We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Splendid hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grange Portland Hotel
Ranked #611 of 1,073 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 22, 2013

This is a well situated hotel just a short walk from the Russel Square Underground Station and on a silent street. We walked to and from Soho in 30 minutes. On the street one of the bustours started. The room was a studio with a small kitchen.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rolf H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (178)
There are newer reviews for Grange Portland Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

80 - 86 of 178 reviews

Reviewed April 9, 2013

Stayed here 1 night, friendly staff and very helpful and also a good location with 10 mins walk from Euston and similar to the strand/ Fleet Street. I did not eat at the hotel during my stay so cannot comment on the food quality but there is plenty of dining choices close by. The room was of a good size with a small kitchen area with fridge,microwave & sink,kettle- not sure if this is standard or possible upgrade. The bathroom was not the best and looked tired but overall very comfortable room and stay.

Room Tip: British Museum just around the corner.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ThePowerNapper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Large well presented room with small kitchenette area. Well worth the money for a London hotel which is in a great location for tube stations and British Museum. Helpful staff and good breakfast. Rooms at the front can be noisy during the day but quiet later in the evening.

Room Tip: Rooms facing street are noisy but did not disturb our sleep.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JCBScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Lovely small, quiet, clean hotel. Close to Russell Square and Holdborn tube stations. A plus window that opens for fresh air. Full bathroom with very hot water. Rate included continental breakfast which was pleasant. friendly staff. However, towels need upgrading, threadbare!!!

Room Tip: They have basement rooms, so specify your needs
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RK52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2013

Our third vsit to the Portland proved to be equally satisfying. Spacious, clean and well furnished 3rd floor room was more than adequate for our long weekend in London. Idealy situated for Covent Garden, The British Museum and less than 5 minutes walk from Russel Square tube station.
Continental breakfast, in the adjoining Clarendon Hotel, included in price at the weekend was more than adequate however a very good value breakfast can be found on Museum Street around 5 minutes walk away. We recommend Bush and Fields cafe where an excellent breakfast can cost around £13 for 2.

Room Tip: Try and get one of the suites on the third floor.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2012

This hotel is one of several run by the same company and in the same street. It is not a big hotel which for some will be good. The location is excellent, only a five minute walk from two tube stations, Russell Square and Holborn. The west end is also easily walkable.

The room I had was spacious and clean with a huge and comfortable bed. The only down side was that the armchairs were not conducive to sitting and reading a book or watching the TV. I was on business and stayed for three nights so I need a little bit of comfort for sitting around. On the plus side the room was fitted with a kitchen sink, fridge and microwave, also on hand were proper plates and cutlery. Really handy, if like me you get fed up eating out all the time. Because of the location there are several supermarkets within five to ten minutes walk where you can buy ready meals for the microwave.

One other down side could be the walk of fifty yards along the street to get breakfast in one of the other hotels. This was not a problem for me, the weather was cold but dry. If it had been raining heavily I might have thought otherwise. But, the walk was worth it, breakfast was very good with food freshly prepared and a good choice on the continental buffet. All in all a good hotel, I have booked to go back again in January.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Les T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2012

A block away from Russel Square Tube stop, which is directly on the central line that runs from Heathrow Airport. It's on a quiet street about a block away from the British Museum and cafes (including a starbucks). Our Room was on the bottom floor. I was surprised at how spacious the room was! Very clean and big comfy bed. Clean and spacious bathroom. The tub is really high up so you really gotta get your leg up to get in it. Might be a bit of a problem for some with mobility problems. Overall a great hotel with friendly staff! Highly reccommend!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Runnikki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Grange Buckingham Hotel
Grange Buckingham Hotel
#578 of 1,073 in London
163 reviews
Bloomsbury
Grange Clarendon Hotel
Grange Clarendon Hotel
#493 of 1,073 in London
547 reviews
Bloomsbury
Grange Beauchamp Hotel
Grange Beauchamp Hotel
#297 of 1,073 in London
821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Grange Blooms Hotel
Grange Blooms Hotel
#566 of 1,073 in London
322 reviews
Bloomsbury
Grange White Hall Hotel
Grange White Hall Hotel
#583 of 1,073 in London
647 reviews
Bloomsbury
Grange Lancaster Hotel
Grange Lancaster Hotel
#661 of 1,073 in London
338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grange Portland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grange Portland Hotel

Address: 31-32 Bedford Place, London WC1B 5JH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#357 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: $159 - $377 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grange Portland Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grange Portland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grange Portland Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing