We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic but more than adequate ”
Review of Camden Lock Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Camden Lock Hotel
Ranked #429 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Truro, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Basic but more than adequate ”
Reviewed December 17, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here to see a gig at the Roundhouse which is just opposite. Very reasonable , clean, free wifi and plenty of tea and coffee. Also very close to tube at Chalk Farm and Camden market.
Wouldn't stay for any longer than a couple of nights as quite noisy as you should expect in this part of London but great for one or two nights.

Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank P9C7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicoleta F, Manager at Camden Lock Hotel, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Dear P9C7,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review.
We are pleased that you found our hotel very reasonable and clean.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

629 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    282
    152
    45
    30
See reviews for
52
251
81
74
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2013

Let me make one thing clear. I like The Camden Lock Hotel. It's a short walk to Camden Market, Regents Park and the famous Roundhouse is right across the road.

The newly refurbished room I had was meticulously clean, a tad on the small side but everything was in order and the people running it were first class. Lovely people. No problems. You couldn't ask for more. So it ticks a lot of boxes at a reasonable price.

Not that the outside street view Is very promising. And the walk from reception to the room is not the leisure industry's greatest experiences. But these were not the real drawbacks for me. It was more the things that are out of the hotel's control anyway. Like noisy traffic, growling motorcycles, police sirens and the base heartbeat from The Enterprise pub next door. These probably sound more irritating than they actually are though. The nightmare gang of girls - tipsied from a night out at the burlesque show who giggled and shrieked away the last bit of their evening back in their room - were more of a problem but, hey, what hotel doesn't have its share of those from time to time? Get over it!

The Camden Lock Hotel can do nothing about most of that. Maybe they're a victim of their own location. But live with this, concentrate on the nice room in a decent hotel, and you 'll have a nice stay. Good luck guys.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Graham K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicoleta F, Manager at Camden Lock Hotel, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Dear Uber-Scribe,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Your comments about the room , staff and cleanliness are very much appreciated.
The staircase and the corridors are due to be refurbished in the coming months more towards the end of our bedrooms refurbishment programme. Thank you for your understanding regarding the outside noise and we look forward to welcoming you back at our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2013

I was expecting the hotel to be basic. I booked with Avios but I believe the cash price is around £100 per night. For that money, even in London, I would expect a little better than this.

The building resembles a run-down guesthouse or bedsit block from the outside. The reception and communal areas are very tired and run down. The actual room wasn't quite as bad but it was very small, furniture knackered and it was in need of decorating. It's in quite a noisy location but sound insulation is OK with the windows closed (no use if it's a hot night!)

On the plus side, it was clean enough, service was friendly, the location is OK (10 minutes walk from the main Camden Town area), and the included breakfast was good with a choice of full English or continental.

All in all I was a bit disappointed. However if you need to stay overnight in Camden and can get a good rate it's worth considering. Personally, next time if I'm going out in Camden I'll either get a taxi home to Surrey or pay a little extra and try the Holiday Inn.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank London_traveller_68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicoleta F, Manager at Camden Lock Hotel, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Dear adesmart,
Thank you for writing a review about your stay.
Please accept our sincere apologies for disappointing you. We are currently undergoing a rolling programme of refurbishment which will include also the communal areas.
We do hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future perhaps in one of our newly refurbished rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2013

I booked this hotel through Avios as I was going to a gig at The Roundhouse. I can't fault the location to Camden Town underground and The Roundhouse, 2 minute walk to both and there are plenty of restaurants, pubs and takeaways in the area. The Hotel is basic and could do with a bit of updating. When we arrived we were asked for photo i.d.,must say I've never been asked for this in a UK hotel before, you usually use your credit card, but I had to give details of my driving licence which were kept on record for 12 months apparently. I wasn't too happy about that...The room was small, dark and at the back of the hotel with the air con unit buzzing away. There was no remote control for the tv and rubbish under the bed. I asked to be moved and got the impression I was being a nuisance but the new room was bigger, better bathroom and at the front of the hotel with some street noise but I don't mind it to be honest. Still, the room had some faults, cracked window in the bathroom, leaky radiator, one of the wall lights not working and some of the trim on the dresser ripped off...it's just little things like this that put you off, basic or not. But the bed was comfy and linen clean so had a good sleep. The breakfast was served in the adjacent cafe and it was lovely, they did a great Vegetarian cooked breakfast too. So overall, basic but convenient and I would stay there again but only for one or two nights.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back have air con noise, rooms at the front have street noise, take your pic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Willow127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicoleta F, Manager at Camden Lock Hotel, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Dear Willow 127,
Thank you for your review.
We are sorry to hear that we failed to meet your expectations to the full. Your feedback is extremely important to us and it will be passed on the housekeeping and maintenance department.
We hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2013

I just stayed here for two nights.
I didn't find it particularly cheap as other reviewers have said, but I guess that maybe its cheap for London?
The room was small, furniture wonky and the floor stained and sticky. The en-suite was tiny.
However, the bed linen was so soft and I had two fantastic night's sleep.
Staff were efficient and polite.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elephant_Biscuits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicoleta F, Manager at Camden Lock Hotel, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Dear Elephant_Biscuits,
Many thanks indeed for posting your review following your stay with us.
We are delighted to heat that you had a fantastic two nights sleep. We hope to have the opportunity to accommodate you again in the future in one of our newly refurbished rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2013 via mobile

We booked this hotel mainly due to the low price while going to see a live band nearby.

Upon booking we weren't expecting much the price was so low and from the outside it looks a little rundown. However reception staff were very polite and were more than happy to move us to another room as my partner couldn't manage all the stairs to the top floor with his bad knee

The room was as expected, basic. But the bed was clean and comfortable, bathroom was immaculately clean with fresh fluffy towels and complimentary toiletries. The tv was in working order and cups for tea and coffee were clean. We were also given the password to use the hotels WiFi

The only thing that seemed a little odd was having to leave our room key on reception when we left the building however upon our very late return from the gig (2am) we were promptly buzzed back into the hotel and given our key

We will definitely use this hotel again

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sizzlepops1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicoleta F, Manager at Camden Lock Hotel, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Dear sizzlepops 1985,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are pleased that you were pleasantly surprised by our rooms and our staff.
Looking forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
330 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2013

Me and my firends went to this property to attend a gig in front on the hotel. I expected a below par place, but actually appreciated it. The rooms are basic but clean and bed confortable. The Staff is very pleasant and helpfull and i liked the cafè next to the hotel where you can also have a nice english breakfast if you are on B&B. WiFI is free so its good. If you need a hair dryer ask the reception. Nice!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ALESSANDRO-ATT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicoleta F, Manager at Camden Lock Hotel, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Dear ALESSANDRO-ATT,
Thank you very much for your review and for your kind comments about our staff.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Camden
Holiday Inn London - Camden Lock
Corner House Hotel
#752 of 1,069 in London
411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Camden
York & Albany Hotel
York & Albany Hotel
#661 of 1,069 in London
303 reviews
La Gaffe
#428 of 1,069 in London
260 reviews
Bloomsbury
Wardonia Hotel
Wardonia Hotel
#547 of 1,069 in London
976 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camden Lock Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camden Lock Hotel

Property: Camden Lock Hotel
Address: 89 Chalk Farm Road, London NW1 8AR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #429 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Camden Lock Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Camden Lock Hotel, a small hotel situated in Camden next to the world famous Camden Lock just north of Regents Park. The Camden Lock Hotel situated in one of the trendiest places in London opposite the legendary Roundhouse theatre at London’s Camden Town is a real value-for-money, quality accommodation. There aren’t many places where you can spend one night out and have the luxury of such a wide range of different music venue choices. Camden Town provides not only a diversity of alternative shops and restaurants, but its pubs, clubs and bars, new and old such as Koko Club, Jazz Café, The Electric Ballroom, the Forum etc. which make Camden such a must area to visit and enjoy!The Camden Lock Hotel is situated just 5 minutes away from Kentish Town West Overground station.The Overground runs every 10 minutes for a 27 minute journey directly into Stratford, the heart of The Olympic Village.Please note: the hotel does not have a lift. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Camden Lock Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Camden Lock
Camden Lock London
Camden Lock Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing