We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never stay here, avoid it like the plague. I would be embarrassed if I owned this hotel it is a disgrace.”
Review of Wedgewood Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Wedgewood Hotel
Ranked #943 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Reviewed May 18, 2012 via mobile

Worst hotel in the world, I work in London Monday to Friday And so require hotel accommodation we finished work late so decided to stay here as it was one of the only places left, we arrived to find the hotel in a good touristy area so we assumed it would have to be up to a certain standard but how wrong we were it was disgusting if I could give one piece of advice in my life it would be to never stay here. There are stains everywhere even in unimaginable places the bathroom is in a cupboard hidden in the corner.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Benjannikid92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (717)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

182 - 188 of 717 reviews

Reviewed May 4, 2012

NEVER AGAIN will i stay in this awful horrible hell hole. the reasons follow:
1) Previous reviews state its cheap, and you get what you pay for, fact is, its not that cheap and if you shop around you can find far better accomodation for not much more money.
2) Previous reviews state that the reception staff arent friendly. Thats not true, they are damn rite rude, unhelpfull and quite frankly need to be fired.
3) Previous reviews state the rooms are filthy, thats not true, they are a disgrace, dusty, smelly and beds thats fold up.
4) Previous reviews state the breakfast was just toast and jam, thats not true, they supply stale bread and jam,
5) Previous reviews state the windows were dirty, thats not true, they are wafer thin, and had a fashionable tint to them caused by dirt.
6) Previous reviews state they got no sleep because of the noise, thats one thing that is very much true. due to the windows being so thin, every car that drives past you can hear, also the road is unpredicably busy...all nite, plus the hotel books huge partys of 20+ people in but dont book them in untill late night, and due to the terrible staff, dont expect help from them. i recommend you take ear plugs.
7) 10 pounds deposit for a remote control...refunded when its returned... god knows why? as if id want to steal a momento of this horrible experience.

There is a positive..
1) the shower was powerfull.(but dirty)

FAO ALL POTENTIAL GUESTS.
read this review and every one prior and dont stay here.

FAO WEDGEWOOD HOTEL.
call 0800 150 650 its a local business to me called JCB. hire one, knock the place down and start again it'll be cheaper.

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RelleAde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2012

This hotel is scamming people. The pictures and write-up are misleading as the rooms are in poor condition with unsatisfactory linens even by youth hostile standards. I was significantly overcharged for my room at L175 pounds per night for a filthy room with old worn out bedding where the room window was left open to a puddle of water filled with cigarette butts. Not only that, the hotel did not advertise that they are currently under construction. The construction was going on right next to my room, which I recorded with my phone as it sounded like they were coming through the wall. When I complained, management said they would be done in 3 hours. I left the room never having checked in and was charged L225 pounds for a cancellation. I went around the corner and found a hotel called Vancouver Studios which charged L90 pounds for a room that was clean, had a kitchenette, refridgerator and was immaculate. The Wedgewood should be charged with price gauging and false advertising. I am currently disputing my charge for the L225 pound cancellation fee with my bank. The desk attendant told me I was under contract and they have every right to charge me. She didnt even try to understand. I told them they were under a breach of contract because they did not advertise they were under construction. BAD HOTEL!!!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Thomas F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2012

the hotel is you get what you pay for. there is 1 lift which is very small only 4 people (thin) can fit in it. our room was very basic and for the money we paid we did not mind that it was basic we was right next to lift but could not really hear it but we could hear the doors opening and closing. at night time we could hear what i think was the water tank filling up everytime someone used the water so this kept us awake most of the night, as well as the fan from the downstairs room. on the second day we got up for a shower and the water pressure was low and not much hot water and on our last day we had a drip of a shower. After ourfirst night we went out for the day and left quiet a bit of change on the side and when we came back house cleaning had been and the money had gone. the following day we left a few pence which they did not tuch. would not saty here again

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ajm3103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2012

I stayed there for a week. If you want true quality at average price – this is right choice. First you could benefit from convenient location – 15 min work from Paddington, 5 min to Bayswater metro station (central line), up 10 min to Kensington gardens. Even more there is a bus N23 that takes you directly to Oxford street and St. Pall.

The room is small but acceptably clean. Breakfast is rather poor but you could bring some more with you. Very noisy at the weekends

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vilen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2012

The location of the hotel is great, just a few minutes from Bayswater "central".
It's a small hotel, and it might look a bit dodgy when entering. Our room was in the basement, right opposite of the Breakfast Room.
Although the hallway looked a bit run-down, the room was truly a surprise! It looked new and clean. A few cracked floorboards, but it didn't bother us. It was a bit stuffed when we first entered, but we just turned on the bathroom-fan and the air was clear in a couple of minutes.
Great location, basic room - would recommend for travellers who'd like something cheap and do not plan to spend their vacation in their room.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maria S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 29, 2012

Staff are efficient but can't be called friendly. I got a twin bedded 4th floor room which measured around 2.5m by 4m, with 3" beds (900mm). Colour TV with remote, tea and coffee making facilities, with a shower that emits a dribble of water. Room is budget so lots of stains etc and the bed has more lumps than the surface of the moon - this is my third night and yet to sleep good although very quiet street outside. Each floor plank has its own squeak and the door sounds like something from a gothic horror movie. Breakfast can be eaten from 7am and it is simple fare of cereal, toast, plus tea / coffee. Can be recommended for cheap no frills bed but that's it.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grapet01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Notting Hill
Garden Court Hotel
Garden Court Hotel
#616 of 1,076 in London
466 reviews
Notting Hill
The Royale Chulan Hyde Park Hotel London
Caring Hotel
#546 of 1,076 in London
796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kensington and Hyde Park
Kensington West Hotel
Kensington West Hotel
#746 of 1,076 in London
459 reviews
Notting Hill
Reem Hotel
Reem Hotel
#606 of 1,076 in London
722 reviews
Notting Hill
Notting Hill Gate Hotel
Notting Hill Gate Hotel
#814 of 1,076 in London
500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wedgewood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wedgewood Hotel

Address: 49-51 Leinster Square | Bayswater, Westminster, London W2 4PU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Notting Hill
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #943 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Price Range: $69 - $159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wedgewood Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of Bayswater, 15 miles to Heathrow Intl Airport; beautifully appointed guest rooms that are clean & comfortable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Expedia, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wedgewood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wedgewood Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing