on the otherwise of the building is the same price but much more comfy but this is just fast and right and perfect for a drop in eat and pop out . The staff are always on it . Plenty of scope to experiment with offal and seafood and other interesting dishes you won't really find out of Chinatown or a few top end places around the UK. Can get crazy busy and staff like to get table sharing going on at peak times so I tend to pass by mid week and not 1 till 2 . Good food here

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank filmlocationhound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Reindeer Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Reindeer Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing