We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home House” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Home House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Home House
Ranked #440 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Home House”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2014

I had imagined what Home House would be like from some photos I had seen but I was somewhat surprised. From the exterior, it is a large, imposing building but there's nothing to suggest it's a members club. I couldn't even spot a name plate. I had this vision of an elegant, if staid interior where rich and famous men of means drank 20 year-old malt, smoked Cuban cigars and wore Armani suits, whilst sitting in sumptuous armchairs beneath crystal chandeliers and waited upon by frocked-tailed, bow-tied waiters. In fact it's anything but. There's a labyrinth of corridors and days rooms with three lounges on the second floor that all connect and where members and guests all meet up. More surprising was the informality with people dressed casually, even in jeans, and where young women feel equally at home as their male colleagues.
On the down side (because it conflicted with my image) it was not quite as elegant as I had imagined but on the plus side was the informality. As a guest, I had worn a smart suit but my business colleague ( a member) that I had come to meet with was in jeans. Service though was very good with attentive staff. However to use the toilets I had to descend one staircase and ascend another which seems somewhat of a design fault considering members and guests mainly gathered for drinks etc in the three connecting lounges. That said, Home House also offers dining and accommodation facilities. It's location in Portman Square is very central and about an eleven pound taxi ride from stations like St Pancras and King's Cross and easily accessible from several tube stations such as Baker Street. For my colleague, it's a second office but from a personal perspective I found the background hum of many other conversations a little distracting. Perhaps a second visit would help me make up my mind. Can I say though the door staff were excellent and got me a cab literally within thirty seconds.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank flamingstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    51
    8
    5
    3
See reviews for
10
33
4
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
99 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2013

Very pleasant birthday meal with friends who are members of this club. The food was excellent and the staff attentive and friendly. I loved the atmosphere and if I get a chance I will be back. We had the beef and were all sharing, it was very well cooked.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tieler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tortola
Level Contributor
142 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2013

Outside it was cold and wet, inside warm and welcoming. Home House is the perfect place for friends to meet, relax and have a light lunch. It really feels like home. Even more so because of the attentive customer service that goes to great length in insuring that their members and their guests are comfortable.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KiaOra97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

I was staying as a guest of a Home House member. I loved it. Every bedroom is very different - fun and quirky! Glass of Champagne on arrival - nice touch and very welcome. Staff really friendly and helpful.
Loved the fact that each of the houses (there are three making the one club/hotel) is so different - ranging from relaxed lounges to cool bars.
Really recommend it for a unique London experience.

Room Tip: If you are on a weekend and don't like to party late - mention it to be in a quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank unroyal71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paignton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

A members only club, this place is a very beautiful group of houses with a fascinating history. Fantastic architecture, great service and a lovely atmosphere makes it worth a visit if you can get in. Will definitely come back again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SharkyAl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

A beautiful place to be, particularly in the Summer in the garden. Lots of events happening here and the atmosphere is buzzing. The service is friendly and the amount of facilities, functions and entertainment available to members is impressive. The food menu in the garden could do with more options, it is very limited for vegetarians. Apart from that it is a lovely place to visit.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CW698WorldTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

The company I work for had a relaunch party here the other day and the place was breathtaking.
I still can't believe how big the place is!
They had hired a room with all the food/drinks included for the night. The service, food and drink was all of very high quality - the bar staff were very friendly and the amount of food that was brought out was very good indeed.
As this place has smaller rooms, it really does make the atmosphere that bit more special when you're holding an event - would definitely recommend x

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cheryl T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Marylebone
Radisson Blu Edwardian Sussex Hotel
Marylebone
The Leonard Hotel
The Leonard Hotel
#326 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 634 reviews
Marylebone
The Zetter Townhouse, Marylebone
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marylebone
Hyatt Regency London - The Churchill
Marylebone
Radisson Blu Portman Hotel, London
Marylebone
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - Marble Arch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Home House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Home House

Property: Home House
Address: 20 Portman Square, London W1H 6LN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Marylebone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
#64 Spa Hotel in London
#240 Business Hotel in London
Number of rooms: 23
Also Known As:
Home House Hotel London
Home Hotel London
Home House London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing