We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“football trip”
Review of Holly House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holly House Hotel
Ranked #924 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Stopped here with friend for 1 night-adequate for our requirements as only looking for bed at cheap price in centre of London.Would not reccommend staying more than 1 night as room was very small and in poor decorative order,stairways very narrow and small breakfast room in basement.
Breakfast consisted of cereal,toast and cheap instant coffee or tea bags-included in price.
Location was excellent as next to Victoria train and bus stations.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fozz2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (993)
There are newer reviews for Holly House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

269 - 275 of 993 reviews

Reviewed August 14, 2013

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Jolanda V
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

our room was just above the main railway of Victoria station. Terible noise all day and night. There was no oportunity for any rest. the window had to stay opened otherwise the hit was unberible and no air.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Ayelet B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

We have nothing to say except that we had BED BUGS in our room!!!!! We told to the reception and they didn't do nothing.... they haven't even changed us the room!!! A complete waste of money!!!!! Dirty room, the daily "clean" sheets and towels still was DIRTY! Poor breakfast and rude service!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank ElenaG1232013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

We expected to stay in a somewhat inexpensive hotel in London as it was our first stop in long, expensive vacation throughout Europe. Our reservation was for Holly House, but on arrival we were told our room was actually in a different hotel called "cedar" something. It was quite confusing.
The pros of this place are as follows: close proximity to the Victoria tube and train station.

The cons; however: Extremely small rooms with no space for a single suitcase if you hope to walk to the en suite bathroom, beds as hard as rocks, pillows offered absolutely no support, sheets were itchy, no elevator for the 4-5 floor hotel, extremely narrow staircase with plastic tarps strewn throughout the stair wells, en suite bathroom facilities were disturbingly tiny with absolutely zero space between the toilet, sink & shower head (seriously, it was a 2x5' tiled closet with no shower stall--just a toilet, sink & shower head thrown into the closet together without any sort of separation between each!). There is no ventilation or air conditioning system whatsoever, so the room was miserably hot the entire time. There was a single, old fan provided, but it was so small and ineffective with exposed fan blades because the protective barrier had broken off--It really offered no relief.

We considered leaving and finding another hotel, but as our days during our brief stay in London were jam packed, we decided to stick it out. The staff seemed to be aware of the sad conditions, and I felt empathy for them as I believe they were trying their best with what they have. Regardless of this, it truly was miserable to wake up in this dismal room, explore the wondrous city and return--totally tired at the end of each day--to such a dismal and hot room which offered no comfort.
Nex time, we will pay for a proper hotel in the beautiful city of London. Lesson learned.

Room Tip: Unless you are desperate, go elsewhere.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kristy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Danielle G
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

My friend and i checked in to Holly House the 7/7-13 - 12/7-13 and we had trouble with understanding the personal who worked there. Also when we got the hotelroom we got a room where there was poob on the wall beside the bathroom and poob on the floor so we got another room and that was fine but we were very surprised that this could happend and had never tried this before. i had to start an argument with the personal before we could get a new room to the same price. The only thing that was very positive was that we lived so close to alle the things we wanted to see as tourists. that was really god the location.
we eat breakfast one time at Holly House and all they had to offerwas toast, butter, tea, coffee, cornflakes and orange juice. that was not something we were pleased about even though the price for the hotel was cheap there could have been som egg or fruit or yoghurt?

Last but least we will not live at Holly House again but we were happy about that they a last gave us another room.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Monica A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Pimlico
Comfort Inn Buckingham Palace Road
Pimlico
Stanley House
Stanley House
#740 of 1,072 in London
1,165 reviews
Pimlico
Vegas Hotel
Vegas Hotel
#905 of 1,072 in London
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pimlico
Enrico Hotel
Enrico Hotel
#926 of 1,072 in London
542 reviews
Pimlico
Comfort Inn London - Victoria
Belgravia
The Z Hotel Victoria
The Z Hotel Victoria
#317 of 1,072 in London
1,633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holly House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holly House Hotel

Address: 20 Hugh Street, London SW1V 1RP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Pimlico , Victoria
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #924 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Price Range: $62 - $151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Holly House Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Holly House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holly Hotel London
Holly House Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing