We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This Hotel is a wee gem!”
Review of Camden Lock Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Camden Lock Hotel
Ranked #466 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Reviewed September 9, 2012

We spent 2 nights here for a girly birthday break. The whole place had been freshly decorated and upgraded since I was last here just over a year ago. Staff, especially, Susanna went out their way to be helpful when we discovered a last minute blip in our booking request (not hotel's fault)
The rooms were clean as a pin - We decided to rearange the furniture in ours so saw into every nook and cranny - not a thing to complain about. Bathroom spacious and shiny too. I've never seen such lovely thick and big bathtowels in a hotel before.
Breakfast was lovely - cooked to order and were happy to cater to our needs and not stick rigidly to the set menus. extra coffee provided too.
Location is excellent for Camden, access to the centre and this time we ventured up to Primrose Hill which is literally 5-10 minutes walk and we were able to find yet another side to Lonhdon with lovely bars and shops and do a bit of star spotting.
only downside is the pub accross the road was very noisy until 1am but it's not a major problem if you are on holiday and the music from it was quite good really!!. If you want to sleep earlier ask for a rooom not facing the pub - there are a few. All in all can't fault it, highly recommended and will definitely return.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SSR_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (654)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

407 - 413 of 654 reviews

Reviewed August 17, 2012

Me & my girlfriend stayed here a few months ago after deciding to have a random weekend away in London. The reason we chose this hotel is primarily because it was cheap. In fact, it was the cheapest in Camden (at the time of booking). Also, its proximity to the tube stations, making getting in/out of London city centre relatively stress free. In hindsight, I wish I spent slightly more and stayed elsewhere.

In short, the manageress was consistently abrupt and generally rude to us throughout our stay. After striking up a conversation with some fellow guests one evening, we weren't alone. Furthermore, both the manageress and the majority of staff speak little English. Trying to ask a simple question can become a chore. I can only assume the manageress has forbidden smiling, as the staff always look miserable. Or, maybe they've forgotten how to smile. Who knows...

Now, the room. Our room was on the 3rd floor and there is no lift, just a set of creaky stairs. If you’re disabled or struggle with stairs, please book elsewhere. Upon entering our room, I was overcome with the smell of old cigarette smoke. Being the occasional smoker myself, this normally wouldn't bother me, but the smell was very overpowering. The room was old, tired and very... crusty! The bathroom was just as bad and the shower tray was laden with dirty pubes. Also, there was a 14 inch tube style TV, crudely connected to the wall via a rusty TV bracket (complete with a rabbit ears ariel). After countless attempts at trying to get a signal, I gave up. There was also a large blood stain on the carpet. How & why it got there remains a mystery. I can only assume a previous guest attempted some kind of self harm after seeing their room for the first time.

We never ate at the hotel, but being Camden, there’s a vast array of eateries just around the corner. There’s also ample parking across the road. All in all, I would strongly urge any couples staying here for a romantic weekend away to spend a little bit more and book a different hotel. Also, don't be fooled by their website as the pictures are very misleading.

One star for location, the other for price.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank UKcommuter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
npc707, Owner at Camden Lock Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2012

I represent the owners of the company behind the Camden Lock Hotel. Your review has been escalated for my direct attention.
First we would like to apologise for any dissatisfaction with your stay. We take great care in the selection of our staff. Due to the number of different nationalities that visit the hotel from around the World we endeavour to have a team that possess a mix of languages to ensure we can interact effectively with our clients. However all our staff are confident if not fluent English Speakers.
As for the quality of accommodation we would appreciate if you could contact the hotel and advise us which room you stayed. We were shocked to hear your description of the room. All we can say is that the moment any element of the room is in the state described we would immediately replace and refurbish. As an example we recently totally overhauled room 201 to what we feel is an exception product for the price.
As for the televisions, these were all replaced in April with brand new digital flat screen models so you may have just missed these.
As to what you had expected, we do endeavour to detail exactly what our hotel offers on all the websites. We clearly state the facilities that are and are not available. Regrettably a lift is facility we do not have due to the nature of the hotel. We apologise if you did not realise this at the time you made your booking. We will look into making the description of our product clearer.
Again we look forward to hearing from you to assist us in understanding which room you stayed in and when to ensure we improve on our performance.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

The good - very convenient for Chalk Farm tube station & Camden is an interesting place to visit.
The bad - next to a very noisy late night pub & no aircon so hope it is not a hot night because you will not want to leave your window open. Rooms small (even for London), en suite even smaller, strong smell of damp. Wallpaper peeling off the ceiling. Breakfast served in adjoining cafe so the Full English was prepared to order but despite that we were refused a choice. We asked for just egg & toast but were served bacon, sausage etc & told to leave what we did not want - lucky we are not vegetarian!
Poor value for money.
Room looked nothing like the photos
If you plan to sleep here make sure you have had a lot to drink first!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank D1AHD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

I stayed here for 2 nights with my girlfriend during the Olympics.

The location is superb - 60 seconds from Chalk Farm underground, a few minutes walk to Camden Town and all the amazing shops it has to offer.

Friendly and helpful staff, clean and adequate bedrooms. Flat screen TV & tea/coffee facilities.

Yes it's basic - could do with a new carpet in the room we stayed in, and the pub outside can be noisy until 2am (why not go and join in with the fun!), but to be completely honest - for the money you will absolutely not find a better deal. This really is all about location and I personally found the bedrooms to be fine.

We would certainly stay again. We parked in a secure car park 15mins walkway (through Camden Town), which was a very reasonable £25 from Friday morning to Sunday morning.

Best bit about the hotel is the attached cafe which does awesome cooked breakfasts!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rmgcook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

Stayed here for two nights during the opening of the Olympics. Hotel is in a great location close to Camden Town which in itself is great for a stroll around while also taking in the markets. Chalk Farm tube station is straight across the main road which offers a quick connection (ten minutes) to Euston station and central London. Primrose Hill is also within walking distance which offers great views of the London skyline.
The hotel itself was clean with very friendly helpful staff. We stayed in a newly refurbished room (201) which was very clean with a good en-suite. Only downside was the very hard bed but after a couple of days trekking around London didn't cause much of a problem getting to sleep. There is a pub across the road which could possibly cause a problem getting to sleep but again have a good trek around or else join them and you should pass out without too much problem! The noise though did die out shortly after 12am.
With it being the Olympics is was disappointing that like every other hotel in London the price did shoot up, although I would recommend staying here.

Room Tip: Not sure about other rooms but room 201 was very clean and recently refurbished.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PMC25052005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

If you want a no frills bedroom at a no frills price in a central location then Camden Lock won't disappoint. Friendly and informative staff made me very welcome. The room was clean and well enough equipped. The location is the best bit as its no more than 2 minutes walk from Chalk Farm tube and close to lots of other interesting parts of London. There is no swimming pool, no valet parking no minibar nor a host of other stuff you don't need and all that is reflected in the low price. Cheap can still be cheerful and I'll be back.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elegant_Al
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2012

We booked this hotel for one night and thought it was great value for money. Yes, it's basic but we found it really clean. Staff were very pleasent and helpful. The only downside was that it is quite noisy in the morning, we had a room at the front, right on the corner of Chalk Farm Rd. so there was a lot of traffic.

Great place to stay if you're seeing a band at Dingwalls or the Round House. A few minutes walk from both. We would stay there again.

Room Tip: You could ask for a room at the back of the hotel, away from Chalk Farm Road, it will be much quiete...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beckff65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Camden
Holiday Inn London - Camden Lock
Corner House Hotel
#754 of 1,077 in London
427 reviews
Camden Enterprise Hotel
#264 of 1,077 in London
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Camden
York & Albany Hotel
York & Albany Hotel
#675 of 1,077 in London
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camden Lock Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camden Lock Hotel

Address: 89 Chalk Farm Road, London NW1 8AR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #466 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Price Range: $85 - $250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Camden Lock Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Camden Lock Hotel, a small hotel situated in Camden next to the world famous Camden Lock just north of Regents Park. The Camden Lock Hotel situated in one of the trendiest places in London opposite the legendary Roundhouse theatre at London’s Camden Town is a real value-for-money, quality accommodation. There aren’t many places where you can spend one night out and have the luxury of such a wide range of different music venue choices. Camden Town provides not only a diversity of alternative shops and restaurants, but its pubs, clubs and bars, new and old such as Koko Club, Jazz Café, The Electric Ballroom, the Forum etc. which make Camden such a must area to visit and enjoy!The Camden Lock Hotel is situated just 5 minutes away from Kentish Town West Overground station.The Overground runs every 10 minutes for a 27 minute journey directly into Stratford, the heart of The Olympic Village.Please note: the hotel does not have a lift. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Camden Lock Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Camden Lock
Camden Lock London
Camden Lock Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing