We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent budget hotel,will be back!”
Review of Camden Lock Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Camden Lock Hotel
Ranked #454 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Reviewed November 9, 2012

Stayed at this little gem of a hotel for two nights on an anniversary trip to Camden recently,so suprised to see so many negative reviews on here!
The location is excellent for live music-right opposite the Roundhouse and a minute or two from the Barfly,plenty of pubs and eateries within a few steps and no more than 5-10 mins at most from the Markets..
Check in took no time at all,thanks to a helpful,smiley receptionist (as are all staff here) and despite being on the third floor we were up the stairs in minutes,really not so bad as some of the reviews would have you believe!
The double room was immaculate,clean comfortable bed,tea and coffee making facilities,spotless bathroom and toiletries,and more than big enough for two people..a few complaints on here about the tiny bathroom/shower but definitely big enough for an average-sized human!
Now being Camden we expected some noise at night,but we weren't disturbed by the pubs/nightlife,despite having the window open at night, and no smell from the takeaways or restaurants nearby..
Overall an excellent,great value stay (nearest 'big chain' hotel would have cost us £240 per night,we paid £170 for two here) and we will definitely be back..
Thanks to all at the Camden Lock Hotel,we'll be seeing you again soon! :)

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (650)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

393 - 399 of 650 reviews

Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

The Camden Lock hotel is perfectly located for enjoying Camden and surrounding areas. It is definitely a budget hotel - our room had only the basics and a really small bathroom, but we didn't need anything else. The only thing I missed from the room was a hairdryer but you can borrow one from reception free of charge. Staff are efficient and not overly chatty. We'd go back and stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dillyhiggins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

The price you pay for this hotel is for the location and breakfast. The hotel rooms are a little shabby but clean and has adequate space for the time you are in it. I would stay here again but only if the tarrif was a little cheaper.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank coollager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Stayed one night as was attending a conference the following day. Eastern European run, the room was a little too hot (but an open window all night helped that), it was clean, a little spartan with a spotless bathroom. My first floor room was basic but had teas and coffee and a very comfortable double bed. The welcome was friendly and reception did what they could to help me. Breakfast was by voucher in the ground floor cafe and 'full English' just about covered the description. No one would get overweight on the portions but it was hot, fresh and the eggs were a deep yellow. Watching London wake up and travel to work at 7 am on the fiveway junction outside was an intriguing diversion. My only slight complain was the Phillip Glass inspired musical water pipes that started early calling and groaning from both far and near. I had a reasonable nights sleep with no traffic noise in 110 and would use the hotel again.

Stayed: October 2012
1  Thank Veau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Was wondering what sort of hotel this was going to be, but for the money found it excellent. I had a single room on the top floor, enough room for 1 person, spotless bathroom and clean looking room. Tea/coffee making facilities included. For a room on a busy main road, it was quiet and I got a good nights sleep.
Located across the road from Chalk Farm tube, a few minutes walk to the markets . Great for The Roundhouse and a 5+ minute walk to Camden Tube Station. Will definitely stay there again

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jo_Red_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

Just across from Chalk Farm tube. 24 hour reception. Basic rooms, towels and toiletries. Clean.
Wi-fi was erratic.
The continental breakfast was toast, croissant, 2 slices ham and a chunk of cheddar.
Cheaper than others so value for money.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrNotty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

We were visiting friends in England and wanted somewhere central to get around. Unfortunately I fell a few days before I arrived and the lack of a lift made it very difficult for me to go up to my room. The staff and manager(ess) were very very helpful and saw to all our needs where necessary. I also found the price quite expensive considering breakfast was not included (though we were told on arrival that it was & to pick up a voucher for this before going in to the restaurant!).

I would recommend the hotel to younger people because of its location.










  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com
Thank DAVID B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Camden
Holiday Inn London - Camden Lock
Corner House Hotel
#753 of 1,077 in London
426 reviews
Camden
York & Albany Hotel
York & Albany Hotel
#673 of 1,077 in London
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Premier Inn London Archway
#106 of 1,077 in London
721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camden Lock Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camden Lock Hotel

Address: 89 Chalk Farm Road, London NW1 8AR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #454 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Price Range: $81 - $238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Camden Lock Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Camden Lock Hotel, a small hotel situated in Camden next to the world famous Camden Lock just north of Regents Park. The Camden Lock Hotel situated in one of the trendiest places in London opposite the legendary Roundhouse theatre at London’s Camden Town is a real value-for-money, quality accommodation. There aren’t many places where you can spend one night out and have the luxury of such a wide range of different music venue choices. Camden Town provides not only a diversity of alternative shops and restaurants, but its pubs, clubs and bars, new and old such as Koko Club, Jazz Café, The Electric Ballroom, the Forum etc. which make Camden such a must area to visit and enjoy!The Camden Lock Hotel is situated just 5 minutes away from Kentish Town West Overground station.The Overground runs every 10 minutes for a 27 minute journey directly into Stratford, the heart of The Olympic Village.Please note: the hotel does not have a lift. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Camden Lock Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Camden Lock
Camden Lock London
Camden Lock Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing