We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location”
Review of Camden Lock Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Camden Lock Hotel
Ranked #435 of 1,075 Hotels in London
Reviewed October 2, 2013

This is a simple hotel, but it is clean and with an excellent location, near underground and inside zone 2. To be honest, I liked this neighborhood very much, there are a couple of things to do in a walk distance. There is not elevator in hotel and the internet works ok. Another think, the girl of front desk was very nice person.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Hugo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicoleta F, Manager at Camden Lock Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2013

Dear Hugo 8,
Thank you for sharing your feedback.
We are pleased that you found the receptionist very nice and that you enjoyed the neighborhood.
We do hope you will consider staying with us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (645)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

324 - 330 of 645 reviews

Reviewed October 1, 2013

We should have stayed in this hotel for 2 days.
After we checked in we decided that we are not going to stay in this place any minute longer. We had 2 rooms booked, 1 room was "ok" but the second room was just disgusting. Blood stains on the bed sheets, wall and on the curtains.The shower was disgusting.
We called our travel agency and they moved us to a other, much better hotel.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
5  Thank TouristLSa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicoleta F, Manager at Camden Lock Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2013

Dear TouristLSa,
Thank you for taking the time to post the review.
We are really sorry that you have found one of our rooms just “OK” and the second one disgusting.
We do have several rooms that are yet to be refurbished but they are by no means disgusting or full of blood stains.
Please accept our apologies for falling short on your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

I stayed for 3 nights last weekend and could not fault anything. From check in where the staff were so helpful to check out when we said our goodbyes, we enjoyed every minute. the rooms and bathrooms were fine and no issues with beds or linen. The breakfast was of the highest quality and thoroughly enjoyable. In terms of the location this is Camden remember! and if you require tranquility then do not stay anywhere in Camden as the hotel cannot be held responsible for the vibrancy of the area The hotel is accross the road from the Tube and only 50 metres from the bus stop into central London. Also the so called noisy pub "The Enterprise" is in an excellent position next next door and I went in there on each of my 3 nights. Well recommended and I would certainly stay again

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brendan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicoleta F, Manager at Camden Lock Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2013

Dear BrendanF,
Thank you very much for your kind review.
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Fab family time! We went to the Underworld which was just around the corner so great location, the camden market is a very colourful scene and well worth a visit, lovely weather which helped and a great vibe in Camden town :)

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank galloponthebeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicoleta F, Manager at Camden Lock Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2013

Dear Galloponthebeach,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your stay with us. We are pleased that you had a fab time .
We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

A well located hotel with very friendly and efficient staff. A comfortable reception area and coffee shop attached. Good first impressions. The bedroom was quite basic and the beds lumpy and the pillows quite hard. A very good and powerful shower with plenty of hot water. Wonderful large fluffy towels. Quite noisy at night as it is opposite a pub and hot in the room because couldn't open the windows due to the noise. No air con l also lift. The breakfast was great and the staff efficient. I thought all in all it was good value for money but needs some improvements to bedrooms.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Skoosh
Thank eldor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicoleta F, Manager at Camden Lock Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2013

Dear Eldor,
Thank you very much for taking the time to write the review.
Unfortunately the pub across the street from us can get quite noisy some nights as is one of the busiest places in Camden.
Thank you for your kind comments about breakfast and about our staff.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

What do you expect from a 2* hotel in London?! We had a couple of issues, dirty bedding & room to hot but mention at reception & problems resolved in super quick time :) Yes the rooms need a refurb (which they have started) but these things take time & cost money, give them a break! Their customer service was great, beds comfy, location of hotel superb, breakfast tasty & nothing was to much trouble. We would definitely stay here again to explore the wonderful Camden.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank WalesWelshbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicoleta F, Manager at Camden Lock Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2013

Dear WalesWelshbird,
Thank you for sharing your feedback.
Please do accept our apologies about the issues you have had with the linen and with the room being too hot. As you have mentioned we are currently undergoing a rolling programme of refurbishment which will complete next year.
Thank you again for your kind and helpful comments and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Great value for money! The staff were very helpful and friendly. The location is perfect, right in the middle of Camden. I tend to have problems to sleeping without my pillow, but the bed and pillow was so comfortable that I slept like a baby.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexandra O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicoleta F, Manager at Camden Lock Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2013

Dear Alexandra,
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay.
We are delighted that you had a good night sleep.
Thank you for your kind comments about our staff and I do hope that you will stay with us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Camden
Holiday Inn London - Camden Lock
Corner House Hotel
#767 of 1,075 in London
424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Camden
York & Albany Hotel
York & Albany Hotel
#670 of 1,075 in London
308 reviews
Camden Enterprise Hotel
#50 of 566 in London
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camden Lock Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camden Lock Hotel

Address: 89 Chalk Farm Road, London NW1 8AR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #435 of 1,075 Hotels in London
Price Range: $84 - $212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Camden Lock Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Camden Lock Hotel, a small hotel situated in Camden next to the world famous Camden Lock just north of Regents Park. The Camden Lock Hotel situated in one of the trendiest places in London opposite the legendary Roundhouse theatre at London’s Camden Town is a real value-for-money, quality accommodation. There aren’t many places where you can spend one night out and have the luxury of such a wide range of different music venue choices. Camden Town provides not only a diversity of alternative shops and restaurants, but its pubs, clubs and bars, new and old such as Koko Club, Jazz Café, The Electric Ballroom, the Forum etc. which make Camden such a must area to visit and enjoy!The Camden Lock Hotel is situated just 5 minutes away from Kentish Town West Overground station.The Overground runs every 10 minutes for a 27 minute journey directly into Stratford, the heart of The Olympic Village.Please note: the hotel does not have a lift. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Camden Lock Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Camden Lock
Camden Lock London
Camden Lock Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing