We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a turist trap”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Westbury Hotel Kensington
Ranked #790 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Reviewed November 7, 2013

Double rooms with a queen bed are 6 squared meters. Since the bed is about 3 squared meters, you can figure how much living space is left for luggage, geting in and out of the bed, etc. The blanket was soiled (clean sheets fortunately). The room had low quality appliances, a bumpy bed and a leaky window. The breakfast very poor. Not even cheap (140 pound/night). Impossible to talk to the manager. In one word, a scam.
The only positive aspect is that it is very close to the underground station.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fabio m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (653)
There are newer reviews for Westbury Hotel Kensington
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

163 - 169 of 653 reviews

Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

The only good thing I can say about the hotel is its location. It is central to some of the highlights of London, including museums, Albert Hall and Hyde Park. It appears to be a safe and clean neighborhood and walking distance to the Earls Court Station.
That said, the rooms were small, bordering on the impossible. The shower and toilet dirty, the bed spreads clearly washed every second year and there was no plug or remote for the tv, ($5 dollar deposit.) the bathroom fittings were rusted, mould in the kettle, a large, dangerous chip in the toilet seat, chips in every piece of crockery, there was no safety rails on the window to keep children from falling, the breakfast room was small, the shower head too high and the water pressure too low, and renovations and building work, (multiple Jack hammers included) next door. The staff spoke generally poor English.
I will not be returning and suggest careful research should this premises be considered any time soon.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Juddblues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

5minute walk to trains and bus stations. Great cafe "Paul" nearby :)

Room basic but clean and well priced for central london. Walking distance to hyde park and very friendly/helpful staff. Basic but decent breakfast and would stay again for price that we paid!

Room Tip: Triple Room: Gives you 2 doubles and a single.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile

If you are a student or someone who doesn't care about their surroundings then this is the place for you (sorry students).

Firstly, you need a passport to check in... Even if you are British; don't expect a plug in your sink... They've never had them; make sure you have cash on you...£5 deposit needed for remote control!!! I'm here for 2 nights and there is no opportunity to cancel 2nd night.

The bathroom has mould on the ceiling and the paint is peeling off.

Beds have sheets and blankets. I challenged on how often blanket and counter pane get washed... After each visitor. If that's true I'll eat my hat.

I am used to much better quality for same price. I would highly recommend the Park International around the corner.

I went to complain, said I felt like crying... Was given a 'better' room .. The one I'm describing.

The woman on the desk seemed genuinely shocked that I was complaining.

Good point: sainsbury's around the corner for wine and chocolate!

No bedside lights....I could go on

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rachel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Syaed at the Westbury in June 2013. Good first impressions, clean, friendly receptionist. Room was large and comfortable with small ensuite. Breakfast buffet selection was limited but adequate. Well located just a few minutes to walk to Earls Court tube station.
Hotel has a lift which will be a benefit for many.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

Very near to the underground, in a quiet street, typical english buildings, very helpful and kind staff. Low prices if compared with other similar hotels. We stayed here only for a weekend, but Surely we will come back soon!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paolo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Stayed here in late May, 2013. There was 4 of us, and we stayed for a week. The room was pretty small and cramp for 4 people. Good thing everyone was slim or else we would never have made it here. The bathroom, you have to step over the toilet set to get to the shower, to use the toilet, you have to seat wierdly or your knees will touch the wall! And yes, probably being an old building, water coming from the shower is not strong. If you only use the room to sleep, then this is okay as it was kept clean daily and the front desk clerks are pretty helpful, and breakfast is alright... just meatless. The elevator worked all the time we were there. We slept well. Staying here wasn't cheap either, but we all wanted to stay in the room together and you hardly can find a room for 4 in London. The wifi only worked 2 days out of 7 that we stayed here.
The neighborhood looks quiet and good, but this is misleading. Follow what your Mom says about not talking to strangers. My 2 friends were waiting for us outside the doorway, and 3 Middle Eastern men approach them and ask them to show their money, while one pulled a roll of money of his own! Strange and crazy!!! And don't eat at "Nando's" a Portuguese- African fusion restaurant down the street 3 blocks away. My handbag was stolen with all my money, cellphone, camera, etc... I only placed it in an empty seat next to me, and in a snap, it was gone! You still have to watch out for "gypsies" here in London. You are better off eating at the pubs or where the Brits go!

Room Tip: Ask for rooms in the higher floors!
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cutnsew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Kensington and Hyde Park
Kensington West Hotel
Kensington West Hotel
#747 of 1,072 in London
459 reviews
Caring Hotel
#530 of 1,072 in London
786 reviews
South Kensington
Best Western The Cromwell
Best Western The Cromwell
#643 of 1,072 in London
1,304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
Saint Simeon
Saint Simeon
#706 of 1,072 in London
360 reviews
South Kensington
Avni Kensington Hotel
Avni Kensington Hotel
#726 of 1,072 in London
1,059 reviews
Earls Court
Trebovir Hotel
Trebovir Hotel
#844 of 1,072 in London
737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westbury Hotel Kensington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westbury Hotel Kensington

Address: 22-24 Collingham Place, London SW5 0PZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Earls Court , Kensington and Hyde Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #790 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Price Range: $61 - $181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Westbury Hotel Kensington 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small, newly refurbished hotel with friendly staff - close to museums, Earl's Court and Olympia exhibition centers, underground. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Westbury Hotel Kensington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westbury Kensington London
Westbury Kensington Hotel London
Westbury Hotel London
Westbury Hotel Kensington London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing