We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holly House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Holly House Hotel
Ranked #944 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Earby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

I've been stopping at the Holly House Hotel now for a number of years and very rarely stop anywhere else when I visit London.

My last stop was for the Olympics - I stayed for 7 nights and for £55 a night you don't get much cheaper in London for a single room with Breakfast.

All rooms have a fridge in them and are cleaned daily.

My only complaint on my last stay was that my key didn't work to get into the building for Breakfast, so the mornings I chose to have breakfast at the hotel I had to alert a staff member to let me in. But this will not stop me from booking in the future.

Room Tip: Rooms on the road side are quieter as this hotel does overlook the trainline.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FThompson840
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

955 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    157
    316
    164
    271
See reviews for
217
252
169
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leiden, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

Myself, my wife, and a friend wandered into London for the Crewe Alex appearance at Wembley. However, we live in The Netherlands and arrived by coach, at 11pm, in Victoria coach station. What we required, was a bed for me and the wife, and a bed for the friend, and a pub within close proximity to go grab a swift beer in. That's what we got. Sure, the room was small. Sure the shower and the toilet were more than a little too close for comfort. But, the shower worked, and worked well, the rooms were clean and warm, and on the second night, what seemed tiny upon arrival, was actually err... ok no... it was still tiny, but, it had housed us the first night without issue and so it housed us again the second night with exactly the same panache! I can't possibly tell anyone "stay here", and not be worried that they might hunt me down and try and slap me silly afterwards, but, i can say this: there are much worse places you could stay in, and the price here is hostel comparable. I'd stay there again, but I'm not sure I'd tell anyone I was with that I had been here before!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AliWiseman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coimbra, Portugal
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

When i arrived at London i was very surprised by the location of this hotel. It's an excelent location, 5mins to London Victoria and tube station.
The accommodation is reasonable, the rooms are very small and the train station is behind the building so i heard a little bit of noise.
The staff could be more friendly.
For a small trip it's a reasonable place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mara P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

It was quite good for this price. Location is excellent! Victoria Station (railways, underground, coach) is 5 minutes walk from the hotel. You live 15 minutes from Buckingham Palace. Service is not brilliant but is not too bad, while cleanliness is good.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank amreetta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lennox Head, Australia
Level Contributor
243 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013 via mobile

The three rules of real estate are location, location, location. Holly House hotel has very small rooms and tiny bathrooms and toilets but you are living in central London about 5 mins from Victoria Tube Station. How much time do you want to spend in your room? The price is cheap. My recommendation to the owners would be to put in a TV room or common room areas for guests to mingle.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Peter K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here one week with my friend and we liked it because of the location and the value. The rooms were really small but clean and nice. Staff was okay and so was the breakfast. If you are looking for a place with great location with a minimum budget, i defenetly recommend this one!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Diratra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

For us everything was great. I'd choose this hotel over and over again. Breakfast was nice, rooms clean and warm, friendly staff .... and the location is superb. All in all, we loved it. Just the railway station is too near, but still...not such a problem to sleep.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
2 Thank Aleksandra V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Pimlico
Enrico Hotel
Enrico Hotel
#937 of 1,089 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
Pimlico
Caswell Hotel London Victoria
Caswell Hotel London Victoria
#731 of 1,089 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
Pimlico
Stanley House
Stanley House
#693 of 1,089 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pimlico
Vegas Hotel
Vegas Hotel
#804 of 1,089 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
Pimlico
Comfort Inn Buckingham Palace Road
Pimlico
Comfort Inn London - Victoria
Comfort Inn London - Victoria
#659 of 1,089 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holly House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holly House Hotel

Property: Holly House Hotel
Address: 20 Hugh Street, London SW1V 1RP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Pimlico , Victoria
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #944 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Holly House Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Holly House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holly Hotel London
Holly House Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing