We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awful!!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wedgewood Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Wedgewood Hotel
Ranked #952 of 1,089 Hotels in London
2 reviews
“Awful!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012 via mobile

Really bad service really bad room and bed !!! Do not stay here !!! We have now stayed on a few budget hotels in London and this was the pits compared to any other !! The lady at reception was no help and argued with us bad breakfast dirty room and alotho we expected small this was a broom cupboard ! After traviling the world on a budget this was the worst room yet!!!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Saramctall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

675 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    113
    205
    136
    194
See reviews for
146
223
36
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

We were looking for a reasonably priced hotel for 4 of us to share for 2 nights. We found the Wedgwood hotel after looking on travel sites and there was a 4 bed room advertised. When we arrived the receptionist seemed more interested in continuing her personal phone call than attending to us. Upon entering our 'quad' room, we discovered 2 beds which we supposedly doubles but were tiny. None of us were couples and luckily one of our party could no longer attend but the room was not what we had paid for. We complained to the reception again who seemed less than interested and assumed us it was a quad room. I told her the advertised room had 4 single beds and that's what we had paid for but she was adament they had no such rooms and no rooms had 4 single beds. We went back to the room and looked on the website and found the page that stated that the room should have 4 beds. Upon showing this to the receptionist she was less than impressed. We asked to move rooms and she said we could move the next day.
The bathroom was a cupboard converted into a shower room and you had to pay a deposit for the tv remote. The rooms are in serious need of re-decoration, breakfast leaves much to be desired, and the beds need to be replaced with something that doesn't feel like a camp bed.
Overall very disappointed.

Room Tip: Phone and tell them how many will be sleeping in the room and what sort of beds you want. If they ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 00sarahlouise00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these London hotels

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2012 via mobile

Just spent 3 nights here, work 2 adults and 2 children first impression when we walked throught the door was how dirty and in need of decorating, the room is serious need of an update , we stayed in room number 1 , which is on the ground floor at the back, we paid 279, English pounds, which should have provided a much higher standard of room, I don't care about other reviews or peoples views that you get what you pay for, we could have stayed in a travelodge or similar for a much higher standard and 279 pound is a lot of money regardless of what city you stay in, In the room are two double beds, a tv that you had to pay a ten pound deposit to obtain the remote control, a kettle that you struggle to put water in as it doesn't fit under the tap correctly, I have stayed in hotels in London and all around the UK before and this has to be up there with the worst,

There are many hotels in London with a much higher standard than this,

Helpful?
1 Thank wilko1664
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

Everything as miniature in this hotel; the room, the bathroom, the beds, the corridors... which is sometimes quite normal for London and can be (kind of) excused. What bothered me most with this place is:

1. Not the cleanest
2. Beds SUPER uncomfortable (more like springs with a bed sheet than any real mattress)
3. Horrible breakfast - paper/toast, butter, one type of jam, soluble coffee, NO tea... :o/

On the bright side it's on a quiet street and the location's good as it's in walking distance (5-10 mins) from Hyde Park/Notting Hill.

Do I recommend? No, I have definitely stayed in better places in London where you really get value for your money.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mina050181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innsbruck, Austria
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

The room was pretty small but very clean and cosey and the location great!! The breakfast didn't offer plenty of choice (cornflakes, toast, jam, orange juice, milk, coffee and tea) but it was good all in all. The hotel is perfect for a few days in London and

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Claudia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
106 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2012

We got a room at the basement, it's colder down there and only had a small window. It's quite roomy and clean, with basic facilities such as coffee-maker and a safe.

The buffet breakfast was minimal but filling- with toasts, cornflakes, orange juice and tea.

It's abt 5-min walk from Bayswater station. Not a bad location.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank guneingdoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2012

I stayed for a couple of nights at this place and I can say this:
* the location is great, pretty close to Hyde Park and a couple of tube stations that can take you to the city centre in a short time
* my room and bathroom were pretty fine and I think were pretty good for the money and location
* friendly staff at the reception
* the only bad thing was the noises the floors make in the hallway, I was afraid of not waking anyone up late at night; also the elevator was small and dirty

I guess this can depend on your luck, I felt I was pretty lucky with my room and my experience.

Room Tip: I had a pretty fine room at the 4th floor, with a decent window view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AndreiBuc112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Notting Hill
Garden Court Hotel
Garden Court Hotel
#593 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
South Kensington
Westbury Hotel Kensington
Westbury Hotel Kensington
#754 of 1,089 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
Hotel 65
#782 of 1,089 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kensington and Hyde Park
Kensington West Hotel
Kensington West Hotel
#733 of 1,089 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
Notting Hill
The Royale Chulan Hyde Park Hotel London
Shakespeare Hotel
#619 of 1,089 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wedgewood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wedgewood Hotel

Property: Wedgewood Hotel
Address: 49-51 Leinster Square | Bayswater, Westminster, London W2 4PU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Notting Hill
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #952 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wedgewood Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of Bayswater, 15 miles to Heathrow Intl Airport; beautifully appointed guest rooms that are clean & comfortable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, LateRooms, Hotel.de, HRS, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Wedgewood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wedgewood Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing