We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good and efficient”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grange Portland Hotel
Ranked #605 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 16, 2014 via mobile

As a business traveler, this hotel was exactly what I needed. Clean room, close to two central underground stations. Walking distance from Oxford st(10mins walk).
They do not have a dining room so they send you to the next door hotel. About 20GBP.
For half that, I went to a near by diner...
Enjoy London it's great!!!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ryannai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nellie S, Guest Relations Manager at Grange Portland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2014

Very good to hear you enjoyed your stay and found the hotel and staff good and efficient.
Kind regards from sunny London!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (182)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

60 - 66 of 182 reviews

Reviewed April 29, 2014

This is a small hotel, and the general feel is a very upmarket Bed and Breakfast, but with the reassurance that it is part of a bigger group of hotels, and so you do not get the idiosyncrasies you can with small establishments (for good and bad). We were a part of three. The double room we had was lovely and large, but the single room less so. However, it was good that the two rooms were near each other. Despite being on the lower floor it was lovely and light and neither room was disturbed by traffic or any other noise, which could have been a concern. Nice and clean, and the all the fixtures and fittings were in good order: TV worked well with a number of channels.

The walk down to the nearby sister hotel for breakfast was a nice twist, and the breakfast was good - lots to choose from in the continental selection (although some grapefruit would have been nice!). It was a fairly small dining space so I guess it could get crowded, but everyone was seated quickly.

Staff very friendly, and they looked after our bags after we checked out. Only small gripe was there was not free wifi: not a problem on this holiday, but I do think it should be standard in this type of establishment.

Excellent location for train stations, theatre land and central attractions, so I would highly recommend here.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Historrygrrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2014

I was actually booked in the nearby Hotel Buckingham London which must be belonging to the same owner as the receptionist directed me to the Portland. There nothing really fancy about the hotel, it doesn't actually loo like a hotel but more like a nice looking residential apartment block.
The receptionist and staff were all very friendly, the room was nice with a view on the gardens. Even if the room was overlooking the street it would have been quite. There is a lovely square, called Bloomsbury Square, 3 min on foot and the Busy Holborn tube station with nice restaurant and pubs around (particularly liked the Shakespeare's Head).
So overall a nice hotel in a quite and convenient neighbourhood.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frenchfrog39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2014

A good hotel with large rooms. More hotels of the same owner in the street. Perfect for families to start your tour in London. Close to underground (200 mtr) and the hop on hop off bus stop (50 mtr) in the same street. Breakfast is good in the Clarendon hotel next door. A good restaurant (Spaghetti house) can be found in Sicilian Avenue, on your way to/from the underground (Holborn). Service of reception, concierge and other staff was very friendly. The only thing which was not good was the bar (in Clarendon hotel next door). Terrible seats and spotlights on. My tip: order a good bottle of wine (tip 2: pinot grigio) at the room service so you can enjoy before falling asleep in the beautiful room.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank Marc D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2014

In fairness, we were upgraded to a larger room (almost a junior suite) on arrival so that increased my opinion of this boutique hotel. It is a classic London hotel with helpful, friendly staff, a tasty breakfast (included in our rate), and it is clean and quaint. I know the regular rooms are small as some of our friends stayed in them. It is a great location, near Russell square, University College London, and the Holborn/Soho/Covent Garden areas. It also isn't too far to walk/run up to Regent's Park which is, in my opinion, the best large park in London. Wifi quality was mixed - my phone and computer were very fast, but my wife's computer had very slow service for some reason. It was reasonably priced; again, in fairness we had a conference rate which was probably better than the usual price. Fortunately it did not rain during our stay (hard to believe for London!), as from this hotel you have to walk outdoors to the nearby Clarendon hotel for breakfast (it is the next townhouse down).

Room Tip: We stayed in 303 which was a sort of junior suite - faces the street and was a BIT noisy given the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dee_west
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2014

I can only presume that I got upgraded on arrival. Nothing was said at check-in, but I ended up with a very large room (203) at the front of the building. The room itself was really very nice. Big bed (two singles joined together with a king-sized mattress on top). In addition, there was a separate seating area (adjacent to a rather odd kitchenette in a cupboard), a sofa and a large desk. All of this made for a very comfortable business stay.

The Portland Hotel is located in a relatively quiet side street. Even so, the single-glazed windows do little to prevent noise coming into the room. The odd car is one thing, but a procession of singing revellers between 1 AM and 2 AM was just annoying! Moreover, the lack of air conditioning meant that even on a relatively mild March night, the room got very hot. I imagine that in the height of summer this gets even worse.

The staff at the hotel we are all very good. It is rather odd having to go to breakfast at the hotel two doors down, but this is easy to get used to.

In summary, this is a nice hotel with some great rooms. As with most things, location is everything. The Portland is just steps away from Russell Square and only a short walk from Euston. If you are in this area, it is definitely worth a try.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rreece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014

Myself a friend stayed here on 28 Feb 14 after being upgraded from The Lancaster - their sister hotel. We had originally booked The Lancaster for a twin room but with a shared bathroom. When we arrived we got told we were being upgraded to The Portland hotel with our own bathroom & we were not disappointed. Smart & welcoming staff & the hotel was very smart aswell. Our room was lovely, couldn't really fault it. Bathroom was clean, good shower & clean towels. Bedroom was nothing to complain about it. We didn't have breakfast as we enjoyed the lie in. For the location and price (£83) I would definitely stay again!!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aishlen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Grange Clarendon Hotel
Grange Clarendon Hotel
#558 of 1,077 in London
566 reviews
Bloomsbury
Grange Buckingham Hotel
Grange Buckingham Hotel
#587 of 1,077 in London
168 reviews
Bloomsbury
Grange Beauchamp Hotel
Grange Beauchamp Hotel
#362 of 1,077 in London
836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Grange Blooms Hotel
Grange Blooms Hotel
#566 of 1,077 in London
338 reviews
Bloomsbury
Grange White Hall Hotel
Grange White Hall Hotel
#582 of 1,077 in London
670 reviews
Bloomsbury
Thistle Bloomsbury Park
Thistle Bloomsbury Park
#466 of 1,077 in London
1,103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grange Portland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grange Portland Hotel

Address: 31-32 Bedford Place, London WC1B 5JH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#352 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: $130 - $355 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grange Portland Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Grange Portland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grange Portland Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing