We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Makeover Required” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Lily London - Kensington/Earl's Court

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Lily London - Kensington/Earl's Court
Ranked #1,000 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Makeover Required”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

Booked into Lily for a one night stay recently, have to say I received an excellent reception on arrival, very nice lady welcomed me and my two friends and booked us in. Following morning similar experience at breakfast where a very nice breakfast was served, I.e. scrambled egg, bacon,sausage with copious amounts of tea/coffee and toast. Location was very good 100 metres from tube station with regular tubes to central London.
However I have to say that the accommodation is in need of a serious makeover, the hotel is a throw back to the seventies ( in my opinion) and it appears that it may have not got a lot of loving in the interim. A little lick of paint and new upholstery would do a lot for this hotel.
In general having read the reviews of this hotel I came back from same with mixed views of same, some very good points but a few very damaging ones.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

793 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    97
    180
    151
    344
See reviews for
115
189
90
139
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

The caked sick coagulating in the bonsai bush outside the reception area was an inauspicious start, and it didn't really get much better. Very small and grotty room, reasonably clean bed sheets but everything else stuck firmly in the 80s. The breakfast itself was edible but we were sat for 10 minutes on a dirty table without any acknowledgement. Eventually one of the waiting staff came and cleared the table next to us at which no-one was sitting, completely ignoring us sitting there staring at a pile of dirty plates with glum expressions. We then moved to the table which was cleaned but it took a further 10 minutes to get a member of staff's attention. The lady at reception was very rude on checking out. Not an experience to be repeated, its cheap but not cheap enough!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bawhorsham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these London hotels

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

Staff very very rude and don't care. If you get a smile you should buy a lottery ticket because its your lucky day. The lift is a death trap. The door to our room only opened half way because the room was so small and there was a wardrobe behind it. To get past the bed you had to walk sideways. Stains on walls and carpets. A funny smell to top it off.Horrific.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cridgers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Italy
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

There's nothing wrong with this hotel, it's cheap, so what do you expect? A room at the Riz Hotel?
I have chosen this hotel twice, never had problems.
Placed in a great position, two Tube stations are very close and it is zone 1/2 so you pay less, the staff is very kind, the rooms are tiny but clean, breakfast is enough.
I think I'll be back again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TeacherKla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

We had read the reviews of this hotel and were very apprehensive , but then very pleasantly surprised. The staff were very friendly and also very helpful. Yes the rooms were a shabby with cheap furniture and could have done with a lic of paint. The bathroom decor was a bit of a botch job but all was very clean. we did as for a quiet room which was well worth it as the Lily Road is very busy and loud. Yes the lifts are small but there are two with a maximum of 3 people - it says so inside the left. Yes one has to pay a deposit of £10 for the remote control of the telly, but is this a bad thing? in any case you get it bac. If you want to use a hair dryer - you just as for it. If you want to iron some clothes - there is an iron plus ironing board in the basement just before the restaurant. The offer at breafast is a an " English Breakfast" unless we asked for cereal it was not offered. The cooked breakfast consists of 2 slices of bacon - whic was lovely, a fried or scrambled eggs, one sausage - quite a cheap variety and some baed beans. For a hotel in London what i found a little disconcerting was the lack of cultural knowledge the staff demonstrated. There were quite a few overseas guests with minimal english skills discussing the breakfast with also overseas staff not recognising that their guests would not eat pork. Overhearing one guest who wanted to ask what the breakfast consited of asked the waitress if this was " Ham" she advised him it was not ham but failed to recognise that this guest would not pork and there did not seem to be any alternative.
The location was fantastic, we took advice from one of the Euston station staff who took his time and adviced us the benefits of buying an Oyster card. We loaded each card with £20 plus the £5 deposit and this saw us out for 4 days of travelling around London. We did not scrimp on our journeys and were refunded with our £5 deposit and also £1 credit.
I honestly feel that the previous reviews about the Hotel Lily were very harsh. The hotel is budget it is not flash and has no frills. It was warm, clean and friendly and i would definitley go there again. One piece of advice for travellers with mobile phones etc, there were only two sockets in the room so i would take an adapter next time.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the quiet side. Take an adapter if you have a few gadgets as there are only two so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank christina1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

We needed accommodation near Earls Court to attend Discover Dogs with my dog - this hotel appeared on a dog-friendly website - after booking was complete message appeared saying NO DOGS! After some discussion they kindly did allow my dog. The room was extremely basic with a strip light, no shampoo, no teaspoons, only two inconveniently placed electric sockets, no pictures on wall, just - basic. Staff were quite pleasant and helpful - the posh reception area belies the quality, cleanliness and standard of the room we were in. Only stay here if you really need to.

Room Tip: Only stay here if you really need to!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Sharon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
140 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

This is a Cheap Hotel and I mean Cheap. The room was small with mould around the bath. All you get is a Bath Towel no Hand Towel and a small bar of soap. The sink is what you would have in a small toilet. The shelves in the room had black around the edges.
It was also noisy.
Breakfast was ok with no real choice. the Orange juice was the real cheap brand. You have a choice of bacon , eggs, sausage and beans. White bread toast only. Served to you by a miserable waitress.
You have the privilege of Paying £85 per night for this.
My room was also noisy from the road and the fire door which did not open properly. I was glad to get out of this place after 3 nights. It made me ashamed to be British to have the owners offer this hotel to tourists.

Room Tip: Find a room in a better hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ourkidd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Hammersmith / Fulham
Ibis London Earls Court
Ibis London Earls Court
#451 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4,165 reviews
Earls Court
Sara Hotel
Sara Hotel
#626 of 1,089 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
Earls Court
Boka Hotel
Boka Hotel
#734 of 1,089 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Earls Court
Trebovir Hotel
Trebovir Hotel
#841 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 700 reviews
Kensington and Hyde Park
Kensington West Hotel
Kensington West Hotel
#735 of 1,089 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
Earls Court
Lord Jim Hotel
Lord Jim Hotel
#718 of 1,089 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lily London - Kensington/Earl's Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lily London - Kensington/Earl's Court

Property: Hotel Lily London - Kensington/Earl's Court
Address: 23-33 Lillie Road, London SW6 1UG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Hammersmith / Fulham
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,000 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Lily London - Kensington/Earl's Court 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for cheap hotels in Kensington then Hotel Lily is THE place for you. Comfortable and only a minute’s walk from the West Brompton Tube Station, Hotel Lily aims to please with its cheap rooms and warm, attentive staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Lily London - Kensington/Earl's Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Lily London - Kensington/Earl's Court England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing