We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My next stay: just booked!”
Review of 54 Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
54 Boutique Hotel
Ranked #457 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Dubai
Level Contributor
42 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“My next stay: just booked!”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

After multiple expereinces of inconsistent quality at a number of other 4* hotels in this part of South Kensington, I had settled for the more predictable assurance of a 5*. However - very luckily, it turned out - I wanted a last chance to look for a 4* gem and found it at the 54 Boutique Hotel.

Check-in was swift and particularly pleasant, as the hotel kindly upgraded me to their 54 Studio/ Suite! I especially appreciated its prime 1st floor, front-facing location: the floor-to-celing sash windows open onto a terrace facing the Natural History Museum; the proportions of the rooms are awesome; and it really is as comfortable as the online pictures look!

I only stayed one night and my London visits tend to be too busy to use much of a hotel's facilities. However, the complimentary WiFi was a useful bonus and I believe the 54 Boutique Hotel's 4* rating is more due to factors such as not having a fitness centre and its limited in-house room service catering, rather than any management shortcomings. And I have definitely had worse toiletries and less-than-fluffy towels at much more expensive establishments.

I am happy to vote with my money on this one and have just booked the suite for my next London visit!

Room Tip: It's worth spending more on a bigger room, as these maximise the building's Edwardian featur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DubaiCheuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

628 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    231
    269
    73
    33
    22
See reviews for
68
282
64
116
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
manchester
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Clean linen, lovely high ceilings, very friendly staff and good breakfasts. small, intimate, quiet and extremely relaxing. Located in a great part of london,The staff were uniformly friendly and helpful,Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eabby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cromer, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

We knew nothing about this hotel and stayed here because it was very close to the Albert Hall. It proved to be a very good choice. The room was comfortable and clean and even though our room was at the front and had no double glazing we slept fine. The breakfast was really good, no hot food but a great continental one. Staff were very efficient and friendly. Would stay here again when visitng the Hall.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ray S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013

Stayed at hotel for business, visiting Royal Albert Hall. Proximity was excellent. I had a deluxe room, which was fair enough but I wouldn't class as particularly deluxe for the price that was paid.

Room must have been designed by a man! Hair dryer was fixed to a plug inside a shelving unit - could not see a mirror when using. Similarly there was no plug point near mirror so had to use hair straighteners without seeing what I was doing. No handheld mirror so could not see back of hair.

Major issue for me was that there was a lovely, full length window which opened from the bottom up, overlooking a small open area (over porch of hotel). As it was a window, not a door, and no patio furniture I assumed if was not accessible to guests. However in morning, I opened my window only to have a stranger wander past and stop in front on my open window talking on the phone, whilst I was alone in the room. I felt very, very uncomfortable with this.

Plus points - location great for Royal Albert Hall & Natural History Museum, room had nearly everything you could need (except for mirror/plug issue), room was very nicely decorated, fantastic cocktails!

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank joannasephina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

I got what appeared to be a great deal on this place for a last minute work stay, but I wish I had not. The reception staff are not friendly at all, and the common areas are filled with cleaning and laundry trollies - very ugly looking and depressing since the corridors are narrow as it is, and the first thing you see is a messy laundry cart full of used towels thrown around! The single room I had was in the basement- yes the basement, so this was VERY depressing. I would avoid unless you just need a bed and get it for a bargain last minute price, as their "normal tariff" is far beyond realistic (something like £175) - made me laugh.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mark_L_H226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Region Metropolitana, Chile
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013

this hotel seems like has been converted from an apartment into a boutique hotel.
deco are very classy but getting to the rooms, as it was converted from apartments, so the stairways are pretty tight, but they do have a small service elevator. not something to look forward after you've been out whole day walking sightseeing and have to go up flights of stairs to reach your room.

situated just beside the natural history museum, at night its rather peaceful.
along the main road there's other more reputable hotels (and of course much more $$), makes 54 boutique hotel reasonably cheaper than those hotels.
nearby tube are gloucester & south ken station.

breakfast are not inclusive, but there's loads of shops down the road for you to choose your breakfast from.

staffs are very helpful and even changed us into a better room due to the previous room given the bathroom door frame got crooked and doors can't open/close properly

overall very nice stay !

Room Tip: choose room facing the road rather that facing back. rooms facing front road are facing the musuem
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoaquinChanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Quaint hotel. Polite and helpful staff. Walking distance to Knightsbridge and convenient access to the tube. Our standard room was small but comfortable. Room temperature was tough to control - tended to get a bit warm. We did not have the breakfast as we were always grabbing some coffee and pastries to go at local cafes/bakeries.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
The Queen's Gate Hotel
The Queen's Gate Hotel
#363 of 1,067 in London
957 reviews
South Kensington
The Gore Hotel
The Gore Hotel
#236 of 1,067 in London
1,524 reviews
South Kensington
Radisson Blu Edwardian Vanderbilt
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
Fraser Suites Queens Gate
Fraser Suites Queens Gate
#417 of 1,067 in London
542 reviews
South Kensington
Rydges Kensington London
Rydges Kensington London
#360 of 1,067 in London
1,115 reviews
South Kensington
Grange Strathmore Hotel
Grange Strathmore Hotel
#506 of 1,067 in London
740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 54 Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 54 Boutique Hotel

Property: 54 Boutique Hotel
Address: 54 Queen's Gate | South Kensington, London SW7 5JW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Kensington and Hyde Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#190 Romantic Hotel in London
#225 Business Hotel in London
#304 Luxury Hotel in London
#351 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — 54 Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
54 Boutique Hotel is a traditional townhouse with its own special qualities. Our guests find a quiet sanctuary from the hustle & bustle of London where they can relax in comfort. The 26 rooms and suites are decorated in contemporary style with modern sandstone and black granite bathrooms with gleaming chrome power showers. All rooms have air-conditioning, a modern ensuite bathroom, Free Wi-Fi internet access and flat screen televisions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your 54 Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
54 Boutique London
Hotel 54 Boutique
54 Boutique Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing