We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location - poor rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Regency Court Hotel
Ranked #1,028 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great location - poor rooms”
Reviewed September 12, 2010

My wife and I had a short weekend break to London and booked the Regency Court because it was £80 per night and anything over £100 seems expensive to us.

I had mixed feelings about the hotel. The positives were that the people on the desk were always friendly and greeted you with a smile, and the location right next to Earl's court tube station gave us easy access to London.

The disappointments were that this was advertised as a hotel, if it was a guest house then I would have thought 'fine', but as a hotel it lacked some fundamental 'hotel' qualities. The rooms are very small and run down, a lick of paint on the walls would make it look nice. The en suit bathrooms are tiny, and whilst clean, I am very thin and could barely fit in the shower! The sheets on the bed were freshly made everyday, but the throws on top of them were not very nice and we just left them at the bottom of the bed.

Overall I wouldn't recommend this hotel to someone who stays in hotels when on holiday, but if you are used to more of a guest house / up market hostel type person then it is fine.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SteveClayton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    1
    6
    5
    39
See reviews for
6
10
12
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
hampshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2009

First of all this was booked last minute.
It cost £70 for a double room. Sure you could get so much more for your money though. The rooms are clean, though are in a really tatty state, the window in a room didn't even shut or lock! The doors are also shut at midnight, with no other means of acsess! So don't plan to stay out late! The staff were friendly and not rude to us as some people have reported. and we were able to check in early which was a huge bonus. No coffee or tea in the rooms though, just a horriable kitchen, with mainly McDonalds suger n milk cartons to use! All in all wouldn't stay here again, im sure you can get much better for your money. Great location, no real parking though.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank brightstarHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these London hotels

Dublin, Ireland.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2009

I have read some positive comments on this place that come up on top on this website they are written by a connected party or someone on drugs, the lower down comments are correct, it's an absolute dive. I dont know how it can be classified as a hotel, don't be misled by the grand name.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Brendan3838
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North America
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2008

I stay at Regency Court Hotel often when I attend conferences at the Earls Court Exhibition Court...It feels like 'home away from home'! The exhibition is one minute walk from the hotel.
The staff know me well and are superb. Often I book directly or I just walk in and they always find room for me and treat me like family.

There is no elevator at the hotel but that is OK. The location is excellent and their buget room rates are good.

It really is a clean friendly place. Planning on bringing my family next time!

  • Liked — Clen and friendly..good location
  • Disliked — Leaving!
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hennagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eindhoven
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2008

Worst hotel we ever seen. You couldn't imagine that these things exist. We decided not to stay, even though we were charged for the full four nights. Nothing we could do about it, because as far as the contract goes, you can't get a refund after a reservation. There are plenty of nice hotels in the direct neighbourhood.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Everything else
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank DoZo1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marrickville, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2008

Absolutely awful. Dirty and hopelessly maintained. Suggest you never stay here even if it is the last room in London.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank Brianoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gallup, New Mexico
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2008

We were absolutely scammed at this hotel. We were charged for a room with a bathroom (which had the toilet taped shut and no shower). My friend got sick one night and vomited. Since the there was no where else to go, she threw-up outside the window. While we were out the next day, the manager went into the room and confiscated our belongings, including our passports. He refused to return them to us until we paid 100 pounds for the damage, which was a few specks on the side of the wall that could easily be taken off with a hose. When I tried to politely negotiate he became very aggressive and a few male guests had to come to our aid. Absolutely do not stay here.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — being scammed out of money
  • Stayed August 2004, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank eightMT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
regencycourt, Owner at Regency Court Hotel, responded to this review, August 5, 2009
These 'guests' booked a cheap basic room (without ensuite facilities) however the room did have a fully-functional wash basin. They were sick out the window (vomitted cherries) down the front of the building one night and neither did they report this to hotel staff or did they make any effort to clean it up. On being approached, they became agitated & claimed no responsibility. The hotel therefore had no option but to bill their card the cost of cleaning off the mess with a high-pressure jet wash hose. Upon checking-out, these same people smashed a full-length glass shower screen in their bathroom causing even more damage, leaving small shards of broken glass littered all over the bathroom floor; a severe hazard for cleaning staff to have to deal with. Again their card was billed for the damage. At no stage was anything ever taken from the room; the room was only ever accessed by cleaning staff, whom alerted us to the damage both times.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Earls Court
London Court Hotel
London Court Hotel
#422 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
Earls Court
Lord Jim Hotel
Lord Jim Hotel
#689 of 1,063 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
Earls Court
Trebovir Hotel
Trebovir Hotel
#834 of 1,063 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Earls Court
Lord Kensington Hotel
Lord Kensington Hotel
#734 of 1,063 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
Earls Court
Hotel Rushmore
Hotel Rushmore
#565 of 1,063 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
Earls Court
London Town Hotel
London Town Hotel
#511 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Regency Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regency Court Hotel

Property: Regency Court Hotel
Address: 14 Penywern Road, London SW5 9ST, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Earls Court
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,028 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Regency Court Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Regency Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regency London
Regency Court Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing