We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very, very dissapointing”
Review of Fairway Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Fairway Hotel
Ranked #81 of 555 London B&B and Inns
York Western Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Very, very dissapointing”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

We made a booking for 4 people in a family room at Fairway Hotel in London.as recommended by a friend. Upon arrival it was explained to us that Central and Fairway Hotel have split (now competitors) and that our booking had been transferred to Central Hotel accross the road.

We were offered no apology and no renumeration. The Central Hotel was disgusting. The room was really really hot and really tiny. The four of us were crammed in and our stay was extremely uncomorftable.

Fairway was highly recommended but based on our experience I could not recommend them to anyone. If you do have a booking there please double check you are in Fairway Hotel and not the Central Hotel.

The only plus was the location which was excellent.A one minute walk form Kings Cross Station.

Room Tip: Make sure your booking is at Fairway and not Central
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AvonEvents
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GanpatMalta, Manager at Fairway Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Hello AvonEvents,

We are very sorry to hear that your stay at the Central Hotel was not to your satisfaction, but please be informed that when you booked your stay you booked at the Fairway & CENTRAL Hotel, so it was very likely that your room was at the Central Hotel. Obviously when the two hotels split we also had to split the bookings. If the Hotels were still operating as one, the chances of you staying in the Central Hotel were just the same. Just because you came to the Fairway's reception and the receptionist directed you to the Central Hotel (where your room was reserved when you booked) does not mean that they had to apologize or remunerate you for your stay.

So it is not fair to say that you do not recommend people to stay at the Fairway Hotel when you have never stayed at the Fairway Hotel yourself. Your booking was never transferred, it always was reserved at the Central Hotel. If you wished to stay specifically at the Fairway Hotel and informed us when you made the booking, we would have been more than happy to reserve your room in the Fairway Hotel.

Kindest regards,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

555 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    264
    107
    49
    22
See reviews for
120
168
61
64
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

London is expensive, so I think 60£ for a single room with breakfast just off King's cross is a very good deal. When I add that the staff is friendly, the rooms are clean and the hotel is well entertained although it is of course neither expensively built nor new, then it is a bargain.
What I had to put with is a small room, a door which slams if you are not careful and shower and toilet on the floor which also clean but with very basic standard.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndersCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

easy to find hotel just mins from kings cross
the building is two houses knocked into one , so if the reception staff say go up the stairs make sure what side of the building you are on as i found out.
single en suite very small so don't expect much room but it dose as your properly going to be out more of the day.
staff very helpful i asked for walking directions to the British museum and they printed it of for me.
being so close to the main road you would think be noisy at night . If you need an extra pillow you should find one in the wardrobe well don't worry about that no problem sleeping. sometimes you would hear an ambulance or fire engine .
breakfast .is ok but would say this what let down the experience the bacon teases quiet cheep but some people are used to it. being only about 22 chairs over 5 tables for breakfast sometimes you will have to wait ,but only once it was busy and the good thing about being a solo traveller you can always share a table with someone breakfast is open from 7 till 9 so plenty of time.
rooms where cleaned every day i was there and i was there 3 nights
if using the underground you don't need to cross the main road to get to it , go down Argyle street heading towards the station but when you get to the end of the street turn right and there's stairs down to the underground , coming back look for Euston road exit
be hard to find a b&b cheaper in that area of London

Room Tip: pay the extra and go en suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aaronking1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
109 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

For what is supposed to be an expensive city we found this great value for the money. At a little over a hundred bucks we got a good size room, private bath, only a few stairs to negotiate and a full English breakfast. A couple of beefs: sure would be nice to have a hand towel and bath mat; all we got was a bath towel each, and one sliver of soap. The hotel is just half a block from the Kings Cross - St Pancras station. We arrived London via Eurostar from Paris and departed via East Coast trains to the north of England. It was an easy walk both ways with 3 weeks worth of luggage. Despite being so close to the station, the street was very quiet. And here's the real gem: McGlynns Pub, about 100 steps up the street. (Check it out on Trip Advisor). We ate there twice. Good home cooked pub fare for about £7 each. Full of locals enjoying a pint and a ball game.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnH910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

I came here in September 2013 with my wife.
Everything is clean, but everything is TOO SMALL: from the bathroom inside the room, to the bed, to the room itself.

English breakfast not too bad.
No noise from outside.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Giaiant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these London hotels

Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013

we stayed at this hotel as a result of our original hotel being overbooked.The hotel is literally opposite st pancras station so in a ideal spot, we were only here 1 night as we were moving on to another hotel in the west end afterwards. there isn't a lift so be prepared for lots of stairs, especially if you're on the top floor which we were ! The room was clean and we did have to share a toilet and shower but everywhere was lovely and clean . breakfast was included, a traditional English breakfast, very nice. a nice b & b, great price, a large hotel in the immediate vicinity was charging 7 times as much for a room. free internet access as well , yes if were staying in the area again we would return, the staff were great and very friendly and professional

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth195
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
151 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013

This was not the hotel we booked in London originally but we ended up here after our original hotel cancelled our booking and expedia did not inform us of the cancellation. So after a few minutes of drama, the staff of the original hotel called this hotel and secured us a room (for the same fee) for the night. The lady at the reception was cheerful and friendly. When she heard about our horror story, she immediately made us feel reassured that we wont be homeless in London for the night. Because the rooms were not ready, we left our stuff and went sight seeing first. Afterwards we just came back to a fairly quick and efficient checkin.

The room was spacious enough although it was a bit tricky navigating the narrow stairs with luggage. The doors were a bit tricky to handle as they do not necessarily open in the proper direction. Beds were clean and the shower was okay. The room has no airconditioning but it did not matter to us since it was freezing in rainy London that day. However i think this would be quite hot if its in the summer. There is appropriate heating however.

The best part of this hotel is its location. It was literally about 200m from St. Pancras station. Perfect if you're catching the train. My friend and I missed breakfast since we were rushing so I dont know if it was as good as people say. Maybe next time , I'd get to try it. This hotel is definitely worth it if you want to be close to the trains in London.

Room Tip: ask for rooms in the lower floors. hard to lug up luggage in the narrow stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RunnerJaime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Alhambra Hotel
Alhambra Hotel
#248 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,947 reviews
Bloomsbury
Crestfield Hotel
Crestfield Hotel
#548 of 1,063 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 883 reviews
Bloomsbury
Hotel Megaro
Hotel Megaro
#116 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Central Hotel
Central Hotel
#93 of 555 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
Bloomsbury
Hotel Meridiana
Hotel Meridiana
#71 of 555 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 804 reviews
Bloomsbury
Princess Hotel
Princess Hotel
#24 of 555 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairway Hotel

Property: Fairway Hotel
Address: 15 Argyle Street, London WC1H 8EJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury , Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #81 of 555 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Fairway Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clean and comfortable family run B&B hotel. Excellent location in front of Kings Cross, St Pancras international stations. Direct links to Heathrow, Gatwick, Luton airports. Rooms en suite or economy include English breakfast, tea/coffee making, free wifi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Fairway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairway Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing