We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“loved it”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grange Portland Hotel
Ranked #601 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
england
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“loved it”
Reviewed April 17, 2007

we stayed at the Portland and had a superb room with small garden , found the staff very helpful, huge room very clean and fantastic location, only 10 minutes from theatre land, paid £125.00 and was very impressed would deffinatley stay again with our children, breakfast fine also,, so not sure what people are moaning about,, stayed in some awful hotels, this is certainly not one of them

  • Liked — the peace and quiet in the heart of london and spacious rooms
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank lizzy66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    82
    25
    5
    7
See reviews for
21
57
20
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
55 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2007

We (a couple from Denmark and Germany) stayed at the Portland from the 22nd to the 25th march 2007. I read about the hotel before at tripadvisor and thought, that this might be a suitable hotel for us. We booked the hotel at Expedia for the normal price (around 115 English Pound = 182 EURO).

When we arrived at the Portland around 11.30 AM they told us that our room is not yet ready and we had to wait until 2 PM. They also told us that it is room no. 06 at the "lower ground floor" which means basement(!) at the Portland. I asked for the manager (the receptionist was not really able to speak English) to show me the room because I read before that these rooms are not apropriate. He showed me the room, it was dark and had low ceilings and only two little windows. I said that I would not accept the room and so he showed me another, telling me that this was the only room they had instead. It was a very (!) small room with a very (!) small bed for two persons, merely a single room. The manager told us that we had to accept this before this was the standard we booked (which was not true). It was clear to us that he was not at all interested in us.
When we got back to the reception there was another couple with a baby who had booked directly at the htel, they too should stay at the basement. There were from New York and found it total unacceptable like us.

Because we had book over Expedia we had no chance to leave the hotel so we stayed in the small room. When we got up there (at 2 PM) there were dirty towls hanging in the room. When we told this to the receptionist he looked at the towels and said: Well I will tell it to the housekeeping. As you can clearly see, they are total uninterested at the Portland.

The next morning we had breakfast (which you have to take at the Clarendon because the Portland has no Breakfastroom of its own) which
was included in our rate and costs normalely 13 English Pound for Continental Breakfast. That, too, was very poor. The second day my wife found some dark stuff in the juice dispenser, the staff reacted nearly uninterested. On Saturday and Sunday we had to wait about 10-15 minutes until we could get a table for breakfast because it was so
crowded.

Plaese note that the Portland Hotel, the Buckingham, the Clarendon and the Lancaster belong all to the same hotelbrand (Grange Hotels).
So my only advice to all readers is: Do not stay at this hotel!

  • Liked — The location is ver good.
  • Disliked — The rest.
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
16 Thank Sokkelund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamakura, Japan
Level Contributor
94 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2007

We found this gem by accident - a delayed flight meant we were stuck in London for a night and this was what the hotel desk at the airport happened to have available. We usually research our hotels thoroughly so we were expecting this one to be really bad...

WELL... it turned out to be one of the best we've ever stayed in in London... and we've tried quite a few! HUGE room (we were in room 101 so not sure what the others were like but this was monsterous for London!) with a mini-kitchen, marble bathroom floor tiles, mini-bar... and best of all, it's in the best possible location, right in the center of London.

Will be back without a doubt - finally found a reasonably priced gem in the city!

  • Liked — location, size of room
  • Disliked — not much to dislike.. except internet may not have been free of charge (?)
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank beroccstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
78 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2006

This was a last minute booking, and I chose it solely due to the reviews on TripAdvisor!

I arrived early on a Monday (about 9.30 AM) and had to wait about an hour for my room. Just enough time to grab breakfast and check e-mail at the close-by Starbucks across from the Museum!

The room was decent-sized, with a nice kitchenette (very large refrig for oversized bottled waters). The bathroom looked brand-new and had excellent fixtures and water pressure.

I had a room that looked out the back (over the gardens) and it was a lovely view.

At that point they had no A/C and they were very limited on their portable fan supply, so unfortunately I did not get any relief from the heat. But it wasn't a sweltering heat - just a little unpleasant.

The room was very clean and the furniture/bedding seemed pretty new too.

So, I cannot complain, and this is one of the hotels I will always try to stay in - as long as there's not a heatwave!!

  • Liked — Large clean room and big kitchenette.
  • Disliked — No wi-fi or broadband connection, and no A/C.
  • Tips/Secrets — Get lots of snacks and drinks for your refrig!
  • Stayed May 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jeremymmason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Illinois
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2006

We picked this hotel over others in its price range after looking at reviews on TripAdvisor. It's very clean, the rooms are large and well equipped (ours had a kitchenette with a mini-refrigerator, bar sink and microwave), and appears to have been recently renovated. The location is convenient to the British Museum, and it's a fairly short walk to the Holborn or Russell Square underground stations. The breakfast is provided at a sister hotel a couple of doors down the street, and consists of an ample buffet -- good, but unvarying.

Downsides were that our room faced Bedford Place, from which there is a lot of street noise. Rooms are available facing an interior courtyard which would be much quieter. Also, most of the staff at the front desk appeared to be trainees for whom English is a second language, and we were unable, for example, to obtain successful assistance in locating the telephone number for the church of St. Martin's in the Fields (a famous church off of Trafalgar Square). However, this was not due to lack of effort on the part of staff.

I would probably not want to stay at this hotel during hot weather, as it doesn't appear to be air conditioned. If I were able to obtain a room overlooking the courtyard, I would stay at the Portland again.

  • Liked — Clean, large room. Good location
  • Disliked — Noise from street, staff couldn't answer questions, rooms and breakfast area too hot.
  • Tips/Secrets — Ask for room facing courtyard (not street)
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Zumbido
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2006

We stayed at the Portland for 4 nights - my wife and I and our 2 pre-teen daughters. The room was huge and we had plenty of room to spare even when the girls' sleeper sofa was open. The hotel is in a very convenient neighbourhood. A couple of things I'd change: 1) No air conditioning. This was tough given the temperatures reached in London in July. 2) Breakfast is absolutely not worth what they charge for it (and you have to go across the street to a partner hotel). Otherwise friendly & helpful staff. We'd likely go ther again (not in summer due to A/C situation mentioned above).

  • Liked — room size & location
  • Disliked — no A/C and no restaurant
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank bruno68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reykjavik, Iceland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2006

We stayed for five days in July at the Portland. The hotel was quiet, comfortable and clean. But the location was why we booked it. Two mins to the British Museum, 10-15 mins to most theatres etc. For those who are interested The Dickens House Museum is also a few minutues walk away. Well worth a visit.

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HarriEl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Grange Buckingham Hotel
Grange Buckingham Hotel
#585 of 1,067 in London
158 reviews
Bloomsbury
Grange Clarendon Hotel
Grange Clarendon Hotel
#502 of 1,067 in London
526 reviews
Bloomsbury
Grange Beauchamp Hotel
Grange Beauchamp Hotel
#292 of 1,067 in London
789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Grange Blooms Hotel
Grange Blooms Hotel
#576 of 1,067 in London
306 reviews
Bloomsbury
Grange White Hall Hotel
Grange White Hall Hotel
#586 of 1,067 in London
627 reviews
Bloomsbury
Grange Lancaster Hotel
Grange Lancaster Hotel
#664 of 1,067 in London
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grange Portland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grange Portland Hotel

Property: Grange Portland Hotel
Address: 31-32 Bedford Place, London WC1B 5JH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#352 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grange Portland Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grange Portland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grange Portland Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing