We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay”
Review of 54 Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
54 Boutique Hotel
Ranked #527 of 1,078 Hotels in London
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Quaint hotel. Polite and helpful staff. Walking distance to Knightsbridge and convenient access to the tube. Our standard room was small but comfortable. Room temperature was tough to control - tended to get a bit warm. We did not have the breakfast as we were always grabbing some coffee and pastries to go at local cafes/bakeries.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank D K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (649)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

330 - 336 of 649 reviews

Reviewed May 27, 2013

The location was excellent and worth the price. Directly across the road from the Natural History Museum and a short walk from the Science Museum and Victoria and Albert Museums there is a lot to do that costs next to nothing. There are plentiful bars, cafe's and restuarants nearby as you venture towards both South Kensington and Gloucester Road. If you have got your walking shoes on Harrods and Knightsbridge is about fifteen minutes walk.

The room was clean and large (in comparison to most standard rooms in London) and pleasantly decorated. I may have expected it to be a bit more special and quirky but it was modern and well equipt. Mini-bar charges were reasonable and the mini-bar had a small but decent choice. We chose to eat breakfast out in Kensington so I can't comment on whether or not to opt in or out but there is so much variety out and about.

The room was a little stuffy and the air con was noisy so it was a nice touch being about to open the window for fresh air. We didn't notice too much noise from outside, however we weren't in a street facing room.

The concierge was lovely and polite and remembered us, bonus points for customer service.

We stay in this area of London a lot and compared to what is available we would stay here again but out of curiosity may upgrade to a better room.

***As a warning to some thinking of booking this hotel the tiny lift only caters for the 1st and 2nd floor of this hotel and our room was on the fourth floor, that means four flights of stairs. Luckily being in our 20's that really isn't a problem but for those that have limited mobility calling the hotel prior to booking may be required for a room on the 1st or 2nd floor.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank McClusk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Arrived before room was allocated, but the gentleman on front desk could not have been more helpful and friendly. Our room was clean and decorated nicely, overlooked the road (which is opposite the back of the Natural History Museum) it was fairly quiet and you even hear the bird song the following morning ...lovely! The stairs were a bit of a challenge as we were on the top floor (room 24) don't think it went any higher! And the lift only went to level 2.
Would definitely stay there again as good location for museums,Royal Albert Hall and Kensington Park.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Donnyfan61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

We stayed at this hotel as part of a VIP Eric Clapton treat for ourselves. Online booking was a breeze. The hotel itself is directly opposite the Natural History Museum and 5 minutes walk from the Royal Albert Hall which makes it ideally suited as a base for a London visit. On arrival we were greeted by one of the hotels Very friendly and courteous staff. Our room was on the second floor and was spotlessly clean and located at the rear of the building which meant it was quiet. The bathroom came with all the little extras and the water pressure in the shower was great (one of my pet hates is low water pressure) We didn't avail ourselves of breakfast as we had made alternative dining arrangements.
Big compliments to this hotel who obviously train their staff properly and a really big thank you yo Akram who is a real "gem".

Room Tip: pick a room at the back away from the traffic noise, we were in 17 which was excellent for our needs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dingabell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

We wanted a hotel close to the Royal Albert Hall and 54 Boutique Hotel is a very short walk away. The hotel is a few minutes’ walk from Gloucester Road tube station or a slightly longer walk from Kensington High Street tube. From the outside it would appear to just a standard Edwardian town house with the only a few discrete signs on the front indicating it is a hotel. At the time of our stay the public areas of the hotel were being decorated and everything looked very smart.
Only a small hotel (I think about 26 rooms) with facilities consisting of just a small bar / lounge area. Our room was on the ground floor and was well decorated with large French doors opening on to a balcony providing plenty of natural light. Some noise could be heard when breakfast started as the room was next to the breakfast room, but we wanted to be up early anyway!
Breakfast consisted of a small continental breakfast style buffet and was enough to get you going in the morning. Not a large number of tables, but then again it is not a large hotel. All the staff we encountered were very welcoming and friendly. Overall we enjoyed our stay and it was good value at the price.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andydiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2013

We spent a night in Room 3 (lower ground floor). The hotel location cannot be bettered, the staff were friendly and the hotel was clean and nicely decorated/furnished. The room was small - it couldn't be much smaller and still get the bed in - but was adequate and was wonderfully quiet. The bathroom was fine.

For the price, I would have expected a larger room, facecloths and more toiletries but then it is in central London. If you can get a decent deal, then it is very good.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wrightm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

You could not ask for a nicer hotel that is close to the Royal Albert Hall.
Very close to tube stations and local bars and restaurants. All staff were both friendly and helpful and our room, though small, was very clean and functional - all perfectly adequate for a 'one-nighter'. I would not hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fatcatz435
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
The Queen's Gate Hotel
The Queen's Gate Hotel
#378 of 1,078 in London
1,028 reviews
South Kensington
Radisson Blu Edwardian Vanderbilt
South Kensington
The Gore – Starhotels Collezione
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
Citadines South Kensington
Citadines South Kensington
#149 of 1,078 in London
914 reviews
South Kensington
The Gainsborough Hotel
The Gainsborough Hotel
#797 of 1,078 in London
485 reviews
South Kensington
Grange Strathmore Hotel
Grange Strathmore Hotel
#513 of 1,078 in London
788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 54 Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 54 Boutique Hotel

Address: 54 Queen's Gate | South Kensington, London SW7 5JW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Kensington and Hyde Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#190 Romantic Hotel in London
#225 Business Hotel in London
#325 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: $125 - $369 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — 54 Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
54 Boutique Hotel is a traditional townhouse with its own special qualities. Our guests find a quiet sanctuary from the hustle & bustle of London where they can relax in comfort. The 26 rooms and suites are decorated in contemporary style with modern sandstone and black granite bathrooms with gleaming chrome power showers. All rooms have air-conditioning, a modern ensuite bathroom, Free Wi-Fi internet access and flat screen televisions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your 54 Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
54 Boutique London
Hotel 54 Boutique
54 Boutique Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing