We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It is really nice.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of 54 Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
54 Boutique Hotel
Ranked #428 of 1,089 Hotels in London
South England
1 review
“It is really nice.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2008

My brother stayed here recently, so when I was in town, i decided to as well. All i can say is, yes, it is small, yes it i a bit hard to locate from the street and yes, the staff are good. A nice, simple hotel. great location and just plain nice and clean. well done boys!

  • Liked — peaceful
  • Disliked — lack of signage outside, makes it hard to find.
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank SnapDragonkent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

621 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    229
    267
    71
    33
    21
See reviews for
67
276
64
116
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
29 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2008

We have stayed here a couple of times in the past. We both like the location and the Hotel. Excellent base for the museums, (out the front door, cross the road and you're there). OK, the Hotel is not enormous, but because of this, the service is much more personal. The Manager, a guy called James is thoroughly charming and his team couldn't do enough for us. The breakfast is simple, no heart clogging English Breakfast, which was great.
The room we had (at the front) was lovely. Admittedly not the biggest room, but spotless and very well maintained. My only issue? The Minibar. Placed in a corner, did someone steal the cabinet it should fit in?
Overall, a great place with a good location and nice staff.

  • Liked — Closeness to museums and Kensington Gardens
  • Disliked — Not very well signed, from the sidewalk.
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank doolally_w7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2008

Having stayed at your hotel on 28th May I was hugely disappointed. The rooms dispite looking fabulously spacious on the website, was in my case, not big enough to swing a cat.
I booked through laterooms so I wouldn't have expected the best room but they had a fair amount of availability that night according to reception I would have thought it possible to have a better room. I also requested outdoor space if at all possible but it appears that was not the case.
The wine list is great but to charge about £9 for a glass of Chablis and then to serve it at little under room temperature was far from ideal.
It's such a shame the experience I had doesn't live up to image portrayed on the well thought out website.

  • Liked — decor
  • Disliked — room size
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank liz78cheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estoril
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2008

London: Fiftyfour Boutique Hotel: "I will not return!"
I have just returned from a Weekend at the fiftyfour boutique hotel.

The hotel propaganda says: (The hotel lies between Knightsbridge and the Royal Borough of Kensington and Chelsea.

Fifty-Four Boutique Hotel is a traditional London town house with its own special qualities. Our guests find a quiet sanctuary from the bustle of London where they can relax in comfort.)

My room (room 20) was cosy and featured a decked terrace...The first impression was magnificent...

The air-conditioning was noisy, and the "modern ensuite bathroom", as they advertise, did not have Hot Water!

Why go back to this Hotel ...

  • Liked — The moment I checked out
  • Disliked — No hot water
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Magana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2008

This hotel meets the minimum standards expected in terms of cleanliness etc., however, I do not think it is exceptional enough to be labelled a "boutique hotel."

The good things about the hotel are: great location, clean rooms, helpful conceirge. As I arrived on a very early morning flight and arrived at the hotel around 7am I was allowed to check in to my hotel right away.

Based on the other reviews, I would say that the rooms at Fifty Four probably vary somewhat. I had a single room which was quite small.

  • Liked — Good location
  • Disliked — Small rooms
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank inLdn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2008

The hotel has a good location.But it's a small hotel..Clean rooms helpful staff.The lobby is too small and there are only few tables, that's all.The holes also so narrow and it's difficult to pass in holes while someone is coming from ahead.I thought to stay in "The Rembrandt" hotel but it wasn't available.Rembrandt is really great, similar price, great location and it's a real hotel.Not a pension !! like queensgate..

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Hotel building
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank rubens_tr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2007

If you wish to be in the Queen's Gate area of London, this is a charming Hotel I would highly recommend. The double room I stayed was immaculately clean with high ceiling. The air conditionig purred quietly. I had a very comfortable night. The continental buffet style breakfast had a good selection and the large coissant I had tasted fresh and delicious.

I was as usual in a hurry while packing and left my Ipod Nano in the safe. Only when I arrived home late in the afternoon that I noticed I have left it. I immediatley rang the hotel and was told that it was not found but as the room was already occupied, they will search the next day. My husband receive a phone call the following day and was informed that the Ipod was located and handed in. He asked them to post it to us and giving details of our credit card to pay for the postage.

My Ipod is now returned undamaged and I wish to commend 54 Boutique Hotel for its extra help in this matter.

  • Liked — Stylish accommodation
  • Disliked — None
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SVAB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
The Queen's Gate Hotel
The Queen's Gate Hotel
#342 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 929 reviews
South Kensington
The Gore Hotel
The Gore Hotel
#237 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,503 reviews
South Kensington
Fraser Suites Queens Gate
Fraser Suites Queens Gate
#430 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
Grange Strathmore Hotel
Grange Strathmore Hotel
#514 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 724 reviews
South Kensington
Rydges Kensington London
Rydges Kensington London
#344 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,099 reviews
South Kensington
Radisson Blu Edwardian Vanderbilt
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 54 Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 54 Boutique Hotel

Property: 54 Boutique Hotel
Address: 54 Queens Gate | South Kensington, London SW7 5JW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Kensington and Hyde Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#190 Romantic Hotel in London
#225 Business Hotel in London
#292 Luxury Hotel in London
#351 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — 54 Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
54 Boutique Hotel is a traditional townhouse with its own special qualities. Our guests find a quiet sanctuary from the hustle & bustle of London where they can relax in comfort. The 26 rooms and suites are decorated in contemporary style with modern sandstone and black granite bathrooms with gleaming chrome power showers. All rooms have air-conditioning, a modern ensuite bathroom, Free Wi-Fi internet access and flat screen televisions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your 54 Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
54 Boutique London
Hotel 54 Boutique
54 Boutique Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing