We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“classy, stylish, just wonderful”
Review of Home House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Home House
Ranked #444 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 28, 2011

we visited the Home House for lunch as guests and I must say I was overwhelmed with the service and the quality of the food! Also the building is really magnificent and it offers various venues and menus for every occasion. I had the asparagus for starter, the lamb and pudding for main. I was amazed with the huge wine and champagne list! If u get the chance you just have to go, between shopping of course :)

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank christina v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (185)
There are newer reviews for Home House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

166 - 172 of 185 reviews

Reviewed October 2, 2011

The Home House, right in the centre of London close to Oxford street, has a big reputation; Classy, Chique, Rich and Famous. Pity thing is that this always attracts a double amount of wannabes. It makes you wonder whether their membership is worth it. It definitely does not stop people gazing through the salons making pictures with you in it.

The Home House seems to be a bit short of staff. Even though every one is extremely friendly it does take some time your eager pointing finger or waving hand noticed. Money wise a good thing. Getting drunk on an average of £12 for a glass of wine is quite a diet for your wallet.

True. The house is beautiful that's a given. The rooms outdated that's a certain. But who does sleep here hoping for a spa in the bathroom or even an a.c.? I slept in the Duke of Atholl suite. Third floor front side. It was the most fantastic autumn weekend with a sweet 28° C daytime temperature. My room at night did not get any colder than that. The Duke of Atholl suite is huge and covers almost one third of the front side building. Vestibule, sitting room, bed room and bath room with grandeur. It's like waking up in Pride and Prejudice. Either you like it or you hate it.

Leave expectations at home and enjoy because this is by far the funniest place to see London from the inside. You're a part of the London society in-crowd for a weekend. A once in a lifetime experience that no 5 star hotel can ever give you. My verdict? I'd come back just because it’s different.

Room Tip: Some rooms are at the court side. These can be noisy in summer. Park side I found reasonable quiet f...
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Artmiks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2011

I experienced the worst food in a London club ever, when taken to Home House for dinner this week by a corporate member. My asparagus was hard and far too cold. My lamb was horribly greasy. There was no way I would risk a pudding. I thought the loos were quite good though.

It seemed to me that lingering about in the various reception rooms were a lot of London's office workers who seem to think, by the way passing people are checked out, that this is the place to meet their future partners. Apart from a lively bar in the garden and a private party, the entire place reminded me of a mausoleum. The building is as grim as the food. I was offered the opportunity to become a member. I politely declined.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank BarryAscot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2011

A must to avoid. Crowded ,poor service ,shabby, dog haired and staff with attitude.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank vruce_je
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2010

A superb building, the cental staircase an achitectural gem. The staff are very attentive and the food excellent. Some furnishings,the transparent plasic 'Regency' style dining chairs and the three TV screens in the bar, were not to my own taste but this Club presumably attracts a membership who may not be comfortable in a more traditional London Club. With this niche clientel in mind I rate it 4/5.

  • Stayed: May 2010
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank elliven_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2010

This exclusive hotel room was a gift for our anniversary. We were lavished in comfort and style. Its an old mansion converted into about 16 unique rooms overlooking Portman Square. Each room decorated with a different style. Ours was the Lady Susan Thorpe's room. Excellent down bedding, VERY large bathroom. The Bison Bar is what you want in your own home. Careful, they smoke in there too! This is the only place the house smelled of smoke though. We didn't use the spa/gym or eat here, but it was a lovely stay and if I could afford it, I'd stay there every time! The little Kingly alligator slippers will cost you about $26 US if you take them home!

Stayed: March 2007, traveled as a couple
2  Thank 33degsnorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2009

Old fashioned club atmosphere with all the advantages and disadvantages that go with that. Some might call it stodgy or snobby but most would call it elegant. Everything is old but the rooms are well decked out. Food is fair and drinks expensive but the atmosphere and location are excellent. Lots of door in corridors a bit strange but you definately feel like you are in London!

Stayed: July 2009, traveled on business
1  Thank AileenCBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Marylebone
Radisson Blu Portman Hotel, London
Marylebone
No photo provided
Portman Square Hotel
#789 of 1,072 in London
6 reviews
Marylebone
Z at Gloucester Place
Z at Gloucester Place
#202 of 1,072 in London
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marylebone
The Leonard Hotel
The Leonard Hotel
#297 of 1,072 in London
680 reviews
Marylebone
The Zetter Townhouse, Marylebone
Marylebone
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - Marble Arch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Home House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Home House

Address: 20 Portman Square, London W1H 6LW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Marylebone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
#69 Spa Hotel in London
#240 Business Hotel in London
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz so you can book your Home House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Home House Hotel London
Home Hotel London
Home House London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing