We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A real gem!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kings Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Kings Boutique Hotel
Ranked #339 of 567 London B&B and Inns
Carmarthen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A real gem!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights early September 2013, and would definitely stay again if I were visiting London. Cannot understand how many reviewers haven’t realised that the hotel is above a pub, as this is very clearly stated on the hotel website. Staff were lovely, we arrived early so weren’t able to check in straight away, but received a free pot of tea and were able to leave our bags. These were waiting for us in our room when we returned from our day out sightseeing . We stayed in the Victoria twin room, and it was absolutely gorgeous and quaintly decorated. Beds were absolutely heavenly! Perfect after a busy day in London and had a wonderful night’s sleep every night. Some noise from the pub the first night (Monday) which came to an end about 12 when the pub closed (my boyfriend slept through it, but I’m rather a light sleeper so I was kept awake for a little while) but the next two nights we heard no noise at all from the pub. Admittedly, as students we are used to hearing noise whilst trying to sleep – this was much quieter than expected! Food in the restaurant was very nice, and reasonably priced, especially the specials menu. No breakfast (which we didn’t want anyway) but plenty of cafés/chain coffee shops on the same street. Very convenient location, about a minute’s walk from Hampstead tube station. Couldn’t believe how little we paid for our stay, compared to other hotels/B&Bs found online for very grim accommodation – was expecting something very basic but was genuinely surprised at how spot on everything was. A real gem!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sfr93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    14
    12
    10
    9
See reviews for
11
23
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

Title is misleading as it's rooms above a hotel called King William so to start with couldn't even find it. They made some effort in decorating the rooms originally but not that well maintained and lot of noise in the morning when (miniature) bathrooms used in other rooms. Great location and pub underneath looked nice but they don't often lock the door upto the rooms so doesn't feel secure and when tried to check out noone around so had to leave our key in the door and let ourself out of the pub door.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank louisaw78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

Visited same time last year for the Art Fairs.
Will most certainly visit again.
Second visit and travelling on my own I wanted somewhere to come back to where I could rest after a long day walking. And this is perfect for me; a warm welcome, great food in the bar, of the type you would expect from a good pub restaurant. A comfy bed and a nice room. And for the price and location in London exceptionally good.
And yes it is a pub and there is noise from the bar downstairs and of traffic on the high street. It is also leafy Hampstead. I loved it! I drift off easily with the hum, find it comforting, so no problem for me.
So at the end of a long day, good food, friendly people and a great bed in nice surroundings. Perfect.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deborah_Ainscoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

Firstly, there is no way this can be classed as a hotel and certainly in no way can the managers be classed as hoteliers. They have absolutely no idea about customer service and are an embarrassment to the hospitality industry .

We booked a double room and the apartment for one night. Rather than being a "hotel", the double rooms are very small rooms, above a rather down market pub. There is no reception and to check in or out you must wait for the pub to open to check out. There is a mobile number to call but this number is ignored and not answered. A ridiculous state of affairs!

Now on to the apartment...This is situated above a busy restaurant and has a noisy "alley way" running behind it. The "neighbours" were up and shouting in the street behind until at least 2am. To make matters worse however the neighbour complained to the "hotel manager" about noise coming from the apartment (within 30 minutes of our arrival)!! We put this down to the fact that we had set up the fold out bed and come down two flights of stairs to lock the bottom door. Accoustics are obviously an issue here and loyalty seemed to not be with the paying customer but with the neighbour! This being the case (and the fact that the hotel owner is obviously in fear of the neighbours complaints) booking this apartment should be avoided! The apartment is obviously not suitable for purpose. The worst part of our stay was that there was absolutely no customer care given and in fact upon our complaining about our stay the managers ended up being very verbally aggressive and threatening.

We had a very unpleasant experience and the fact that the television and jacuzzi in the bathroom didn't work pale into insignificance compared to how we were treated by the managers. Our weekend away entirely ruined by this service.

Room Tip: Book another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank 469Alison83469
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

We booked both a room and the 'apartment'. Although both were clean and presentable this was totally wiped out by the lack of customer service from the landlord and his staff. He had received a call from his neighbour to complain of our daughters noise levels at 1015pm, it was their birthday celebration and they are 16, therefore not drinking just laughing and chatting. He was irate with us - the customer!! I have been in hospitality over 20 years and have NEVER argued with a customer ever. This man clearly does not agree that the customer is always right or give any loyalty/respect to a new customer. Although the accommodation was very clean and acceptable (inside the rooms not the public areas) there are not any details of checkout procedure, which is unbelievable when you are trying to catch a taxi/ tube at a certain time! The owner did not answer his phone, despite numerous calls. Of course, given the pub is in the centre of a busy London street - there is a lot of noise, but beware any guest who wants to laugh or walk up the stairs in heels, as neighbours in the vicinity will be backed up by the rude landlord and your position as a customer will be dismissed without concern

Room Tip: the apartment is ideal for a couple, however, be quiet! as your noise will be (apparently) heard abo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank M J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
135 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

We stayed here on a Saturday night in June as we were going to a gig in Kentish Town. The location should have been ideal - on the Northern Line for east access from Euston, right through to Kentish Town and Camden, but unfortunately it didn't work out that way due to work on the Northern Line. No matter, that didn't detract from our great stay at this hotel. Check in at the bar of the pub was easy and straightforward, and we were shown up to our room which, although small, was beautifully decorated with a huge carved wooden 4 poster bed, wooden floors, dual aspect windows and a tiny balcony. The bathroom was finished to a very high standard too. Unfortunately the hotel had a problem with laundry being returned so only small towels were available, but we were able to manage and the free drinks as an apology were an appreciated touch. We had foreotten to print our gig tickets before leaving home, so the super helpful barmaid very kindly did that for us, saving us hassle and a trip to find somewhere we could do it oursleves. We also had Sunday lunch in the pub the following day - a beautiful lamb roast - and post lunch drinks in the gorgeous garden, which seems a world away from Hampstead High Street. It was all a tad on the pricey side, but that's London!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kellypop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CANYON COUNTRY, CA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

I booked the studio apartment for 8 nights and was first and foremost impressed that it appeared just like in the website photos. I checked in at the pub about 5 pm, was escorted across the lane via the private entrance to the loft apartment. The apartment includes a dishwasher, clothes-washer, fridge, oven/stove, PS2 video console, crib/playpen, flat screen TV, dimmer switch lighting, sofa bed, lots of storage, whirlpool tub, rainfall shower, "TileTelevision", digital Bidet, heated towel rack, lots of windows for light and cross ventilation...in other words, this place is loaded!

The only trouble I had was the first night when I discovered the tub leaked to an area outside from the bath which also caused a short in the electricity. I called the next morning while en route to visit friends and spoke to Don who was immediately on top of it. By the time I returned later that afternoon, the leak was fixed and electricity restored. Don even arrived bearing a fresh lemon and lime to go with the Gin and Tonic that he apparently noted I had stocked up on! The remainder of the week was issue free and I would come back to the flat to find extra bottled water or even tonic thoughtfully left behind. Don even ensured that extra bed linens were provided for the night that I had a friend stay over on the sofa bed.

Noise can be a factor if the windows are left open. The apartment sits over a fine-dinning restaurant with outside seating, however I didn't mind the "white-noise" of clinking glasses and chatter also sometimes accompanied by a piano. This was primarily on the weekend and ended at a reasonable hour. During the day there were builders also working in the area who started at 8 am, but again closed windows muffled this enough for me.

Nearby is the Hampstead Tube station and a Tesco Express. Just steps away is a bus stop and the infamous La Creperie De Hampstead.

Overall, I absolutely loved staying here and felt entirely at home. The bed was super comfy and the couch and furnishings all in excellent condition.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank theshellmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
0.3 mi away
La Gaffe
La Gaffe
#468 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn London Hampstead Hotel
0.5 mi away
Quality Hotel Hampstead
Quality Hotel Hampstead
#623 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Glenmore Suites
Glenmore Suites
#254 of 828 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
0.8 mi away
Haverstock Hotel
Haverstock Hotel
#174 of 567 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
0.7 mi away
Avoca House Hotel
Avoca House Hotel
#154 of 567 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kings Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kings Boutique Hotel

Property: Kings Boutique Hotel
Address: 77 Hampstead High Street, London NW3 1RE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #339 of 567 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kings Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Kings Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Boutique Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing