We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Dalmacia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Dalmacia Hotel
Ranked #756 of 1,090 Hotels in London
Lendava, Brezovica, Slovenia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

Me and my boyfriend stayed in this hotel for 8 days. It was reasonable price and we got a discount for staying there 7nights. We were searching only for a place to sleep in and have breakfast. We liked it very much that we had our own bathroom, although we had to wait for 20 minutes for a hot water. The hotel is in a calm neighbourhood, with shops, restaurants and caffes in near by. Its 10 min walk away from underground station on a central line, so we went from there directly to the centre of London. Staff is very friendly, you get your room cleaned every day with fresh towels, shampoos,... We were on a third floor in a room 7, so we had to walk many steps and maybe they could lower the heating...

Room Tip: higher floor have bad internet access and you have to walk steps
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mateja G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    91
    34
    16
    9
See reviews for
47
54
20
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

Stayed at this hotel for three nights during the Olympics and was not at all happy with this hotel. We were in a room on the third floor which is up a total of fifty six steps (no lift) , just not what is needed after a tiring day. The room was very small, I think it should be for single occupation.
The room was very hot although a fan was provided. The electricity point for the kettle was not working and the tap in the bathroom sink was loose and about to drop off.
On the plus side the hotel was nicely cleaned every day and is reasonably convenient to tube stations which are a ten minute walk away.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Quaker_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Govilon, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

Myself and my girlfriend stayed here for two nights (Friday-Sunday) and were immediately welcomed by the owner at the reception, he was a very nice bloke who provided us with our keys not only to the room but to the front door he also tried to upgrade us from the twin room (only room we could find) we had to a double. Room itself was large with a small but perfectly equipped bathroom. It was on the front of the property with a bit of road noise but then that kind of noise is expected in London. The price of our stay was to our view a little inflated because of the Olympics and if we found this hotel at the same price when the Olympics wasn't in London we probably wouldn't pay the same money for our room. But as it was the hotel is well within walking distance of shepards bush and gold hawk tube stations and was a good base for taking trips into central London. Incredibly flexible as we had to check out very early on the Sunday morning and accommodated our every need, would happily recommend this hotel to anyone as we had a very nice stay at Dalmacia hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SurfBodDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
100 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 407 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2012

It's difficult to be too critical of a hotel like this, since when you stay in this sort of hotel, you're getting exactly what you've paid for. However, after staying in many such budget hotels in this part of London, I can say that the Dalmacia is merely ok. Read on for more:

LOCATION:
The Hotel Dalmacia is located right on Shepherd's Bush road, about 1/3rd of the way between Shepherd's Bush Common, and Hammersmith Station. If you're arriving by air, the easiest way to get here is to take the Piccadilly line from Heathrow to Hammersmith, and then simply walk the 10-15 minutes up Shepherd's Bush Road -- it will take about 45 minutes from leaving Heathrow. (Taxis are available right outside of Hammersmith Station if you need one.) Also using public transportation, you're about 30 minutes from the Tower of London or Parliament, 30 minutes from King's Cross Station, or about 20-25 minutes from Kew Gardens.

PROPERTY:
The hotel is one in a long strip of townhouse-style buildings, lining that side of Shepherd's Bush Road. Some 90% of those buildings are also hotels, of varying quality from "flophouse" to "luxury boutique". In general, however, the only real difference is going to be service quality and amenities -- the Dalmacia is squarely in the middle. Being located directly on a major road, the road noise on the front-side of the hotel is inescapable. The presence of a police station, fire station and major hospital within 1 mile doesn't help much; sirens wail down the street 24/7. While other reviews seem to indicate that the back-side of the hotel is quieter, our room was on the 2nd floor overlooking the road, and even with ear-plugs, the noise was substantial.

ROOMS:
This is where Dalmacia _could_ have been a better hotel. While clean, the room just felt worn-out. Maintenance in some key areas has been overlooked, with the switch plates askew on the walls, the shower floor worn and cracked, stained and sun-bleached curtains, and frizzy blankets on the bed. The bed itself was actually pretty comfortable, and as noted, everything was clean. The bathroom was tiny, and while there was plenty of hot water available, the water pressure was poor. There is a TV in the room -- though, tellingly, the remote is checked in/out with the room rather than left there. There is a small in-room safe in the closet. There were only a few small light fixtures in the room, one of which tended to flicker out if bumped the wrong way. The extractor fans in the bathroom did not work, so the tiny room steamed up rapidly during a shower. There is no HVAC, so if the room is too hot or cold, opening the windows is the only option -- which, of course, lets in even more noise.

AMENITIES:
There is theoretically wireless Internet available, but the signal was weak and flaky. We gave up rapidly and just used the coffee shop down the road. Breakfast is available at an additional fee, and must be ordered the day before -- at £7 per person, you can do better at any cafe nearby. Standard toiletries are provided in the room. The towels in the bathroom are somewhere between terrycloth and 80-grit sandpaper.

STAFF:
The staff were friendly, but seemed to be all immigrants for whom English is not necessarily their first language. They were very helpful and accommodating, and answered all of our questions, but it occasionally took 2 or 3 tries... To say that the atmosphere was "laid back" would be an understatement. The staff are there to check you in and out, and everything else sort of seemed like an imposition.

OTHER:
Note that the hotel charges 3% additional to the room rate to pay by credit card. Also note that the hotel has a sister property - the Hotel Adria - in Hammersmith. We've also stayed there, and given a choice between the two, I would recommend the Adria anytime. Better rooms, quieter location, and virtually the same rates.

SUMMARY:
Look - face it, hotels in London are expensive. Excessively so. So the lure of saving money and staying in a budget hotel like this is strong. We're in London at least once a year, and still fall victim to it too, since the prospect of paying £140/night to stay in a Holiday Inn is repugnant to us. But do understand that you get what you pay for sometimes, and these budget West London hotels are just not very good.

So if you're already resigned to a small, worn-down hotel room on the cheap, the Dalmacia is slightly above average, but nowhere near the best option available. Their sister property in Hammersmith, the Adria, is better. And there are better still, but there are also considerably worse.

Just understand what you're in for, and this hotel will be a clean, okay visit of necessity. If you're on a once-in-a-lifetime vacation, hold your nose and spend for a larger chain or boutique hotel to avoid disappointment.

Room Tip: Make sure to get a room on the back-side of the building, to avoid road noise from Shepherd's Bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Darlox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

Stayed here at the beginning of July to attend an event in Olympia. Hotel seemed centrally placed for my needs, approx 10 mins east for olympia venue, 10 mins north for one tube station, and 10 mins south for yet another tube station.
Stayed in one of the basement rooms, and at the back of the house away from the road to avoid the noise.

The room itself was ok, and indeed quite large for an independent hotel, however did have a few minor issues. When showing us into the room by the hotel staff member (might be one of the owners), he went to show us how to lock the door to the room, and the lock fell off! This didnt seem much of an issue however as door still seemed secure enough, however we barricaded the door with luggage overnight just incase.
The beds while perfectly long enough, were a bit on the thin size! I had the middle bed of the 3, and im a big guy. Whenever I rolled over, I feared I would roll out of bed. I didnt though.
The 'door' to the bathroom was only a flimsy wooden partition which kept coming off its rollers, so we got to the point of not even bothering to try closing it when using the room.
Finally, the room did get very hot overnight as there was no air conditioning. The main door/window opened fully onto the patio which could let fresh air in, however we were unsure where it lead too, nor how safe it actually was to leave the door wide open overnight being in London, so it had to be closed.

Other than those very minor issues though, its a good little hotel, and have rebooked to stay there again in Oct this year.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel, away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crippsy_99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
Level Contributor
173 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2012

Stayed here as I read good things about this hotel. It's one of many located on Sheperd's Bush Road and they all appear to be old terrace houses converted to hotels.

The hotel was easy enough to find after getting out of the tube station although it was a short hike away. This could be an issue for those with suitcases but if you travel light or with a backpack, not a big issue.

The room was small but adequate with a table fan and mini fridge provided. However, the bathroom was even smaller and I found this to be small to the point of being claustrophobic. Noise is an issue if you have a room facing the main road as sirens from the police cars and fire trucks are piercing.

The free wifi didn't work too well so I was given the password to the wifi signal of the hotel/house next door and this worked perfectly.

All in all, great for those on a budget or just on a short layover.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank finendandy21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2012

Very friendly, clean hotel. Lovely full English breakfast. Can't fault it. Would certainly go back

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jerpw12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Pearl Hotel London
#833 of 1,090 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
Hammersmith / Fulham
Adria Hotel
Adria Hotel
#227 of 1,090 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 675 reviews
Hotel 65
#793 of 1,090 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Royal Guest House 2
#721 of 1,090 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
Hotel Sergul
#168 of 574 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
Royal Guest House
#200 of 574 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dalmacia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dalmacia Hotel

Property: Dalmacia Hotel
Address: 71 Shepherds Bush Road, London W6 7LS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Hammersmith / Fulham
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #756 of 1,090 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Dalmacia Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Dalmacia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dalmacia Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing