We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Briges the gap between a hotel and self-catering”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Staybridge Suites London-Stratford City
Ranked #32 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Herts
Level Contributor
103 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Briges the gap between a hotel and self-catering”
Reviewed September 28, 2012

I stayed here for 12 nights while working at the Paralympics. The staff were welcoming, friendly and helpful throughout. I had a studio room - bedroom, bathroom and kitchen - with a great view of the Olympic Park. One of the real plus factors is that the hotel is very new so everything feels clean and fresh.
While there is no room service or restaurant there are numerous restaurants in the Westfield centre and crockery and cutlery is provided in the kitchen if you wanted a snack in your room, or even to cook a meal. There is a supermarket in Westfield.
On the 12th floor of the hotel is a fantastic patio/balcony with views over London and the Olympic Park, along with a lounge and a den with board games provided if needed.
The hotel does serve breakfast in the lounge daily but this was the one drawback. The choice of a cooked breakfast was limited and I gave up on the scrambled eggs after day one as they tasted like powdered eggs. The croissants were also good some days and dry on others. And the coffee - from a machine - was awful. Practicaly undrinkable.
I paid a premium rate during the Games but if you want a cheaper option to stay in London - but with bigger and more luxurious rooms than you would get for that price in central london - this is great. And the transport links into St.Pancras or on the underground are fantastic.

Room Tip: The higher - the better the views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank vikki0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne A, General Manager at Staybridge Suites London-Stratford City, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Dear Vikki,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel; the team and I are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and had time to enjoy the selection of restaurants that Westfield offers.

We are of course disappointed that you did not enjoy our breakfast offering as much as we would perhaps hope you would. This seems to be an area that splits opinion - Some guests enjoy the complimentary offering laid out and served in the informal way that it is and others simply do not.

I can however assure you that the egg is absolutely NOT powdered and that all of the pastries we serve are cooked fresh daily - I am sorry that you did not enjoy the quality offered - I will pass this onto our ladies in the kitchen who I am confident will look at options

I am also sorry that you did not like the coffee we serve. The beans we use are a very high grade dark Italian roast, which a lot of coffee drinkers appreciate; however, I will definitely look at sourcing a milder option for one of the machines to ensure that we cater for all tastes

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we all hope to welcome you back to a Staybridge again in the very near future.

Sincerely,

Wayne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    964
    232
    44
    7
    1
See reviews for
228
457
74
327
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (333)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level Contributor
62 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Very nice hotel with great staff. Wish it was closer to central london-takes a good 25 minutes on the tube.
Beds are not comfy-kind of like sleeping on a box of rocks-but otherwise the stay was nice, good price and very. Clean safe hotel.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank LEJQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne A, General Manager at Staybridge Suites London-Stratford City, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel; the team and I appreciate all feed back.

We can understand why you might prefer the hotel to be closer to Central London; however, we do think that where we are located offers up some excellent advantages:
1 - Because of the Olympics, Stratford now enjoys excellent transportation links to all areas of London, including Central, the City and of course Canary Wharf.
2 - The 'Neighbourhood' is fantastic - right in the heart of Europe’s largest shopping mall, with over 65 bars, restaurants and eateries all on your door step!
3 - We are also able to keep our rates slightly lower than the hotels that operate in more central, expensive locations.

I am very disappointed that you did not like our mattresses. We spent a huge amount of money on our beds, purchasing top of the range Hypnos products, which we have had some very favourable feedback on. We will be seeking out further guest feedback to ensure that we get the right product.

We all hope to welcome you to a Staybridge again in the very near future.

Sincerely,

Wayne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

The recently opened Staybridge Suites are a real gem, both for the business-traveller as for families. Their hospitality is much more than can be expected. To the point, outgoing, friendly. Rooms, including a small kitchen, are great for a longer stay, to do some work and to feel 'at home'. It's well situated on top of a great shopping mall, and very near tube and railway-station. It's all well designed and thought of. The best of all: the balcony near the breakfast-room. A really splendid view over east-London, the City and the Olympic Park. Do go there!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JaapMeindersma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights from 22 to 24 September. Booked a studio and was upgraded to a one bedroom apartment. Excellent value for money (GBP90++ a night, incl breakfast). Location is alright, a bit hard for my taxi to find (your car need to go into carpark B, mine went to the wrong one), a bit out of the way but above a huge shopping mall with lots of restaurants and shops. Very good if you are using London City Airport.

What makes it special apart from the price is the little extra here and there. Here are some examples: the staff are friendly and helpful, will go out of their way to ensure you have a pleasant stay. Complementary breakfast, you can bring the tray from your apartment to the breakfast and take them back to your room. Free wifi, enough to check emails etc but if you need a faster connection, it will cost GBP7 per 24 hours which is cheap compare to other London hotels I stayed.

A few negative points: my key card seems to have problem operating the lifts. Need to change the card 2 times before it works (Nicolai from reception has been extremely helpful). Fire alarm also went off on Monday morning twice, with no prior warning (just a couple of seconds each time). You cannot get from hotel to taxi without carrying your luggage through a flight of elevators and when you left the hotel building to the elevators, that area is uncovered (it was raining the day I left).

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing the Olympics Park. Mine was facing away, not much to talk about.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yptee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Villages, Florida
Level Contributor
100 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

This was our first trip to London and I really utilized the reviews on Trip Advisor to make my decision. The comments prior to mine are right on target. The entire staff here that we encountered were wonderful. Beyond friendly and always helpful and made you feel right at home. It is a bit hard to find once you exit the tube station and the first time we were hauling luggage as we came from the airport. The mall that is attached has everything you need to include a grocery store. We were tired of eating out one night and decided to get a small meal to make in the room but the prices for food in the grocery store are really no cheaper than eating out. The rooms are super quiet which I loved. But don't be fooled by a "king suite" for us Americans that means a king bed as well.... Not here the bed is a queen. The bed and bedding were very comfortable. The breakfast in the morning is a real plus and the views from there are spectacular. My only complaint is that it is a bit out of the city proper and you really need to get on a tube to do anything. Most rides averaged 20 to 30 minutes and little waiting at the stations. It's good to buy a week long pass. But it took almost an 1 1/2 hours to get here from the airport with two major switches. A pain when hauling luggage but a taxi would cost well over $130 dollars. Bottom line..must not mind riding the tube a lot to get around. We are staying near the airport for our last night as we have an early flight and don't want to mess with the trains at 0300.
Would stay here again for sure.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor, city view. Otherwise you look at the mall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VLHessel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

I stayed at Staybridge for 3 nights and it was really great. Staff very friendly and if you miss anything in your room (I had no kettle) it is solved really quick. If you want your room cleaned during weekends you can ask for it 24 hours in advance, but it was absolutely no problem for me, got some extra towels and I can make my own bed... Kitchen is the big plus for the suites, complete with dishwasher. Bed very comfortable, really comfortable chair (seems a small detail, but I loved the big chair). The walk-inn shower also very good, did not miss the bath. And it's clean. So nothing to comment on the rooms and staff, very positive!
The only downside is the area it's in, good transport but Central Line can be very busy. Shopping center is of course a great advantage (very good supermarket on the lower ground floor, Waitrose) but there were quite some construction works going on, starting at 7 in the morning, even on Sunday. And opposite my room was a casino with outside terrace with heating, very busy until 3 in the morning. After the first night I bought some earplugs.
Conclusion: I loved the Staybridge Suites, will definitely be back, but with my earplugs.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cootje68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 215 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

My 2 daughters and I booked a one night stay to do some shopping at Westfield. Upon arrival we were upgraded to a one bedroom suite. The suite was large with a kitchenette, a huge bathroom,living area and a king bed in the bedroom.

Views from the hotel were amazing from the 12th floor balcony. As well as seeing the London skyline, Canary Wharf and The Olympic Stadium we could also see Alexander Palace in the distance.

Breakfast was very good with plenty of choice and it set us up for a days shopping.

Staff at reception were particularly helpful especially Rawal. Would thoroughly recommend this hotel for its lovely atmosphere,views, close to shopping and stunning rooms. Will definately be back!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WelshLorna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Westbridge Hotel
#102 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,331 reviews
The Hide London
#62 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 927 reviews
South Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
#58 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Staybridge Suites London-Stratford City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Staybridge Suites London-Stratford City

Property: Staybridge Suites London-Stratford City
Address: 10B Chestnut Plaza | Westfield-Stratford City, London E20 1GL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in London
#32 Luxury Hotel in London
#47 Family Hotel in London
#91 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Staybridge Suites London-Stratford City 4*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Choose a relaxing home-from-home at Staybridge Suites London Stratford hotel, located in the Westfield Stratford City Shopping Centre and just a 5 minute walk from the 2012 Olympic Village.From the minute you step inside the bright, welcoming Lobby of Staybridge Suites London Stratford, you'll feel at home. Unwind by the contemporary fireplace in the Lounge or head to your smart Studio or 1-bedroom Suite. You'll find complimentary wireless Internet throughout.Staybridge Suites London Stratford is in the heart of Europe's largest shopping centre and is one of the onsite hotels for the 2012 Olympic Village. With only a 200 metre walk from Stratford Tube, Railway and DLR Stations, you are within minutes from London City, Canary Wharf, the O2 Arena and the ExCel Exhibition and Conference Centre.Most of Stratford's most exciting bars and restaurants are literally on your doorstep, but if you fancy a night in, the fully equipped kitchen in your Suite makes it easy to cook your own dinner. You'll find all the groceries you need at our 24-hour Pantry. Complimentary breakfast is served in our Hub Kitchen, while guests can network or mingle over complimentary drinks and snacks at our evening reception, held Tue-Thu. Guests can make use of our complimentary laundry room.After a long day, you can energize in the Fitness Centre or meet in the Den meeting room. Ask our team members about exploring the city of London, a few tube stops from home ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Staybridge Suites London-Stratford City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Staybridge Suites London-Stratford City England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing