We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“expensive and 1/10 experience”
Review of Central Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Central Hotel
Ranked #94 of 560 London B&B and Inns
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“expensive and 1/10 experience”
Reviewed March 24, 2014

Booked 2 nights but after the first we could not bare staying and changed to another hotel. the hotel is in a good location but apart from that there is no reason to stay here. we where directed to our room (number 5) which was in the basement sharing a toilet with rooms 1-6. toilet was very shabby and noisy at all times, shower was small and grotty. sharing the bathroom meant that there was morning queues as well as holding out desperate for the toilet waiting for it to be clear. now onto the room. probably the worst i have ever stayed in. old creaky bed and uncomfortable mattress meaning its extremely hard to get to sleep. on top of that all the floors are old, wooden and creaky meaning you can hear every movement made around you and above you and loudly. I don't leave reviews normally but this one was worth mentioning so dont knock this off as just someone complaining and used to good hotels. I have traveled around the world and stayed in some terrible places. This was horrible and cost a fortune at £80 a night. I asked for an upgrade and they charged £95 (so dont try that either). look around and just get any hotel in zone 1 of the tube. its so easy to us the location is great no matter what

Room Tip: avoid rooms 1-8. these are in the basement, of bad quality and share a toilet. These rooms may be th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RooN3y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central_Hotell, Front Office Manager at Central Hotel, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
The room you booked was with a shared bathroom and for your information the toilet and shower is only shared with one other room (Single Room) and not as you mentioned. The rest of the rooms on the lower level are ensuite (Toilet and shower inside the rooms). We take peoples comments very seriously and we do our utmost to provide a pleasant stay. I am surprised to hear that the bed was not comfortable, since the mattress has been recently changed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

580 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    236
    133
    68
    49
See reviews for
144
181
80
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2014

Delux double room, no 21 on the 2nd floor = 2.4 x 2.4 approx (& v hot) with ensuite 75 x 1.8. Poor shower pressure. New doors etc still unpainted as was the staircase. Room decor new & tasteful. TV, kettle etc (but too large to fill from the tap!), plenty of coffee/tea etc, canvas wardrobe, no bedside tables, v little room (no room for suitcase/bags so beware if you need a longer stay or have lots of luggage! 2 small bath towels only. Had to request a hand towel.
I thought they'd given us the wrong room - apparently 'delux' meas ensuite! Our room was VERY clean & 'new'. Staircase - In the process of being painted. Grubby carpet
Expensive but central. Had a great deal on Travelodge City Rd 2nts £83TTOTAL last time & will always try T'lodge first.
Breakfast took ages to arrive on the first morning. Dining room v clean, v busy, 4 circular tables to share,small, seated 20.The lady asked us on two occasions for our order...clearly had forgotten us! Juice, cold meat, cheese, tomatoes, apples, 2 cereals to help yourself. Eng breakfast was a slice of bacon, a (poor) sausage, beans, egg. Not v warm and served on a cold plate! On the 2nd morning I asked for scrambled egg & bacon - a much better choice.

Room Tip: Rm 21, 2nd floor 'delux' means ensuite. VERY small room. Certainly not large enough for peop...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank de-da2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central_Hotell, Front Office Manager at Central Hotel, responded to this review, March 30, 2014
Dear de-da 2014,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review on our hotel. Our bedroom sizes are a reflection of our location, however, we hope you found all the amenities you required and wish to welcome you back in the future. Since your visit, the staircase is now painted, and as regards the room, a new wardrobe and bedside table will be installed by the end of this week. As regards the heating being very hot. It can be regulated from the room from the regulator on the side of the radiator.

Kind Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 19, 2014

staff are nice, and bedrooms are clean, however the shower and toilet cubicle in the corridor is the most uninviting one I have seen for 20 years,
Stair carpets are very dirty, trains rumble underneath once a minute.
There is no bedside lamp.
Breakfast is very mediocre
Admittedly they are doing some improvements to the reception, but currently that only adds to the feeliing of it being a bit of a building site. It is unjustifiable that they charged £86 for a night!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suzanne q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central_Hotell, Front Office Manager at Central Hotel, responded to this review, March 30, 2014
Dear Suzanne q,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review on our hotel. We have taken note of your comments. We will be upgrading the room and the common toilet and shower in the very near future. We apologize for any inconvenience caused.

Many Thanks and Kind Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these London hotels

Dingwall, Scotland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed March 11, 2014

The rooms were clean obviously recently done...
4 tables with 4 place settings..
..the smell of breakfasts getting cooked was disgusting...the smell filtered Into the bedroom....i dont know what kind of hen layed the egg i had...the bacon was stone cold.would have been nice if i was offered scrambled egg...didnt go for breakfast 2nd morning..eating out was better option....

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiona R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central_Hotell, Front Office Manager at Central Hotel, responded to this review, March 30, 2014
Dear Fiona R,

Thanks for taking the time to write your review on our hotel. We do apologize about the smell of cooked food. As you might have noticed, we are currently refurbishing our hotel. Unfortunately we cannot complete everything in one go, but we are currently in the process of upgrading our Kitchen, and when it is complete, I assure you that the problem of smell will be greatly reduced. We apologize for any inconvenience caused.

Kind Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
natalie2110
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed here early February as we were going to Harry Potter studios in Watford on the Saturday. The location was EXCELLENT, it is literally over the road from King's Cross station, and about a 10ish minute walk to Euston Station (where we got the train to Watford). The room is quite small but absolutely fine. We stayed for two nights and when we got back on the Saturday it had been cleaned etc. Shower nice and hot, tea and coffee making facilities. Breakfast was nice too and just what we needed, but there's obviously places like Costa nearby and Burger King if you wanted anything else. Enjoy!

Room Tip: There's no lift so if you struggle with stairs probably ask for a lower room. We were the furthe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NatalieR21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central_Hotell, Front Office Manager at Central Hotel, responded to this review, March 30, 2014
Dear NatalieR21,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review on our hotel. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your short stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Many Thanks and Kind Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loughborough, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2014

We stayed at the central hotel for 1 night everything perfect room excellent and the staff were very helpful. Breakfast although not massive was just enough to keep you going till lunchtime. The location of the hotel was amazing straight off the train at kings cross cross the road and you are there. Would definitely return to this hotel.

Room Tip: Excellent base for touring London
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandranpannell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clwyd
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

This small B&B Hotel is in an excellent position close to many facilities and rail connections including the Euro Star. Defiantly a one night only location but with welcoming reception / kitchen / cleaning staff and quite good breakfasts.
Although no lift or air com and subject to some degree of street noise - it is upgrading and getting better. The decor and carpets still need some thought and I would suggest you check that you actually do have a bed! Mine was not in the room when I arrived early evening. Pres da ond un noson yn unig.

Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank RichardClwyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Crestfield Hotel
Crestfield Hotel
#564 of 1,069 in London
916 reviews
Bloomsbury
Alhambra Hotel
Alhambra Hotel
#251 of 1,069 in London
2,000 reviews
Bloomsbury
Jesmond Dene Hotel
Jesmond Dene Hotel
#253 of 1,069 in London
1,750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
The California
The California
#393 of 1,069 in London
1,921 reviews
Bloomsbury
Fairway Hotel
Fairway Hotel
#83 of 560 in London
570 reviews
Bloomsbury
Princess Hotel
Princess Hotel
#30 of 560 in London
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Central Hotel

Property: Central Hotel
Address: 16-18 Argyle Street, London WC1H 8EG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury , Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #94 of 560 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Central Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Central hotel is a family run bed and breakfast conveniently located in the heart of central London offering superb value for money accommodation. The hotel is situated barely a minutes walk from Kings Cross Tube Station, St Pancras international and offers easy access to all of London's tourist sights, shopping districts and theaters. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Central Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Central Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing