We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good choice to visit London”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grange Portland Hotel
Ranked #596 of 1,078 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 28, 2012

A new, but unfortunately, short insight of England…I stayed 5 days at Portland during my trip to London and I have to say that they quite impressed me. The rooms are large, comfortable, although in an elegant and classic corporate style kind of way. But what is a big plus is the staff and in spite of the fact that I had a continuous bad luck in this journey. The persons from the reception are not always the same, but whereas is clearly a hotel policy the patience and affability of the people is a different matter, and I appreciate them for this. The continental breakfast has much to offer for everyone’s taste, although you have to go next door to enjoy it (to its ‘’brother’’ from Grange family, the Clarendon Hotel). Something that it seems to me not a very good option as a service is the access to Internet, for which you have to pay 5 £ per hour. In other hotels, this is free and what about those tourists who are staying for some minutes to check their e-mails? All in all, this is a good choice for those who are visiting London and they have also a budget at their disposal without many worries. The neighbourhood is great, Bloomsbury Square and Russell Square, with an easy access to underground and at a very, very close reach to British Museum.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nicoletatravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (182)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

101 - 107 of 182 reviews

Reviewed April 12, 2012

We stayed at the Portland for two nights over the Easter period. Walking to the hotel we were a little wary as we thought the rooms were going to be tiny.

The reception team were extremely courtious and professional. Storing our luggage as we'd arrived before the 3pm check in time and ensuring the correct tags etc were on our bags.

I read a review that said the room was tiny. Well we were in room 102 and it was HUGE. 3 windows across, a super kingsize bed, a sofa and coffee table, a desk for laptop etc, free safe plus a bedsit kitchenette kind of thing (we didn't use it and it was in the corner behind doors so wasn't an eye sore). All the furniture was inlaid wooden quality furniture. A beautiful room. The bath room was tiled and lovely. A bit tired in corners but that's being very picky.

Only issues we had were the bar and breakfast area were in the sister hotel next door. The bar was tiny, no draught beers and soulless (and expensive of course). We didn't book breakfast as part of the deal - enquiring the prices.... £17.50 for continental and £25.00 for full breakfast - almost encouraging customers to not have breakfast. We past a 5* Hotel in the centre doing afternoon tea for the same price. That's the reason for the 4* rating of my review.

Location is great. Just behind the British Museum.

Room Tip: Ask for room 102 !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Khonsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2012

We booked this hotel as part of a package with Air Malta for Maltese friends visiting us in the UK. After booking the deal we became a little concerned over the reviews, but we didn’t need to worry.

Our Friends arrived in the UK and spent two very pleasant nights in London before travelling to stay with us in Brighton.

The room was small but not as bad as expected, our Maltese friend is rather large and found that he and his wife were comfortable in their room, which was small but offered sufficient space for them and their luggage together with all the shopping they did.

The room is adequate for a sleep over visit and offers most basic requirements with a clean bathroom and clean linen on the beds. There was some noise from outside even though the room was located towards the rear. London is a busy city so you can expect to hear some background noise.

Breakfast was enjoyable with an optional English breakfast that was offered at a good price alongside the included continental breakfast.

As mentioned our visitors took advantage of the cheaper prices in the UK to those in Europe and made the best of the shopping opportunity. The hotel is located ideally for shopping and sightseeing.

Staff were mostly helpful and pleasant to our visitors who had no complaints during their stay.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jmbrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2012

Had a very good experience at this hotel. The room was large and comfortable with a king size bed and a small sitting area. Bathroom was was very large with a full-size tub. The rooms were clean, the daily maid service was thorough. We booked a "double studio" and the average rate was £78/night, including breakfast. Excellent value and we wouldn't hesitate to stay again.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nate58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2012

Lovely hotel, friendly staff, massive room! So close to everything. Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kirsty M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2011

We were warned that the room we were in was small by the girl on checkout and we were offered a basement room but this was at the front of the hotel next to the road. What we didn't expect was a room so small that one side of the double bed was up against a wall! The hotel is well located near the British Museum and is clean and tidy, however, the hotel doesn't have a bar and you have to go to the hotel next door for breakfast!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank GoMarshy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2011

We stayed at the Portland for two nights for our wedding anniversary,
We were greeted at the door by the Concierge who (even hough it was quite late) had a beaming smile and was a very friendly chap,
While booking in we were given a free upgrade to an Executive room which was fantastic.
The hotel was very clean as was the room, all the facilities you would expect, ie tv, iron,kettle, internet access even a small kitchenette, the only down side to this was the fridge which wasn't very good but to be honest when you stay in London you don't stay in your hotel to cook!!
Breakfast was next door in one of the Portlands sister hotels, which is 20 steps away so no complaints at all there. Breakfast was Continental and was very good, all the food was fresh and plentiful. A cooked breakfast is available but at almost 24 pounds each its scandalously expensive.
Nicely positioned for most amenities and near to all transport links. Overall a very nice place and yes we would stay at the Portland again.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dave300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Grange Buckingham Hotel
Grange Buckingham Hotel
#582 of 1,078 in London
166 reviews
Bloomsbury
Grange Clarendon Hotel
Grange Clarendon Hotel
#552 of 1,078 in London
557 reviews
Bloomsbury
Grange Blooms Hotel
Grange Blooms Hotel
#568 of 1,078 in London
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Grange Beauchamp Hotel
Grange Beauchamp Hotel
#352 of 1,078 in London
833 reviews
Bloomsbury
Grange White Hall Hotel
Grange White Hall Hotel
#586 of 1,078 in London
665 reviews
Bloomsbury
Mercure London Bloomsbury
Mercure London Bloomsbury
#392 of 1,078 in London
2,181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grange Portland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grange Portland Hotel

Address: 31-32 Bedford Place, London WC1B 5JH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#352 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: $135 - $384 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grange Portland Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Grange Portland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grange Portland Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing