We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This hotel is terrible.”
Review of Swinton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Swinton Hotel
Ranked #928 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Reviewed December 14, 2013

I stayed here because the price is pretty good and the location of the hotel is close to Kings Cross - A decision I am regretting after managing about an hours sleep due to the abysmal sound proofing in the room I am in, the window may as well have been wide open for all of the traffic noise it stopped.

Aside from that, the room is small (expected), the floor is at an angle (unexpected!) and the shower is cold. The ONLY plus point is that the wifi is free. This is the ONLY plus point.

If you want a clean, quiet and comfortable room with a nice hot shower in the morning - DON'T stay here.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank b0redj0rd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (505)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

198 - 204 of 505 reviews

Reviewed December 3, 2013

This is a budget hotel in a very expensive part of England so don't expect a lot. if you don't, then there is really nothing to complain about. it's a small comfortable bed, warm shower and free wifi (something other budget hotels make you pay for. the room is very small but that's what can be expected in London. The staff were friendly and helpful. i actually arrived two hours early and my room was available. you do have to pay at arrival. of course you can go to the north of England and get a four star hotel for less but if you have to be in London then it's not too bad. it's clean and not as loud as others reviewers claim. it's kings cross anyway so some noise will be there. breakfast is your average continental but included in room rate. basically expect crap and you won't be too disappointed.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amanda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2013

Based on my one night experience in this hotel, I think I can clearly mark my bottom line of hotel services (in Europe). The group of 8 of us had booked 6 rooms in this hotel for one night. First sign that something is wrong is when they declare payment to be done in full amount before you enter the room. And when you enter the room you find:

Room size: 4 m2
Toilet: 1,5 m2 - no hot water!
floor of the room: tilted by 4 degrees

Beside two young persons from Romania, who were very nice and friendly (boy at the reception, girl - in the kitchen), the old fart at the reception in the morning was clearly ready to demonstrate that you can end up fighting early in the morning for no reason.
It is shame for all hotel industry and I really don't know how they got the license to operate as hotel

P.S. Under no, NO REASON, do not book "4 star taxi service" offered by the hotel. The two crook drivers (we ordered two taxis) will make all their best to steal your money.

Room Tip: Avoid this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MKDMilan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2013

We booked 3 rooms on the lateroom.com website for this hotel for business purposes.
On arrival one of my guest checked in to his room, only to find that the room was deffinately not as advertised on the website - there was a strong smell of sewage/toilet in the room, on checking around the room the carpets were all worn and marked, the hall way and other rooms were also in the same state! the other 2 guests arrived and didn't even get past reception as the appearance of this hotel is nothing like the pictures advertised. All 3 guests went and stayed at the Travelodge for less money. One of my guests was told by the gentlemen behind the reception desk what do you expect for £79.00 it's only a 2 star, it's overpriced mate!!! OMG...
The staff at this hotel are the most unpleasant and unhelpful...They do not like you to complain, they will not deal with your complaint... IF I was you .... Stay somewhere else...

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side are quieter" •"Corner suites are large and sunny" •"...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Louise H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Hi Folks
I have just been to this hotel for sevent nights. I was kind of unsure what I would expect after reading reviews by other people. But I must say that the Hotel was quite decent. Rooms are a bit small but clean. New towels everyday. The hotel is really about five minutes walk (or less) to King's cross station but when you leave the hotel you should turn left then left and keep on walking. If you turn right when you leave the hotel, then it will take more time to reach King's cross. There are a lot of different restaurants nearby where you can eat at a decent price. People at the reception (I've met 6 of them), most of them have been very very nice unlike what people said about them. If I go back to London, then this hotel will be in my list of hotels to go to. Finally, if you turn right when leaving the hotel then you find a htel called "T**e": It is about £75 a night and some of the rooms (believe or not) arejust without windows!! Mohammed Hichem Mortad.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mohammed Hichem M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2013

We had to book a hotel in quite short notice, and this one was the only one we found that had wi-fi, was in a decent location, and breakfast that was less than £100 a night. Even Travelodge and Premier Inn were far more expensive. So, what do you get for £84 a night?

In comparison with other hotels we stayed in - not a lot. Seeing as those hotels were not in London though then you get to see how expensive staying in the capital really is. It's a 2-star hotel (if you're expecting more, then there's plenty of choice in Mayfair) which means it's a base for the night. The hotel is a based in a row of Georgian terraces (occupying about 3 knocked into one). If you're out on business, look elsewhere as the rooms are small with no desk to work on (though wi-fi is free with no restrictions, unlike Premier Inn for instance). If you have a mobility disability then this hotel is definitely not suitable as even though there's a (narrow) lift, the amount of stairs to get to it, plus the narrow corridors would make using a wheelchair impossible.

There's no frills like a pool or a bar either. There are pubs all over London for a drink. The only other extra you get is breakfast (which is toast, tea or coffee and a selection of cheese, ham and croissants or rolls and cereal).

There was a slight smell in the bathroom in our room, but I couldn't put my finger on what it was. It wasn't a musky damp smell but may be something to do with the local water quality? I'll admit being from Birmingham I'm spoilt with the superb quality of our water! Another negative point is the windows - whether the hotel is constrained by planning regulations meaning they can't replace the frames (even though they are draughty) is one thing, though they could replace the cracked glass (especially the one in the breakfast room as that's easier to get to than the third floor room we were on).

The staff were friendly and tried their best to make the place feel homely. The bed was comfortable and wi-fi reliable. What more do you need from a base to sightsee? Or a quick in-and-out to see a show like what we did?

Room Tip: A rear facing room is quieter. Book direct to save money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy2510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Awful hotel, paid highest price for a double room with ensuite - did not get this they gave us a wet room which was horrid. We asked for a refund for the difference in which they said yes, next day before we left asked for refund they said no they refused! The room was awful, plug sockets half hanging off, bedside lamp had no plug just bare wires, stagnant tap water in the complimentary bottle! Dirty, dusty unkept and rude staff. A lot of money for a horrible place. Do not go!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Reesy_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Wardonia Hotel
Wardonia Hotel
#588 of 1,077 in London
1,002 reviews
Clerkenwell
Travelodge London Kings Cross Royal Scot
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Point A Hotel, London Kings Cross St Pancras
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Crestfield Hotel
Crestfield Hotel
#553 of 1,077 in London
940 reviews
Clerkenwell
LSE Rosebery Hall Residence
LSE Rosebery Hall Residence
#685 of 1,077 in London
176 reviews
Bloomsbury
Alhambra Hotel
Alhambra Hotel
#274 of 1,077 in London
2,040 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swinton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swinton Hotel

Address: 18-24 Swinton Street, London WC1X 9NX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #928 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Price Range: $66 - $159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Swinton Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Swinton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swinton Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing