We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place, friendly helpful staff. Close to tubes” 4 of 5 stars
Review of London House Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
London House Hotel
Ranked #294 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California, United States
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great place, friendly helpful staff. Close to tubes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Great one night stay. Very helpful and accommodating staff. Close to multiple tube locations. Bayswater street had many good places to eat and there is a great pub with live music nearby on the corner. Recently upgraded decor. All rooms in London are small so this was no different. Ample hot water made it a nice stay. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,984 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    579
    1,072
    236
    64
    33
See reviews for
416
740
202
132
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (317)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Turku, Finland
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Nice and fresh hotel with friendly staff. Good location, near to metro, restaurants, shops and shopping center Whiteleys. You slept like an angel here and If we come back to London this is the hotel were we gonna stay again!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Wistis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norrahammar
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Clean rooms, comfy beds. Efficient and friendly staff. Decent breakfast. Very quiet and peaceful at nights. Close to underground stations, shops and restaurants. We'll probably stay here at our next trip to London

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Anders_Lilja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

We stayed 3 days here on vacation..The staff was great and our room was very nice and clean much better then we expected..They did upgrade us when we got there which was very awesome and unexpected!.. The location was perfect on a quiet nice street and just a few min from the metro and many restaurants, shops etc... we recommend this hotel and would stay here again!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank silverlyon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013 via mobile

The first room had no window, then the "upgraded room" had a window which opened to scaffolding in which work began at 7 am right outside my window. No control over airflow. Bathroom door had to be propped open to get any ventilation. The blow dryer they provides didnt fit into their own outlet in the bathroom and the vanity by which it was mounted had no outlet near it at all. Makes it hard to do your hair when you dont have any mirror in front of which to do it. Stuffy and poorly ventilated hallways and inconsistent staff and housekeeping. We had to request each day to have water glasses. Never changed sheets over 5 days. Just a poorly managed hotel. The location is okaaay.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveleroftheworld28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LHHManager, Manager at London House Hotel, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review.
I am sorry that you did not enjoy you stay here with us and that we did not meet your expectations.
We are working hard to keep high level of service.
All our room have windows however if you chose to book one of the cheaper rooms in the basement they have windows that open to internal corridor but this information is stated clearly in room description and that's the reason the room priced cheaper than others.
i assume the receptionist upgraded you to the next level of room which is the room that face the back of the hotel and at the moment (not for long) we still have scaffolding due to maintenance work and hence again the very low rates we offer at the moment.
all room have a Mirror in the room and in the wardrobe and there is electric outlet just by the mirror for the use of the hair-dryer or other appliances. The electric outlet in the bathroom states "shavers only" so this is the reason you could not plug the hair dryer.
We usually change the linen every 3 nights and I am very sorry if it didn't happen in you room.
I will appreciate to know in which rooms you have stayed so I can investigate the issue further and make sure this will not happen again.
Thank you again for your comment and sorry for not meeting your expectations.
Happy New year
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
138 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

I booked a single room. Photos on the website did not begin to convey the extraordinarily cramped nature of the space - more of a horizontal wardrobe than a room. I could sit on the bed and touch the other wall! It wasn't actually a single bed, as it was 2/3rds of the width of one. I could not have the suitcase on the floor and open the door. luckily, I am fastidiously tidy! The room was adjacent to the lift. I complained about the size and the proximity to the lift but was simply told to pay more and upgrade - an indifferent and unhelpful stance from staff. I did not eat in the hotel. I would not recomend.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PhineasFogg54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LHHManager, Manager at London House Hotel, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Thank you for writing your review and i am sorry to hear you were disappointed.
As much as we try to please all our guests i guess we did not meet your high expectation an i am sorry about this.
We offer several type of rooms and you have chosen to book a "small single" room which is the cheapest room we offer .
The room type is called "small single" and the pictures actually show that's it small. Also in room description we mention that it is small room. The single beds is standard UK small single size.
We can only write all this in formation with the hope that with a room name called "small single" and with very very low rates the guest will understand that it is a small single room that they are booking.
I am sorry if you felt the staff were unhelpful but they did the right thing offer you to change a room and book a larger room instead of the small single room you chose to book.

I am sorry again we did not meet you high expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Brighton, Minnesota
Level Contributor
131 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Traveling with two friends, I had a hard time finding rooms with three beds. The basement family room had plenty of room for three,with two singles and a double bed.
The location was perfect for us. Close to two different tube stations (serving different lines) and the neighborhood was residential and felt quiet and safe
The hotel was clean and looked like an American apartment building.
I would have given 5 stars but in our room in the basement, we could hear the footsteps of the people walking up and down the stairs.

Room Tip: If you need a very quiet room, try for a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Larsmatic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Notting Hill
Phoenix Hotel
Phoenix Hotel
#287 of 1,072 in London
4.0 of 5 stars 1,393 reviews
Bloomsbury
Jesmond Dene Hotel
Jesmond Dene Hotel
#265 of 1,072 in London
4.5 of 5 stars 1,665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Alhambra Hotel
Alhambra Hotel
#243 of 1,072 in London
4.0 of 5 stars 1,792 reviews
Paddington / Maida Vale
Tune Hotel - Paddington
Tune Hotel - Paddington
#289 of 1,072 in London
4.0 of 5 stars 1,770 reviews
South Kensington
The Park City Grand Plaza Kensington Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to London House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about London House Hotel

Property: London House Hotel
Address: 81 Kensington Gardens Square | Bayswater, London W2 4DJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Notting Hill
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#260 Family Hotel in London
#322 Romantic Hotel in London
#324 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — London House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming , newly renovated Hotel in Central London situated in a quiet and charming street The London House Hotel overlooks a leafy Victorian park in the exclusive Bayswater area and offers the excellent combination of both comfort and affordability in a prime location in central London. All room are newly renovated with contemporary décor. All rooms have air condition, TV, safe, mini fridge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your London House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
London Hotel
London House Hotel England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing