We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Below average, both food and service” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Illusions Bar and Grill

Illusions Bar and Grill
Ranked #16,820 of 22,204 Restaurants in London
Cuisines: Bar, European, Middle Eastern
Dining options: Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Mestre, Italia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Below average, both food and service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

The food is nothing special, I would say below the average in the Ealing area. Service is not very good either.
I went there because I wanted to watch a football match that they had advertised as shown on TV, but the room was noisy with background music at high volume, so you could not hear anything. There was an annoying draught, too.

As you can imagine, I'm not recommending this place...

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Marco L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1
    7
    4
    3
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
248 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
“Awful Service, Cold Food”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

Arrogant Staff, delivery times awful and out of sync, no care in the world. Never again and I will definately go somewhere else.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JetsetZoom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“A great student pub and shisha bar with surprisingly delicious lebanese food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

The name 'Flavas Lounge Bar and Grill' Makes it sound far more elegant that it actually is. And on arrival you will feel the tripadvisor photos are abit too generous. This place is not somewhere you go for an elegant meal or drinks.

I am not discouraging you to visit though. I live 5 minutes away and eat here at least once a week and smoke shisha every evening. It has a warm community feel and is great for nighttime atmosphere with its chilled out outdoor seating. The food is actually really good. The european side is average but not horrible, but the lebanese is delicious. The Kofta Koshkash (I think its called), and the shwarma is well seasoned and yummy. As are the pastries. The shwarma is oily and the food is like lebanese pub grub but it is great for a casual evening.

The reviews have spoken about cold staff. I would agree that they are not that friendly. The shisha men and a waitress called Anna is lovely, but the rest dont act like they are happy to be there. I wouldnt say that is the fault of the staff considering they work ridiculously long hours for how much they are paid, I would be depressed too. This is not uncommon of bars and pubs in general as they work late, long shifts, rarely given break times unlike other professions, and are rarely paid above minimum wage.

I wouldn't let the staff review discourage you. Great for student nights, younger crowds, shisha smokers, drinks on a friday or a good causal lebanese meal. I would recommend it.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ayseavci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
41 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Would you expect bourbon biscuits for Christmas dinner?”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

So Flava's tried to squeeze in a group of us from work for Christmas dinner. The actual dinner wasn't too bad but the service was pretty awful and dessert was a tray of bourbon biscuits!!! Never again!

  • Visited December 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank psgregory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
192 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Ticked boxes - despite luke-warm staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2011

Had a really good night at Flavas - food tasted great - though falafal course didn't come as described was still tasty. Staff didn't seem totally switched on but it was made up for by teh ambience - we went on a Thursday which was a low-key Salsa class with mostly easy-listening music rather than ta constant high octave, up tempo type. It was handy having a car park as on-street parking is fairly tight. The outdoor dining/relaxing area looked comfortable, though we dined inside. Would certainly go again.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank luvtoflydubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Illusions Bar and Grill also viewed

 

Been to Illusions Bar and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing