We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A superb place to stay.”
Review of London House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
London House Hotel
Ranked #311 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 19, 2012

I have stayed in London many times in various hotels and been dissapointed but not at this one,
an extremely clean and comfortable hotel with courteous staff, free wi-fi, safe and fridge in the room. An ideal location, quite, near many good restaurants and very handy for the underground. This is the only hotel I have ever stayed at and booked again before leaving. A credit to the management.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nic1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,301)
There are newer reviews for London House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,051 - 1,057 of 2,301 reviews

Reviewed October 17, 2012

Once you get past the airy, modern chic lobby and the uniformed bellhop, it was all downhill.

Our hearts sank when we reached the corridor leading to the room. The carpet was worn out and stained. The walls looked like they haven't been painted for decades.

The roorm itself wasn't much better. We had booked a "small double" and so did not expect anything big. However, everything from the room itself to the furnitures were of Lilliputian dimensions. My wife and I are both thin, but it was a struggle for us to both fit into the tiny bed. That in itself would not have been so bad, except the conditions of the room were not any better than those of the corridor. The heating did not work, the window pane was paper-thin, the decor drab and outdated.

As for the location, the hotel is conveniently located near a couple of tube stations, and there are a good selection of restaurants nearby. However, the street on which the hotel is located is a bit on the seedy side (we had a drunk screaming his lungs out just outside our window at 2:00am).

On the poitive side, the staff were very courteous and tried hard to help. It's a good thing we were here for only two nights, and spent most of our time outside sightseeing.

Room Tip: Avoid the "small double" rooms at all cost, even though I can't imagine the "medi...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HipTrippers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LHHManager, Manager at London House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2012

Thank you for writing your review.
I am very sorry to read that we have not met you expectations and you were not happy with our facilities but i am glad to read you were happy with the service of the hotel staff.
We put a lot of effort and work into keeping all the hotel very well maintained and clean and i am very surprised about you comment regarding the condition of the corridor and the room.
We paint all rooms and corridors on regular basis and we even change some of the carpets again recently. I will appreciate to know in which room you have stayed at so i can inspect it carefully.
You have booked a small double room which is offered at much cheaper rates than the standard room. The name of the room is "Small Double" and the size of the room and bed is available online to allow guest to make an educated choice. i am sorry that you have found it too small for your needs.
We are located in a very nice an quite Garden square and I believe your experience with noisy people outside your window was a rare incident that can happen in a big city like London. Usually this is a very quite and leafy area as most of our guest commented here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

Room was clean and recently refurbished. Staff was always helpful. Excellent location near Bayswater AND Queensway tube stations. Great value for London. Room was a bit small but that's to be expected in any European city. Within walking distance to Portabello market and Notting Hill area. Many restaurants within 2 blocks of hotel. On quiet secluded side street.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank alwaysgonesomewhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

The location is excellent, in a very quiet area near the busy Queesway and two tube stations (just a 5 minutes walk). There are many pubs, stores etc. in a short distance from the hotel.
The lobby is very nice and spacey, they have a lift. Rooms are very small, but for a short stay it is ok. You could hear a noise from the neigborhood rooms. The room is equiped with the flat TV, bed was narrow (140cm), but we slept well.
We did not try breakfast, there is maby possibilities outside. Room has a wifi access, but it's password protected. We did not need internet, so I cannot say, if it is free or not.
I think we will stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sindriz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LHHManager, Manager at London House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2012

Thank you for staying at London House hotel and for taking the time to write you kind review.
I am happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.
I am sure you will be happy to know that we offer Free Wi Fi throughout the hotel.
I hope to see you here again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

The hotel is located in a quiet area - next to a park. We had a room facing the street, but there were almost no traffic noise. Just a block from the main street in Bayswater where you will find grocery stores, pubs, (budget) restaurants and also a small shopping mall with a movie theatre. Only a couple of hundred meters to the Queensway and Bayswater tube stations.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a window facing the street/park.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristin_DL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LHHManager, Manager at London House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2012

Thank you so much for this nice review .
I am very pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay here.
i am glad to read also you like the Garden View room that you have stayed at.
When you make a booking at London house Hotel you have an option to choose to book the Garden view rooms in advance if they are available.

We hope to see you here gain in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
2  Thank cathy s
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

I spent two nights in this great central location hotel in London. I found staff to be very gracious and helpful. My room was very clean and quiet despite being near elevator. The atmosphere in lobby and dining room is upbeat and modern while still comfortable. Breakfast is plentiful and combined with good service equals good value. The location is fantastic for access to restaurants, shops and underground stations. I would highly recommend this hotel to any traveller (of any age) for it's great location and service. I look forward to my next stay there.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PamelaH0088
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Notting Hill
Phoenix Hotel
Phoenix Hotel
#286 of 1,072 in London
1,655 reviews
Notting Hill
The Premier Notting Hill
The Premier Notting Hill
#361 of 1,072 in London
1,510 reviews
Bloomsbury
Jesmond Dene Hotel
Jesmond Dene Hotel
#268 of 1,072 in London
1,756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Paddington / Maida Vale
Point A Hotel, London Paddington
Notting Hill
Kensington Gardens Hotel
Kensington Gardens Hotel
#427 of 1,072 in London
302 reviews
Bloomsbury
Ridgemount Hotel
Ridgemount Hotel
#130 of 1,072 in London
1,239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to London House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about London House Hotel

Address: 81 Kensington Gardens Square | Bayswater, London W2 4DJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Notting Hill
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#259 Family Hotel in London
#321 Romantic Hotel in London
#323 Business Hotel in London
Price Range: $102 - $237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — London House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming , newly renovated Hotel in Central London situated in a quiet and charming street The London House Hotel overlooks a leafy Victorian park in the exclusive Bayswater area and offers the excellent combination of both comfort and affordability in a prime location in central London. All room are newly renovated with contemporary décor. All rooms have air condition, TV, safe, mini fridge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your London House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
London Hotel
London House Hotel England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing